We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #45 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were extremely disappointed that the hotel did not honor the block room rate for a wedding we were attending. Neither the front desk nor the manager was helpful in resolving the issue. On the other hand, the concierge was wonderful and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear John H,

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. Wedding blocks are only reserved for a limited number of rooms only, and once those are booked, we are usually unable to extend them further. I am sorry that you did not receive this rate for your reservation, but would be happy to look into this further by contacting me at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I am sorry again for the shortcomings and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    831
    207
    87
    51
See reviews for
454
1,233
179
726
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The concierge and staff at the hotel were exceptional! They made us feel like VIPs the entire weekend. The dinner recommendations were spot on and they called ahead and had special appetizers delivered to our table. The staff at the bar were great, too. Highly recommended.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Eric S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. The best compliment I can receive about our hotel is to hear that it was the excellent service provided by our entire team that made your experience a memorable one. It is truly an honor to receive your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire James team, thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Perfect hotel for visiting Chicago in Summertime! The location (one block from Michigan Ave) and ability to take bikes out was a welcome, wonderful amenity for seeing the entire lakeshore of Chicago. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly and Concierge recommendations were spot-on! Beds/linens fantastic! Spa was a huge disappointment...very fast, loud and non-relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Gregory C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that your visit was perfect, thanks to our complimentary bicycles and especially the service provided by the concierge team. I am sorry to hear that the spa did not meet expectations, and I have shared your comments with them in order to improve. Despite this setback, I am glad you had an enjoyable visit and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location, one block from the Magnificent Mile, and a couple of blocks from park, train and other sights. The staff is friendly and professional. Unfortunately, the rooms need a bit of care - more comfortable furniture, quieter AC system. And lastly and most importantly, in our room, it was impossible to sleep because they were constant thumping noises day and night which also vibrated the ceiling and it was not resolved although I complained about it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Gaye H,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion regarding your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am sorry to hear of the inconveniences you encountered in your room with the noise and furniture. The conditions you described certainly do not meet our expectations and I sincerely apologize that this was not resolved during your visit. It is my understanding that our Front Desk Manager Christine has already reached out to you regarding your visit, and I sincerely hope that we will be able to regain your confidence during your future stay. Thank you again for sharing your candid feedback in order for us to improve, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The James is a great hotel with modern design and comfortable rooms. Perfect location for Shopping the Magnificent Mile, and convenient to many great restaurants and Chicago's best attractions. The staff is friendly and helpful. They greet you with a smile and aim to please!

Room Tip: I like to be above the 8th floor....higher than the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsultantCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ConsultantCMC,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and modern aesthetic. The best compliment I can receive is that it was our helpful team that assisted in making your visit a great one, and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location could not be better --- but the service is lacking completely. We stayed at the hotel the weekend of July 26. We had prepaid for an upgraded room and then been upgraded from that. Check-in is at 3 pm - but our rooms weren't ready until 7 pm. The front desk made constant excuses and then gave us cards for free drinks in the bar. We went to the bar to use the drink tickets and were told they were no good after we ordered $60 worth of drinks for 4 people. When we finally got to the room it was apparent the ventilation/AC wasn't working. The front desk staff and management did very little, even the next day. Our valet was comped. I did the online review and was honest and then Christine Helin, the front desk mgr, immediately followed up with an email, apologized, and said she was sending a certificate for a free night. That was several weeks ago and we have received NOTHING. I have followed up with her on telephone and email and there has been NO response. Pretty apparent this was just lip service.

The location of this property is incredible. I just wish the service and decor and cleanliness matched the amazing location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Pollack S,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. It is never our standard for a guest to leave unhappy as you did, which is why we had followed up with you after receiving your review. What we cannot agree with is your statement that the offer a free night was simply talk on our part. Christine has been in contact with you multiple times over the past 11 days, and has informed you that the gift certificate is on the way, although it takes time to prepare and send these. We would never promise something falsely and I am sorry that you feel that we would do this after multiple attempts to improve your experience with us. Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and if you have any further questions regarding the status of your gift certificate you may direct them to jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very clean and amazing staff! I live just outside of Chicago and made this my weekend get away!

At every step the staff was ready and willing to help make my stay easy and. Accommodating! I know I will be back


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Wesley G,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. The best compliment I can receive about our hotel is to hear that it was the efforts of our team that made your stay amazing. I have shared with them your compliments of their accommodating attitude is what made your visit amazing. I am honored that you plan to return the next time you are downtown, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#5 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing