We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #45 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first time to Chicago and we were lucky enough to stay at the James. From the minute we checked in the staff were fantastic, with the concierge going above and beyond. We had the opportunity to chat with her about our plans and get suggestions (also received coupons and discounts) which really set us up well for the two days we were there. The room was also great, clean and some of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Location was top-notch, just an all-round great experience and would recommend it to anyone visting Chicago

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayvees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Dayvees,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that you had a great experience in Chicago, thanks to our comfortable beds and convenient location. Most of all, I am honored that it was the service provided by our concierge team that made your stay a memorable one. Thank you again for your generous recommendation of us and I hope we will see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    817
    206
    83
    50
See reviews for
447
1,217
177
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I usually stay at the chains but had a conference at the James. From the moment I entered the hotel they made you feel welcomed and special. The rooms were very nice and the overall experience was great. The gym was small but full of great equipment to get your workout in. The location is perfect. Everything is in walking distance and a lot of choices for your meals.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Anne F,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that from the moment you arrived, you had a great experience thanks to our comfortable rooms, gym, and most of all, our friendly team. Thanks again for staying with us, and I sincerely hope you will return again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was my first trip to Chicago and on the recommendation of a friend, stayed at the St James Hotel. Worth every penny. Comfortable beds, super friendly staff, unbelievable in room mini bar, great location to tourist sites. Standard 2pm checkout was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our mini bar selection, friendly team, and our 2:00 PM check out. I sincerely hope that your first visit will not be your last, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were extremely disappointed that the hotel did not honor the block room rate for a wedding we were attending. Neither the front desk nor the manager was helpful in resolving the issue. On the other hand, the concierge was wonderful and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear John H,

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. Wedding blocks are only reserved for a limited number of rooms only, and once those are booked, we are usually unable to extend them further. I am sorry that you did not receive this rate for your reservation, but would be happy to look into this further by contacting me at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I am sorry again for the shortcomings and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The concierge and staff at the hotel were exceptional! They made us feel like VIPs the entire weekend. The dinner recommendations were spot on and they called ahead and had special appetizers delivered to our table. The staff at the bar were great, too. Highly recommended.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Eric S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. The best compliment I can receive about our hotel is to hear that it was the excellent service provided by our entire team that made your experience a memorable one. It is truly an honor to receive your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire James team, thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Perfect hotel for visiting Chicago in Summertime! The location (one block from Michigan Ave) and ability to take bikes out was a welcome, wonderful amenity for seeing the entire lakeshore of Chicago. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly and Concierge recommendations were spot-on! Beds/linens fantastic! Spa was a huge disappointment...very fast, loud and non-relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Gregory C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that your visit was perfect, thanks to our complimentary bicycles and especially the service provided by the concierge team. I am sorry to hear that the spa did not meet expectations, and I have shared your comments with them in order to improve. Despite this setback, I am glad you had an enjoyable visit and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location, one block from the Magnificent Mile, and a couple of blocks from park, train and other sights. The staff is friendly and professional. Unfortunately, the rooms need a bit of care - more comfortable furniture, quieter AC system. And lastly and most importantly, in our room, it was impossible to sleep because they were constant thumping noises day and night which also vibrated the ceiling and it was not resolved although I complained about it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Gaye H,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion regarding your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am sorry to hear of the inconveniences you encountered in your room with the noise and furniture. The conditions you described certainly do not meet our expectations and I sincerely apologize that this was not resolved during your visit. It is my understanding that our Front Desk Manager Christine has already reached out to you regarding your visit, and I sincerely hope that we will be able to regain your confidence during your future stay. Thank you again for sharing your candid feedback in order for us to improve, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#50 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing