We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing boutique hotel”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #44 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing boutique hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here on the tail end of a business trip and loved this hotel. I have started to stay more and more at boutique hotels like this one because I feel like the experience is more unique and fitted to each person's personality than a big chain hotel. This hotel did not disappoint. The concierge and bell people were very courteous and offered valuable insight into the city. There is a bar attached to the hotel that is very chill. We had a suite room with a little living room area, and it was ideal for having some friends for drinks before dinner. Will stay here again on my next sojourn to Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for the studio suite - large enough for guests to hang out in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Lulu2828,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent first visit, thanks to our rooms, bar, and most of all, the service provided by our concierge and bell teams. It is an honor that you plan to stay here the next time your travels return you to Chicago, and on behalf of the entire James team, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,973
    844
    214
    88
    51
See reviews for
468
1,250
181
738
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good. The location is great. The service is great! The rooms are just good. Our first room had problems so I went to the front desk and they moved us to an upgrade room - service is great! But even then the room was just good. For instance, no dresser or drawers for clothes but a very small plain white Ikea stand at the front door - see picture. But the staff was great! The restaurant was great!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lookupatthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear lookupatthesky,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am sorry to hear that our rooms did not exceed your expectations, but I am glad that our restaurant and great service throughout attributed to a pleasant experience. Thank you again for sharing, and on behalf of the entire James team, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first time to Chicago and we were lucky enough to stay at the James. From the minute we checked in the staff were fantastic, with the concierge going above and beyond. We had the opportunity to chat with her about our plans and get suggestions (also received coupons and discounts) which really set us up well for the two days we were there. The room was also great, clean and some of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Location was top-notch, just an all-round great experience and would recommend it to anyone visting Chicago

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayvees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Dayvees,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that you had a great experience in Chicago, thanks to our comfortable beds and convenient location. Most of all, I am honored that it was the service provided by our concierge team that made your stay a memorable one. Thank you again for your generous recommendation of us and I hope we will see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I usually stay at the chains but had a conference at the James. From the moment I entered the hotel they made you feel welcomed and special. The rooms were very nice and the overall experience was great. The gym was small but full of great equipment to get your workout in. The location is perfect. Everything is in walking distance and a lot of choices for your meals.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Anne F,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that from the moment you arrived, you had a great experience thanks to our comfortable rooms, gym, and most of all, our friendly team. Thanks again for staying with us, and I sincerely hope you will return again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was my first trip to Chicago and on the recommendation of a friend, stayed at the St James Hotel. Worth every penny. Comfortable beds, super friendly staff, unbelievable in room mini bar, great location to tourist sites. Standard 2pm checkout was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our mini bar selection, friendly team, and our 2:00 PM check out. I sincerely hope that your first visit will not be your last, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were extremely disappointed that the hotel did not honor the block room rate for a wedding we were attending. Neither the front desk nor the manager was helpful in resolving the issue. On the other hand, the concierge was wonderful and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear John H,

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. Wedding blocks are only reserved for a limited number of rooms only, and once those are booked, we are usually unable to extend them further. I am sorry that you did not receive this rate for your reservation, but would be happy to look into this further by contacting me at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I am sorry again for the shortcomings and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The concierge and staff at the hotel were exceptional! They made us feel like VIPs the entire weekend. The dinner recommendations were spot on and they called ahead and had special appetizers delivered to our table. The staff at the bar were great, too. Highly recommended.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Eric S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. The best compliment I can receive about our hotel is to hear that it was the excellent service provided by our entire team that made your experience a memorable one. It is truly an honor to receive your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire James team, thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing