We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #24 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Larsen, WI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We loved our stay at the Hampton Inn in Chicago's theater district. We walked to the Inn from the train station and discovered that we were in the heart of the city and were able to walk or take a short cab ride to all the sights. The rooms were surprisingly quiet, coffee was available 24/7, and the breakfast was a complete meal. We also found it to be a great price when compared to other hotels in the city. To avoid the valet parking fee, we traveled by Amtrak from Milwaukee.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TBarnardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
TBarnardo,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    561
    83
    24
    8
See reviews for
569
563
128
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hotel was wonderful, and the staff excellent. Pleased with the room and location. Good dinning options within walking distance. Shopping is close on State Street and Michigan Ave. Nice area for breakfest and perfect hotel if going to Book of Morman.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Rick W,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We walked from our room into the Bank of America Theatre without having to go outside. Excellent location and service. I've always like Hampton Inns and this one did not let me down. The hot breakfast was great, and the robust coffee so appreciated. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJarchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
SueJarchow,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

After a long train ride the last thing my son and I wanted to do was lug our bags around. We stopped but the hotel to see if we could leave our luggages, to our surprise were told not only could be leave our luggages but since the room was ready we were allowed to check-in @ 10 a.m. This was awesome. Our stay was just as awesome. We had no complaints. Great location to Chicago attractions!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shermall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Shermall,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This Hampton Inn is perfectly located downtown. What makes it even better is that it is affordably priced, which can be tough to find in the city.

The lobby is up several levels from the street. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, and was even able to let us check in a little early because the room was ready. Access to guest room floors is controlled by the key cards, a nice security feature.

Our room was a nice size, decorated in relaxing deep orange tones. (That may sound funky, but it really is nice.) All the usual Hampton amenities are included. I was especially impressed by the level of quiet in our room, considering the downtown location. We did not hear other guests, and the rumbling of the L trains was not a problem.

They offer the standard Hampton complimentary hot breakfast, with a variety of items. The breakfast room is large, though it can get crowded at peak times.

We drove, so did use the valet service. I like that the cost is added to the hotel bill, so I had one credit card bill only. The cost sounds steep, but is right in line with Chicago costs. We were very happy with the valets, who treated us and our car respectfully. They also stored our suitcase in the morning until we were ready to leave later in the afternoon.

From this hotel, you can walk to many downtown attractions, and the subway and L are nearby if one needs to go further.

Room Tip: I always ask for higher floors to get further from street sounds, but the lowest rooms are already o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
TeacherProf,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Two weeks before Christmas, I made a quick trip to Chicago by Amtrak. Having stayed at many Hampton Inns before, I knew what to expect. The Hampton Majestic far exceeded my expectations! It is in a wonderful location and the staff were exceptional! From the gentleman at the door to friendly, helpful and professional desk staff, we were welcomed and made to feel right at home! I do love Hampton Inns' "leaving a light on" in the room, as it was a late arrival! When I travel alone, it is always nice to enter a lighted room! I have stayed all over Chicago but have never found the combination of high quality and value for the dollar! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. So glad that wee were able to "Exceed your expecations."

We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and that aspect did not disappoint. Close to a lot of major points of interest. The front desk staff and maintenance staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a bit of a madhouse as the sitting area was too small to accomodate the guests. Where this stay went sour was upon pick up of our vehicle. Valet service is $42/car/night. It's a bit of a cluster in the downtown area. As we were traveling on to a different state, there was little we could do upon realizing that our IPod, with over 11,000 songs and 15 movies, and personal family pictures was missing from our vehicle. It was a lousy way to end our visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USMCfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
USMCfamily04,

We have been working with our valet company since the hotel opened in January 2007 & have not had any issue like the one that you mentioned. I can assure you that we will work to rectify the situation. Please feel free to reach out to me, Ross Guthrie - General Manager, at your convenience so we may get you connected with the valet company so that we may get this issue immediately addressed.

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing