We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, crowded breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #24 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, crowded breakfast”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was a good value for us to stay downtown. You could purchase a discounted parking option, which was nice so we didn't have to worry about tracking our car.

The reception area was classy, as well as the room. The man at the front desk was excited and friendly. He helped us look over the map and suggested some good places to eat for varying tastes.

The room was gorgeous. A high ceiling, central air control, big windows facing downtown. I usually wear ear plugs, so I cannot recommend how loud or quiet it was, though I slept through the night without hearing noisy people.

I'm used to asking for a higher floor when I travel, just to avoid noise... that was a bad idea. It took forever to get up and down the elevator in the morning. And the worst part was the breakfast - don't get me wrong, because I like Hampton's free breakfast, always. But we were in a 21 floor building... there was no room to sit, hardly to breathe. We ended up skipping out and getting some donuts at Do-Rite Donuts (recommend!)

I can't say we spent too much time in the room, but it was wonderful when we did.

Room Tip: Stick to the bottom floors to save time traveling up and down. Breakfast times are extremely hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmellyg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    549
    78
    22
    8
See reviews for
536
547
124
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurinburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect for a late summer family getaway! Perfect location right next to Blue Line train stop, so access to O'Hare was ideal. Right in the heart of the Loop, surrounded by restaurants, shopping, and right on top of Bank of America Theater. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room with high ceilings, very quiet. Excellent Hampton property!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and well kept. The staff was excellent. Specifially, Ross was very helpful providing input on how best to enjoy our stay in Chicago. The location is perfect if you want to stay in The Loop or in the theater district. Millennium Park is a short walk as well as the L. Also, The Miracle Mile and Navy Pier are a reasonable walk if you don't mind walking about a mile. The breakfast is the typical Hampton Inn breakfast. The food was fresh and kept stocked during the morning. It does get very crowded on the weekend. The rooms are a good size. They are a bit dark since you are staying in a converted office building in downtown Chicago. We requested a mini refrigerator which also came in handy. The decor is current and well maintained. You can walk to almost anything in the downtown area from this hotel. Don't be afraid to ask the front desk for help during your stay in Chicago. They were all willing to answer any questions and book a reservation for the numerous tours that we wanted to take. For the price, location, staff and overall quality, this Hampton Inn is great choice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Check on parking for in-and-out privledges. Ideal location. Close to subway. Breakfast good. Service great. Very very clean. Quiet. Price was pretty good considering it is in Chicago in a good location. Might check to see if there are other "local" hotels that are not national chains as my son lives in Chicago just to get a local feel. But this hotel is in theatre district and does not give the national sanitary feel of chains. However, as a safe bet, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My mom and I shared a double queen room for five days and were vey pleased with our stay. Location was walking from Millenium Park and theaters, buses and trains to everywhere, even Midway airport and Oak Park trains were just steps away. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, breakfast and snacks on site were convenient, and our room on upper floor was comfortable and relatively quiet, though we could hear thunderstorms one night, how could we not? The hotel shares a lobby with the BofA theatre which made tinier convenient to get tickets to Book of Mormon which was playing while we were there. The theatre offers same day rush for some of the shows which makes it a lot cheaper. We also were walking distance from the Symphony and Art Institute and enjoyed both.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorobingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The room was cold. I had the thermostat up to warm up the room, but it would not. I called the front desk at 4 a.m. and was told that the heat was controlled by the building management and it did not start until later in the month. When I was checking out, I mentioned about the room temperature to the front desk. I was told that each room has its own heat and probably the unit was not working properly. I was promised that a manager would call me as they were not available at the time. No one did.

And, to make the experience worse, I was billed twice. This probably happened because the system froze during my initial reservation and I ended up with 2 reservations. They agreed to issue a credit for the second reservation. However, I feel that, to minimize work for all involved, thay should have asked me at the time of checking in if I had another room booked. It was 1 a.m. when I checked in and anyone reasonable would wonder why I had booked 2 rooms under the same name. But, then maybe not.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roop T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Roop TM,
Thank yo ufor taking the time to share your experience at our hotel during your recent stay in Downtown Chicago. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate situations that occurred with the service and the facility while a gueset in our hotel. Our goal is to strive to exceed every guest's expectations and unfortunately we fell short of our goal on numerous occasions and failed to meet or exceed your expectations. Please be assured I will personally follow up to ensure these service encounters are not repeated. Please email me directly at the email below so I can further discuss your experience. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
samantha.rice@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hotel has a very good design. Only 7 rooms to a floor (on 20 floors) the result is a very quiet stay. No slamming doors or running kids. Great hotel security, key card to activate elevators. One of only 3 hotels I know of in chicago loop that gives you a free hot breakfast. A very big perk to help you start your sightseeing day. Front desk staff is the best I have come across, amazingly friendly and helpful to all. Price is ok considering this is downtown chicago. Rooms are smaller with only one king bed usually, but very comfortable! Could hear some noise from the Elevated trains, but not really that bad. Air conditioning was quiet. Right next to a theater, 2 blocks off from michigan avenue. Best Hampton I have come across.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Allan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We take great pride in providing our guests with exceptional customer service. We hope you get the chance to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,605 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing