We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Chicago with Ease”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #22 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoy Chicago with Ease”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We always stay at the Hampton Majestic when we are in Chicago. It is a wonderful hotel near everything with a great breakfast and friendly staff. It has everything we need. We have told all our friends that this is the PLACE to STAY in Chicago. It is near the Art Institute, great eating places and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Lucy E,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We do our best at making sure every guest receives the best experience possible when they visit Chicago. Thank you for your recommendation, and we will see you again the next time you come to the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    561
    83
    24
    8
See reviews for
568
563
128
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very good location. Hotel is very quiet at night. Nice rooms. Great breakfast. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Location is near State Street with easy access to both Red and Blue lines. Short walk to Art Institute. Very helpful staff. This was definitely the quietest hotel in central Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carl R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Carl R F,

We appreciate your review. State street is one of the most popular areas in Chicago, so we love that our hotel is in a accessible area. We would be more than happy to have you at Hampton Majestic again someday.

Sincerely,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

In Chicago for Thanksgiving 2013, we found the Hampton Majestic to be a great home away from home. It is half a block east of the Blue Line L's Monroe Stop, just around the corner. Small entrance elevator will take you to the larger Lobby Reception area, where there is a 24-hr coffee/tea/hot-water station, next to the breakfast dining area. You need to insert your room card key in the elevator to get to the higher floors. The self-serve hot/cold buffet breakfast (6:30AM - 10 AM) is well-stocked and quickly refilled in the busy morning hours, when/if you cannot find a seat, you can take food/drink/tray to the room but please bring things back because the staff here works hard to take care of you. The adorable, affable male manager walked around to pour coffee, chat, and answer questions. About breakfast, sausages were great. We add butter, pepper, and/or ketchup or salsa to make the steamy scrambled eggs taste better. There were plenty of fruits, yogurt, mini-muffins, and various breads and bagels for toasting. You can also make waffles! Staff is friendly, often smiling and asking if you need directions. We had the King Deluxe bedroom, which is large enough and has plenty of counter/surface for putting things down. We had a very nice, comfy King-size bed, and our bathroom (with tub) was large. When the weather is cold, it's nice to have access to hot drinks in the lobby. WiFi works well but it did take several steps to sign in. It was easy to use the room thermostat to control the heat. On Thanksgiving morning, we can hear the nice parade music and cheers from our room. Thanks so much, Majestic Staff and Manager, for a wonderful 3-day stay - My partner and I will be back!

Green Features: We did not need to exchange any towels during our stay. Our housekeeper(s) work hard. It was fine not to have housekeeping service on Thanksgiving Day, but perhaps, the hotel should give extra soaps and lotions for folks who stay longer. Thanks.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeTwitty1Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred_Marshall, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear wokntok,

Oh my! What a wonderfully detailed review!

Adding some of our condiments (namely salsa) is a wondeful tip. We've recently rolled out the new Hampton Breakfast items, which includes much improved scrambled eggs, along with shredded cheese that can be used as a topping for them (or anything else for that matter!). My favorite new addition is the zuchinni bread. I highly recommend trying that on your next trek to Chicago.

The manager you mentioned is Ross, our General Manager. We're very fortunate to have such an enthusiastic leader who enjoys mingling with our guests and telling them about our great city.

We're so happy that you enjoyed your experience at our location, we hope to see you again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Hampton Inn is always reliable when I travel to other cities, but it is a cut above at this location in the Theatre District. The staff was friendly and welcoming when we arrived, and helped us navigate the city on the numerous times we asked. During breakfast in the lobby area, a hotel manager walked around and offered his help in making sightseeing plans. The location is perfect, as it's steps away from good restaurants and shopping. It's easy to catch the train or a bus from there as well. Our room was spacious and the beds are comfortable. I can't recommend this hotel enough if you are in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethchr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Bethchr21,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review on your most recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! As you mentioned we are centrally located to so much! We are close for great dinning and shopping and transportation is very simple here in the Theatre District as well. We are happy to hear that you will be visiting us again when your travels bring you to the Chicago land area. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Thank you very much to all the staff! They made us feel very welcomed. Also, they were very helpful trying to find restaurants for us for Thanksgiving, they were helpful at giving directions when asked. Housekeeping girl was attentive. All the staff was great and the room was clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Trip-details
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Trip-details,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. You're welcome! I will pass your kind words along to the rest of the staff as everyone strives to go above and beyond for all of our guests. It's nice to hear you felt welcomed and we look forward to your return when and if your travels bring you to the Chicago south-loop area.

Best wishes,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was by far one of the best lodging experiences I have encountered ! The staff was wonderful, kind and very patient with out of town visitors. The location was wonderful with spotless rooms. The valet parking was a nice addition and made the check in and departure process a lot easier.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear aTripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent experience here with us. It's important to us that each guest feels welcomed and we are glad to hear that we were successful at just that. Hearing such great reviews as this one reassures that our team is doing our job day in and day out to assure quaility service. Thank you, again.

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here during Memorial Day weekend and the rates were surprisingly affordable. The hotel was easy to find and is in the perfect location. It was a short walk to many of the 'touristy' things we wanted to see on this trip. The staff was always very friendly and attentive. Our room was spacious and clean and city noise was not a problem at night. The breakfast was a bit crowded when I went down to grab some snacks one morning but they did a good job of keeping everything stocked. We enjoyed our stay here a lot and will definitely consider it for future trips to Chicago!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
vanessss4 ,
Thank you so much for your review on your most recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! As you mentioned we are conveniently located to many of the "touristy" attractions. We are glad our hotel exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
261 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing