We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #24 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had a great experience from the beginning to end of our stay. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly! The rooms were spacious, clean, and nicely furnished! The location of this hotel is convenient to Union Station and Michigan Avenue. There are a lot of great places to dine within walking distance of the hotel! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank bkgrigsby725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred_Marshall, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear bkgrigsby725,

We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our location is one of our most frequently touted points, in a quiet area of downtown, but not far from all the attractions. The best of both worlds!

We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future. Have a great Holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    549
    78
    22
    8
See reviews for
536
547
124
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I usually love Hampton Inns, but this is the worst I've ever stayed at. The bed was uncomfortable, and the linens didn't have the clean, crisp feeling that you usually get with Hampton Inn. The room was incredibly hot and cramped, and the bathroom had no counter space or shelves to put toiletries. The room overall wasn't very clean, either. I will remain loyal to Hampton, but not to this hotel. You can get a much nicer place for a similar or cheaper price at other hotels downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Alexandra W,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am so sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable & you did not perceive the linens as crisp as you would like. Our guests usually quite enjoy the Hampton Clean & Fresh bed with the Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses. I am sorry you did not enjoy them.

I am also sorry that you found the room smaller than most Hamptons. Being in a downtown urban area, our rooms are a bit smaller the most suburban hotels due to the nature of a dense urban environment. Our rooms range from 285 square feet for our standard king, 330 square feet for our double rooms, all the way up to 350 square feet for our upgraded king with a sofa sleeper, minifridge & microwave.

If you would like to discuss your stay any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I look forward to hearing from you soon & hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in the Chicagoland area!


Graciously,

Ross Guthrie

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I arrived late on a Sunday night due to bad weather and delayed flights. When I walked to the front desk Angel immediately greeted me with a wonderful hello. He got me checked in quickly and then asked if I had been able to get anything to eat with all the delays. He offered water, fruit and even a muffin from the morning to go bags Hampton has. It was the best welcome I have ever received at a hotel. It's great to be away from home and feel like the people care about you in the place you are staying. The hotel was fabulous, but Angel was amazing. I only stayed one night, so I didn't experience the rest of the staff, but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred_Marshall, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Mel H,

We are glad to hear that your experience at our property was so memorable. As a team we strive to offering genuine and caring service, which is something you don't often find in this day and age. We look forward to seeing you when the Chicago winds blow you through our city again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Beyond a doubt, the warmest welcome I have ever had from hotel staff as a crabby customer. The highlight of our trip was made by Angel at the front desk. The staff turned every situation into a positive.

I don't know the name of the young girl and the young man who checked us in, but they were equally welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay one of the best we've ever had in Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDee948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred_Marshall, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear JoDee948,

Angel is Amazing! We are all very fortunate to work with such a wonderful individual. I'm glad Angel was able to make your experience with us so special. Being a genuine and caring individual is so natural to Angel, most of us learn something from him everyday. The other individuals you spoke of are Janessa and Oscar. They are a great part of the fantastic team that we have here as well, and I will share all of your comments with them. We look forward to having you back with us when you travel back to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were here for just a couple of nights while Christmas shopping at the Christkindl Market and other places in Chicago. The location for both, simply cannot be beat. It's close to the Blue Line, a short walk to Michigan Ave, Millenium Park and, for our purposes, a 5 min walk to Daley Plaza where the Christkindl Market is held. It's a bit odd getting into it because the lobby is not on the ground floor, but the staff were quite helpful (albeit slow to get things done at times). The hotel is very quiet, has free Wifi and a pretty good breakfast, especially for the price. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and it even had a microwave and small fridge. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred_Marshall, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Bonasa,

Thank you for the wonderful and honest review of our property. We're fortunate to be located around some of the major attractions within Chicago, and only steps away from public transportation makes getting to any other places you'd like to go very easy as well. Our building is so unique being in a downtown market, and having our lobby on the 4th floor is one of the most unique things about us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit our majestic city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We always stay at the Hampton Majestic when we are in Chicago. It is a wonderful hotel near everything with a great breakfast and friendly staff. It has everything we need. We have told all our friends that this is the PLACE to STAY in Chicago. It is near the Art Institute, great eating places and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Lucy E,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We do our best at making sure every guest receives the best experience possible when they visit Chicago. Thank you for your recommendation, and we will see you again the next time you come to the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very good location. Hotel is very quiet at night. Nice rooms. Great breakfast. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Location is near State Street with easy access to both Red and Blue lines. Short walk to Art Institute. Very helpful staff. This was definitely the quietest hotel in central Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carl R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Carl R F,

We appreciate your review. State street is one of the most popular areas in Chicago, so we love that our hotel is in a accessible area. We would be more than happy to have you at Hampton Majestic again someday.

Sincerely,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,610 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing