We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Rate and Amenities Make This Ideal for Downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #23 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If there was a worldwide award for best blackout curtains, this hotel would take top prize. It's unusual to start a review of a hotel and hotel room with the curtains, but these things were exemplary, you woke up and had no idea whether it was day or night.

The location is terrific. You're within a 15 minute walk of everything Downtown Chicago has to offer. You're paying a reasonable nightly rate for a stay. The bed is comfortable. The amenities are Hampton Inn standard, as is the breakfast.

If you leave the DnD hangtag on the door, housekeeping will leave you a basket of amenities outside the door, which is an outstanding touch.

Valet service is prompt and polite, and a better value than the neighboring Palmer House.

It isn't perfect (though I'm rounding up to Excellent). The elevator service is slow. The chairs in the rooms lack arms (odd for the computer desk). The paint job on the doors in the hallways are lacking, there's some noise bleed through from room to room and hot water in the shower is in short supply during peak times. Rooms do not have refrigerators, my one real disappointment.

But these are minor quibbles on an overall great value in downtown Chicago. Book it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Monroe Street will get a sunrise glare, so make use of those blackout curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cromartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

cromartie ,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your most recent experience here at the Hampton Majestic. We are glad to see that you had an exceptional time here with us. I am happy to let you know that in the near future we will be doing room renovations which we are very excited about. We hope you can come and visit us soon and experience the new look! Have a fantastic week and thank you again.

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very nice hotel. Excellent location for shopping & restaurants. Great breakfast each morning, certainly a plus not having to go out for breakfast. Staff were all very friendly! Hotel was quiet and felt very safe staying in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Diane445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Diane445 ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent experience here with us at the Hampton Majestic. As you mentioned we are centrally located which makes it very convenient for shopping and dining. We are glad you were able to find time to take advantage of that. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the entire staff. We look forward to the day your travels bring you to the Chicago land area. Thank you

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We felt at home with all the amenities and the outstanding people on the front desk, the breakfast, bell and valet parking guys. Everybody was so helpful and willing to go the extra mile. The location is so good that we were able to walk to some of the most visited attractions and use the buses and the train so easily and cheap to go everywhere. The hotel provides you step by step directions. The breakfast was very good and you get coffee and fruits every time you want. Room was very nice and clean. Thanks to Angel, Oscar, Brady and the rest of the personnel that helped us have a great stay in Chicago!
C. Matos

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Carlos M,
All of us here at The Hampton Majestic want to thank you so much for your review on your experience here with us! Your review sums up our hotel in a nutshell. We are very fortunate to have such an amazing team. We really couldn't be in a better location like you mentioned we are within walking distance to many attractions, restaurants, and shopping with several transportation options. Thank you so much! We look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you to the Chicago land area. Enjoy your week!

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A nice boutique hotel close to stores in the loop. Very convenient from the el. Higher floors are best except you may wait for the elevator. You can take stairs down and see the old part of the hotel. The front desk personnel were very helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floor was suggested and I agree. You may wait for the elevator, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellenbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Ellenbil ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you were happy with the convenient of transportation and attractions which are rather close to the property. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel in my home town. I had to be at work even though my office was officially closed. This Hampton is around the corner from my office and near some terrific restaurants. It is a great value and just what I needed. It's small and cozy. Not fancy but there's no reason to pay more if you don't have to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Faith653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Faith653 ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Hampton Majestic. We are glad to hear that the past two times you've stayed with us you've been exceptionally happy with your experience. We like to think of our hotel as a "cozy" environment as well. We look foward to your return. Have a wonderful week!

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is complete in all respects. Brilliant location, free coffee 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, free fruits 24 hours a day, free cookies in the evenings, large rooms, excellent housekeeping and very helpful front desk….and you couldn't have asked for more. We have stayed in many of the Hampton Inns and Hilton Garden Inn hotels and this property surely is the best among the lot. Will definitely recommend to everyone and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iyengars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Iyengars ,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review on your most recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. Your review is a true statement to what our hotel has to offer. We are very fortunate to have the staff that we do. Each department owns their responsibilities and it shows. Thank you for describing our hotel as "complete." I will be happy to share your review with the entire staff as we all strive to go above and beyond our guests expectations. Glad to hear you will be back , as we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Flew from Tampa to Chicago for a wedding during the January "polar vortex' frigid weekend. We stayed at the Hampton Inn Majestic on Monroe near State Street, in the loop. The location was wonderful; close to everything we needed for shopping, eating and transportation. From check in to check out, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast bar was better than most we have had. Internet was free and easy. The rooms and baths have been pleasantly updated. All in all a great stay. We hope to go back again in warmer weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank palmharbor_cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

palmharbor_cj ,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your most recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! We are pleased to see you had an exceptional experience with us. As you mentioned we are centrally located to several things such as wonderful dining opprutunities and lovely shopping. We hope you can join us when the weather gets nice here in Chicago as the warm months are wonderful here!

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
317 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £85 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing