We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #22 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent location, comfortable beds”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have stayed twice at this hotel in the heart of Chicago's Theatre District. Excellent overall. Located in an old historic building (still has the floor-to-floor mail chute and gigantic window ledges). Beds are very comfortable, rooms are spacious for the age of the building. Pipes sing a bit as with most older buildings. Only downside that kept this from 5 stars was the hot items on the breakfast bar were at best lukewarm and generally cold. I know this is difficult to do sometimes but can be figured out. Great staff - very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
ML7kc ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All of us here at The Hampton Majestic are pleased to hear you had an excellent experience with us! We greatly appreciate your loyality and are happy to hear that the team was helpful and you were comfortable here! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    552
    81
    22
    8
See reviews for
545
558
127
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Parking is very difficult, but once we got that situated the stay was good. I loved the hot chocolate chip cookies served in the lobby every afternoon. It was very hospitable during a very cold stay. It is walking distance from most of the things we planned on doing, especially the theater district and art museum. Taxi's were about $8 each way to the major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
ML7kc

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy the cookies we offer in our lobby during your spring break trip to Chicago. It sound being within walking distance to the theatres of the theatre district & the Art Institute of Chicago was quite convenient for you.

I am sorry that you found parking to be difficult. Being in a dense urban area like downtown Chicago, parking & traffic can be quite the hassle. Merging in to or out of our loading zone in Chicago rush hour traffic can by trying for even the most skilled road warriors. Most of the hotel’s guests avoid this altogether by choosing to leave their car at home & taking the train to the hotel, a great option if you have the choice.

We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Good location downtown with so many attractions in walking distance. We were first given a room on the 6th floor with high windows on the ceiling line you couldn't see out of, we requested a different room and were promptly given a different better room. Even though the hotel was helpful and costumer service was good we will not stay in this location again. The hotel is just not as nice as others hotels we usually stay in, we gave them a try but no thanks next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Teresa O,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us over St Patrick’s weekend. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am so glad to hear that you found the staff helpful & the customer service good. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel as nice as other hotels that you have stayed in. If there is anything I can do to address your concerns, please let me know.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect, as it had been a while since staying at a hotel in the US.

I was pleasantly surprised at the service provided, right from my first night. This was our first time travelling with our newborn, and after a long weekend, my scatterbrain was at new levels. So it was a great start to the our week, with a smooth check-in and a list of nearby restaurants to try.

Perhaps the only complaint we have is that the bed was way too soft for our taste, but that's because we're used to our firm mattress at home. Aside from that, the room was wonderful.

Breakfast is your standard affair, with a decent amount of variety and a waffle machine.

All in all, this hotel more than met our needs, and we'd gladly stay again the next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
paikj ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestc. Congratulations on your newest addition to your family. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time, and that you were completely satasfied with our services. We hope you get the opportunity to allow us to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

For a theater visit, this location couldn't be beat: in the Bank of America (ex-Majestic) theater building. It's also relatively convenient to Union Station, our reason for having chosen it. It compares favorably to the other Hampton Inn's I've stayed in, with a very responsive staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Phil F ,

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent experience with us at The Hampton Majestic. Happy to hear you were able to enjoy the theatre while visiting our beautiful city. As you mentioned, being here in the theatre district we are conveniently located to many attractions and restaurants. Glad our team was able to exceed your expectations as well! Come join us again in the future. Enjoy your weekend!

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our family really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is very nice, good location, and the staff could not be any more pleasant and helpful! Complimentary breakfast was nice, and had a good variety of items to choose from. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
j f ,

All of us at The Hampton Majestic want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience here. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your time while visting our beautiful city! Thank you for the lovely comments reguarding our team. Glad they were able to accommodate all your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back! Have a nice weekend!

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANVILLE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The location was perfect for walking to the theatre and restaurant we went to as well as the bus lines to museum campus and the train to Midway. The room and bathroom were very clean and every member of staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Granville25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Granville25 ,

Thanks so much for taking the time out of your day to review your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We are happy that the location worked out well for you; as it is nice that we are centrally located to many attractions, bus lines and dining options. Glad that our hotel and staff exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your loyality!

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
224 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing