We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Majestic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #22 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hampton Inn Majestic”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is my favorite Hampton Inn. I love the convenience to parks, shoppping, restuarants, and theatres! The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The rooms feel more like a boutique hotel than cookie-cutter hotel rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Colleen W,

It is so lovely to hear how The Hampton Majestic is your favorite Hampton Inn! We appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful compliments. As you mentioned we are far from the cookie cutter type Hampton Inn, as we like to see ourself as unique in many ways. It's nice to always hear such wonderful comments about our staff as they do provide each and every guest with excellent service. We hope your travels bring you back to Chicago, so we can welcome you back.

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    552
    81
    22
    8
See reviews for
545
558
127
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

First stay at this Hampton. I enjoyed my stay from check in to check out. I arrived early at 9:00 a.m. and was able to check in and unpack. Morning front desk staff person was very helpful and accommodating. My room on the 14th was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable. I did use the fitness center, and, while not very large, did have enough cardio equipment and weights to complete my workout. Other staff members I encountered were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and hostess greeted me in the morning. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on higher floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 417MikeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experiene Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
417MikeK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We appreciate all the nice comments you left. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you get the chance to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Hampton inn Theater was one of the most clean hotels I have stayed at, the staff went out of there way to provide a Free Breakfast, Free coffee, Hot Chocolate, Tea, and cookies. The staff was very nice and will joke around to make you feel at home, there free breakfast was very good and it is always different each day to switch things up, the hotel has two doormen that will take your bags to the lobby for you. The rooms are very clean and smell good, my room had two queen beds, a TV, great view outside, joining rooms. The only bad thing was the hotel was old so the pipes will be loud when you flush and is slow when draining the bath, you can also hear when the room next to you flushes. The hotel is not kid friendly by that I mean there is not much for kids 13 or under to do, there is no swimming pool, or hot tub for kids to play in, I think the elevator was there entertainment for this hotel. The roll away beds are $20 a night but are one of the most nice roll away beds I have stayed in. The fitness center is one of the only things to do but is only open for people 18+. Hampton inn is the only hotels I stay at they are very nice hotels, I would recommend this hotel for Business trips or people 20+. In all this is a very clean hotel but I would look in to the Hampton inn 1/2 a mile away with a sauna, pool, and hot tub, and bigger rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors have windows lower and larger and is not as loud.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel uses low flush toilets, and low water shower heads
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for sharing your 5 star experience about the Hampton Majestic.

Thanks again for your feedback & we look forward to hosting you at the Hampton Majestic the next time you are in Chicago.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This place is extremely clean and smelled so good! The beds were comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome! It was nice and quiet. We slept great both nights we were there. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDandKristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
JDandKristy,


Thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Glad you found the Hampton Majestic so quiet & comfortable.

Thank you again for your feedback & we look forward to hosting you at the Hampton Majestic the next time you are in Chicago from Tennessee.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have stayed twice at this hotel in the heart of Chicago's Theatre District. Excellent overall. Located in an old historic building (still has the floor-to-floor mail chute and gigantic window ledges). Beds are very comfortable, rooms are spacious for the age of the building. Pipes sing a bit as with most older buildings. Only downside that kept this from 5 stars was the hot items on the breakfast bar were at best lukewarm and generally cold. I know this is difficult to do sometimes but can be figured out. Great staff - very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
ML7kc ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All of us here at The Hampton Majestic are pleased to hear you had an excellent experience with us! We greatly appreciate your loyality and are happy to hear that the team was helpful and you were comfortable here! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Parking is very difficult, but once we got that situated the stay was good. I loved the hot chocolate chip cookies served in the lobby every afternoon. It was very hospitable during a very cold stay. It is walking distance from most of the things we planned on doing, especially the theater district and art museum. Taxi's were about $8 each way to the major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
ML7kc

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy the cookies we offer in our lobby during your spring break trip to Chicago. It sound being within walking distance to the theatres of the theatre district & the Art Institute of Chicago was quite convenient for you.

I am sorry that you found parking to be difficult. Being in a dense urban area like downtown Chicago, parking & traffic can be quite the hassle. Merging in to or out of our loading zone in Chicago rush hour traffic can by trying for even the most skilled road warriors. Most of the hotel’s guests avoid this altogether by choosing to leave their car at home & taking the train to the hotel, a great option if you have the choice.

We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Good location downtown with so many attractions in walking distance. We were first given a room on the 6th floor with high windows on the ceiling line you couldn't see out of, we requested a different room and were promptly given a different better room. Even though the hotel was helpful and costumer service was good we will not stay in this location again. The hotel is just not as nice as others hotels we usually stay in, we gave them a try but no thanks next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Teresa O,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us over St Patrick’s weekend. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am so glad to hear that you found the staff helpful & the customer service good. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel as nice as other hotels that you have stayed in. If there is anything I can do to address your concerns, please let me know.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
224 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing