We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #24 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value and very clean”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel was a great value and we would definitely stay there again. The room was always clean, there was no noise from the other guests or street noise. We were looking for a room that held 5 guests that was somewhat centrally located and not expensive, this hotel fit the bill. We walked to Shedd, Navy Pier, etc and while it was quite a hike when spending all day walking around museums, it was definitely doable. We weren't eager to use a cab so we lugged our suitcases to and from Union Station with no issues. The breakfast was good with lots of choices. The staff was nice, very friendly and outgoing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Sara S ,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. Im happy to hear that you were able to see the museums and Navy Pier as they are close to our hotel. We strive each day to provide our guests with exceptional service andit's nice to hear that our staff continues to do this. We look forward to the day we get to welcome you back ! Have a wonderful weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    548
    78
    22
    8
See reviews for
535
547
124
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here not knowing a thing about Chicago. The hotel is historic yet the rooms are modern and fun. Room was clean and spacious. Free breakfast was excellent. Front desk, concierge and housekeeping were kind and helpful in many ways. Close to all things and great restaurants. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank varneykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
varneykr,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while visiting our beautiful city. The history behind our property is which makes our Hampton Inn unique and very different from the rest, not to mention the prime location! I am happy to hear that the staff, cleanliness of the hotel and breakfast were above your expectations. We do our very best to ensure guests feel completely at home while joining us. We appreciate you passing the kind words along to others and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Enjoy the weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We picked the Hampton Inn in the Theater District based on Trip Advisor comments. They were right! The hotel is great. It is very close to all the right places, or a smooth bus ride to all the others. My family and I loved the room. Great beds, clean rooms, spotless bathroom. Cold a/c, superb breakfast, and really friendly staff. Oscar was the best! We truly needed his help and he came through every time. He provided great insider tips on where to eat, visit and places to "see." in Chicago. Our trip was over the top because every night we knew that our tired feet would be comforted by the best beds in town. Wow, best vacation so far. My kids (11 and 13) have not stopped talking about the trip and the hotel. We highly recommend "Motown, the Musical" as well. Great for the entire family save for one somewhat funny scene. Get a room here and you will not regret it, we promise!

Room Tip: Our room faced east and was very nice. Never heard any noise that was out of the ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20BigAL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
20BigAL14 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Hampton Majestic. I am pleased to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your time in Chicago. Glad our team was able to provide you with exceptional service as that's what we strive to do for each and every guest. I will be sure to pass your compliments over to Oscar. Our front desk team never fails to deliver when it comes to our guests. They always come out on top and I am so proud of them all. The team we have here is amazing and we are very fortunate to have such lovely employees at this hotel. Glad to hear you will be joining us again as we always look forward to welcoming back our guests. Have a wonderful weekend and thank you again!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The hotel staff were personable and considerate. Fred, who works at the desk, gave us helpful suggestions for navigating Chicago and tips for the best museums and tours. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn in the theatre district. It's also nice to be able to see a Broadway production in the same building.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Jason P ,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Fred is an asset to our team. We are very fortunate to have Fred and many other leaders at our hotel that strive to go above and beyond for all our guests. We look forward to that day we get to host you again when your travels bring you back to Chicago. Thank you again and enjoy your weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were looking for a spur of the moment get away to Chicago on the Fourth of July weekend. Wanted a hotel in the middle of the action....hit the street and go! Prices were high for the hotels we knew and loved.....and other hotel prices were crazy high or reviews were unsettling. Found the Majestic and not only did we get a fantastic deal....the reviews sold us!! Booked and had a great experience. So close to shopping....great eats...Navy Pier....Millennium Park....Union Station....we walked everywhere! We were five hours early for check in and they offered to hold our bags or give us a King Bed Room. We opted for the room and it was perfect for the two of us. Super modern and super clean! Bed was super comfortable; bedding was clean...and actually even smelled clean. No amazing views....no fridge in our room...but neither mattered to us. We are on the go and leftovers would be thrown anyway. The building across the street was nice looking and better than looking an ally with dumpsters which we have had in prior hotels. Staff was really friendly, helpful and outgoing. We loved the security of needing a registration key card in order for the elevator to take you to the guest floors. We will stay again!

Room Tip: We think all the walls are good and thick! We slept in until 9:30 am; obviously never hearing a pee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Troy H ,

We all are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your 4th of July weekend here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We appreciate you taking the time to write such lovely comments on your experience with our team here. Each and every team member takes great pride in providing each guest with exceptional service making impact on their experiences. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to the rest of the team. We look forward to the day we get to welcome you back!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is in walking distance to the lake shore with Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Art Museum and Field Museum as well as the Willis tower and the Chicago River. The staff was extremly helpful with a lot of suggestion what to do additional to the things we had already planned as well as how to avoid waiting times at the sights we planned to visit. We felt very welcome the whole time. The beds are very comfortable if you like soft mattresses. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is okay, fresh fruit was provided continuously, the items offered changed between the days, but the coffee and apple juice taste like the chlorinated Chicago water.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Stefanie K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location is one of the many pluses that we offer! It makes it easier for our guests to travel around easily even if they have never been to the city. We value our guest’s feedback, so we definitely take in consideration things that will satisfy you. We are happy to know that your experience with us was very comfortable, and hope to see you back here when you visit the city again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for two nights during recent family vacation to Chicago. What everyone else says is true: clean, bright room, pleasant and helpful staff (Had small problem with bathroom and it was taken care of in minutes), great Loop location, easy walk to Millennium Park. Had room on high floor so street noise at a minimum. Quick elevators and enough of them and that's sometimes a problem in older buildings. Breakfast at key times does get crowded. Sam, the bell captain, was very helpful with cabs, dining recommendations etc. High value for the price, Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The 20-th floor double room I had featured 20-ft ceilings and was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgestayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear georgestayshome,
Thank you for responding to our hotel review. Most of all, we are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your experience with us while visiting Chicago. Our staff is very happy to know that we could take care of all your needs while staying with us. We are always open to suggestions from our guests, as we know it gets quite busy during our breakfast hours. We will be sure to let Sam know how much you appreciated his helpfulness! We would love to have you all back when you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,595 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing