We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chicago Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #27 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Chicago Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I travel to Chicago regularly on business and think the Hampton Majestic Hotel on Monroe is fantastic. It is a boutique style hotel with 9 rooms per floor so it is very quiet. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, the elevator requires a room key to access the floors so it is safer and the Hampton provides a real breakfast each morning. Furthermore, they blue and red CTA lines run to the hotel so you can ride from the airport to downtown for $5 and then make day excursions for $3. Close enough to walk to the Art Institute, lots of places to eat nearby, terrific staff. Enjoy staying here every time I fly to Chicago. There is a theater attached to the hotel so you can catch a show in the evening too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Representative at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Walter O,
Thank you so much for being so loyal and staying with us at our hotel. Many of our guests love Hampton Majestic for several reasons. From the awesome service, delicious breakfast, and great location, everyone loves it here. We most definitely appreciate you pointing out what you love about our hotel, and look forward to continue hosting you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    540
    78
    22
    8
See reviews for
528
537
124
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A desire to be within walking distance to an office building near the Willis (formerly Sears) Tower led me to a short stay at this hotel. Although it is part of the Hampton Inn brand, it has a lot more style than most other Hamptons, since it is based in an historic building above an old theater. My room appeared to be recently renovated, with updated furnishings. It was a good sized room for an historic building, with room for a King, a reading chair and a large desk, along with the usual dresser, flat screen TV, and coffee maker. Note: no fridge or safe, the latter a definite drawback.

The bathroom, while not fancy, was quite adequate with tub/shower combo and curved shower rod. Water pressure was o.k., but the shower was unable to maintain a consistent water temperature, which was annoying. The climate control was good and quiet, with central air/heat. The bed was comfortable, with a variety of pillows. Like all Hamptons, there is free Wi-Fi, which seemed to work well. Although I was given a room on the 11th floor, there was no view.

Like all Hamptons, a free breakfast is served with items such as eggs, sausage or bacon, oatmeal, cold cereal, pastries and bagels, yogurt, fruit and a waffle maker. I found the breakfast at this location to be perhaps a small cut below that of other Hamptons.

Front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. The "business center" is nothing more than one PC, one Mac and a printer. When I tried to print out my boarding pass, there was a problem with the printer, but the front desk rep used his printer to do the trick.

Aside from the comfortable and clean room, the best thing about this hotel may be its location. For tourists, one can walk to Millenium Park, museums, shopping, riverboat tours and the Skydeck at the Willis Tower. And the hotel is within a block of both the Blue Line (very convenient to/from O'Hare Airport) and the Red Line, which I took to the Steppenwolf Theater. One ought to be able easily to get around without a rental car if staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
traveldan21 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is key as we are centrally located in the heart of our beautiful city. Glad you were able to take advantage of that and explore while in town. We hope we get the opportunity to host you again. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This Hampton Inn has a fantastic staff and great location. Refurbished old building that is up to date and has charm. It was very easy to access a cab and it is situated in a great location to walk to many areas, too. I would recommend this property to any business traveler or pleasure traveler. It was a pleasant surprise to experience in Chicago !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Representative at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mark L
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our building is most definitely historical with beautiful architecture! Location is one other of the many great things about our hotel. We have awesome people on staff in every department that do their best to accommodate our guests from taxi cabs to extra towels in their room. Great to know your experience was pleasant! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We desperately sought out a property that would be good for two couples and our one year old daughters, specifically where we could find adjoining rooms. This hotel was not only incredibly affordable, but the interiors were spacious, VERY clean and well-appointed, and the free breakfast was such an added bonus with babies that need to eat just after rising each day! This hotel is also in a wonderful central location to boot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BShan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Representative at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear BShan1982
We appreciate you leaving a review for our hotel. Chicago is popular place that families absolutely love to visit, and we get plenty requests such as yours. We always do our best to accommodate all our guests, especially when you have specific requests. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time in Chicago. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I chose to stay at the Hampton Majestic with Hilton Honors points this summer. It was a great choice. We walked everywhere -- to Grant Park and Millennium Park, the Art Institute, the Goodman Theater, the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and the Architecture Foundation boat tour.

The room was much larger than many other hotel rooms in major cities and had the usual Hampton amenities.

But the big plus they get from me is finding and returning two dresses I left in the closet in the room. They were sent in great condition and arrived a day after I got home. Bravo to all the people who helped that happen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Representative at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Shirley S,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your experience while visiting Chicago. Guests can get so into their trips while visiting our beautiful city that it is not uncommon to forget things. We always do our best to take care of all our guests concerns as quickly as possible, so we’re happy to know you received your items! Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, DE
Level Contributor
341 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one night. Accommodations were very nice - comfortable bed, feather pillows, quality linens, newer furnishings, very clean. Room was adequate in size, not overly spacious. Bathroom was big. Room was quite - no traffic noise, doors do not slam. Workers were all very courteous and helpful. Continental breakfast - typical, nothing fancy. No restaurant or bar. Exercise room is small. Overall, happy with stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravels033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Agent at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear OKJeaux,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad we could accommodate you during your trip to Chicago. Our breakfast is definitely popular as not every hotel has that option! Parking in downtown Chicago can be a little pricey, so we often suggest other means of transportation if you do not plan to use the car in the city. We hope to see you back when you visit the city again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Picked the hotel based on its location which is very convenient for public transportation and walking. A little pricey if you are parking there ($55/day). The rooms are nice, the noise levels are decent for non city folks. Breakfast selection is great and hot food was different all 3 days we were there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OKJeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
OKJeaux ,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience with us at The Hampton Majestic! Glad the location suited you and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. It is our job to ensure guests are 100% satasfied with their experience. We look forward to hosting you again in the future if and when your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,501 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing