We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel.”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We had a great stay at the Majestic. Perfect location, close to all trains and within walking distance to all downtown attractions. Staff attentive and friendlly. We didn't have breakfast while we were there but it sounded good. Room was spacious, super clean and modern. We appreciate all the ammenities such as free Wifi and plasma TV, and daily paper. Bed was very comfy. Only negative was small closet. We spent a little extra for the room with microwave/fridge and it was perfect for leftovers from many fabulous dining experiences in Chicago. Easy trip on orange line from Midway airport and blue/red lines just around the corner. We were next to the elevator but didn't hear any noise from it or neighbors, just some street noise which is normal for Chicago. Great stay! Go cubbies!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,314
    558
    83
    23
    8
See reviews for
561
563
127
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
thunder bay
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

.stayed here with our two teenagers and we all absolutely loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff were always very helpful and accessible.
Front door valet parking for one flat free for your stay. We never had to wait more than 10 minutes for them to retrieve our car.
The rooms were very large and spacious with wonderful high ceilings. You never felt cramped in this room. Beds were very comfortable, towels were thick and plentiful.
Free wi-fi in our room which worked very fast. The continental breakfast included was great - hot items such as eggs and ham were available along with a good selection of cereals, fresh fruits, pastries and breads.
The location is ideal. We were able to walk most places after receiving directions from the friendly lobby staff including the aquarium. It wasn't that far at all. We did take the subway one night and it is conveniently located around the corner from the hotel.
There are a lot of great stores near the hotel for shopping as well there is a theater right next door to take in a Broadway show.
We had a great time in Chicago and couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Clean, friendly/helpful staff, and perfect location near buses and trains. Staff was very advising best way to reach places. And free breakfast and internet!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Theatre District deserves its high tripadvisor ranking. Comfortable beds, free high speed internet, great shower, working thermostat, plenty of towels, HD TV, comfortable beds, included breakfast, speedy check-in and express check-out made for a trouble free stay. Handy to the 'L' and buses, Union Station Millennium Park, the Art Institute and any number of other attractions are a short walk away. If you want a fancier lobby you can walk down the street through the Palmer House for free.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puddlejump
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This hotel is located inside Chicago's loop, and within walking distance to many downtown attractions and businesses. The rooms are adequate in size, clean and modern, with very tall ceilings, as these floors were likely an offices in the past. Once business hours have passed, there is not much nearby in terms of nightlife except for establishments catering to the theater and tourist crowds, since this is primarily a commercial district with some theaters. Public transportation and taxis are readily available in the area.

The breakfast, internet and service is as one would expect from most Hampton Inns, consistently efficient and effective. One drawback to this hotel was the elevator situation during check-in (late afternoon) and check-out (morning). This building is very tall and narrow, there are about 10 rooms per floor, but there are 20+ floors in the building, with only 2 or 3 elevators serving the floors containing the Hampton Inn, so during peak traffic hours, you may have to wait a bit longer than expected. This hotel has no pool, nor free parking.

Overall, this is a great value for a hotel situated in the heart of Chicago, if you are on business or leisure, and have a need for this very central location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puddlejump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My family and I went to Chicago for Lollapalooza. I was looking for a hotel close to Grant Park so the kids would be able to walk back and forth with their 3 day pass. What a great choice we made. Great location, friendly staff, and nice rooms. This is a very old office building, so don't expect your usual Hampton Inn huge lobby with a vast free parking area. You are literally in the middle of downtown Chicago, so expect to pay a premium for that. The kids enjoyed Lollapalooza, my wife and I enjoyed touring the city, and we also enjoyed some great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Our family chose this hotel because of its high rating on Trip Advisor and the not-outrageous price/night. It had its flaws, but for the most part, this was a fine place to stay.

The staff was SO courteous and always willing to help with whatever we needed. We had never been to Chicago before and they were helpful with directions to a few places. Also, whenever we had extra towels or anything else brought up to our room, the person was always telling us to call anytime and he would get anything we needed right away. The parking guys downstairs were also very friendly and when we had to wait 15 minutes for our car to be brought to us, they were super apologetic, even though we expected at least that long of a wait.

There was a flat screen, HD tv that was nice.

Breakfast was good. Selection was pretty good. Hot items and cold.

Walking distance to downtown stuff. MANY restaurants very nearby. We walked to the Sears Tower too. Took a short (somewhat scary) cab ride to the Field Museum and Aquarium.

Wi-fi worked very well.

Room was super clean.

Things I would change...
It would have been nice to have a second sink outside of the bathroom.
The closet was super tiny.
Bedside table was really small.
Pillows were too "high". Wish we would have been given flatter ones.
The TV channel selection was small... no Disney channel or Nickelodeon for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,067 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
242 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing