We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and kid friendly to boot”

Eddie V's Prime Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Eddie V's Prime Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: EDDIE V'S GUEST DRESS CODE Business casual. No hats, gym shoes, flip flops or sweat pants. Dress shorts and dress jeans are fine.
Chicago Metro area, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and kid friendly to boot”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Ate there last week and was happily surprised at how good the food was. We had attempted to walk in to Joe's and were turned away because we had no reservations.

This place was much less crowded but the service was phenomenal and the food was superb.

My 3 preschool nephews were with us and they happily accommodated them. There's no kid's menu but the waiter was able to recite some options (including chicken tenders).

We both had the Georges Bay Scallops (yum!), and split a crab cake for an appetizer. Sides - asparagus, broccoli, and mac n cheese (kid's meal). Highly recommend everything we had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    126
    38
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best seafood!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first visit to Eddie V's but it won't be our last. We saved this restaurant for our "special" vacation meal as we knew it was a little pricey. We started with the lobster bisque-excellent, and the crab cake. Best crab cake I've ever had in my life. Not a bunch of bread crumbs and filler, just oodles of luscious crab. For our entrees, I ordered the shrimp oregonata and my husband had the swordfish, both outstanding. Other interesting item we ordered was the crab fried rice side dish for our daughter, excellent surprise, we all split it. In addition to wonderful seafood, the service was outstanding-even down to the waitress practically escorting me to the restroom to make sure I found it! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UofMgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time to Eddie V's and it was great. I hesitated to go at first since I know there are other locations, but how wrong I was. The food, ambiance, and service were all top notch. I had the Red-fish (highly recommend) and my wife the swordfish which was also wonderful. The even had live music playing in the bar area which made the experience even more special. It was so good in fact we went back for the happy hour the next night and while a different experience - it was great as well. If I have the chance - will also try their other locations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dapMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
410 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have eaten at Eddie V's in Scottsdale and were excited to see that it has now opened in Chicago. The food was great. We split the NY Strip and the Shrimp Oreganatta (a deconstructed shrimp with Panko breadcrumbs.) The service was great even though we were there on Father's Day. Nice atmosphere with different levels in the dining room and it was quiet so you could hear each other well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal At Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visiting Chicago from LA. Couldn't get into Joe's Seafood, so tried Eddie V's across the street and had a very nice dinner. My wife had the Chilean sea bass and I had the sole. We split a soft shell crab appetizer. All were delicious and subtle with generous portions. The entrees were reasonable at just under $30 for each. My first bight of the heated chocolate cake was as good as the first sip of a really good cold beer on a hot day. The service was attentive and friendly and the music, though not outstanding, was pleasant. I am completely unbothered that it is a chain. I've paid a lot more for a lot less.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eddie V's Prime Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing