We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at Ruby Room”
Review of Ruby Room

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruby Room
Ranked #146 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience at Ruby Room”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My wife joined me on a business trip to Chicago last week. We were looking for somewhere outside of the Loop, and found the Ruby Room as it had a great price and great location in Wicker Park. We were blown away at how nice and relaxing the room was, loved the "steam room" feature of the showers, and really dug the area. There are hip, young bars and restaurants nearby. Late check-in was super easy, and the staff was helpful when I needed to fax a document. This place is classic Chicago. With this place, you trade full-service for a great location and cool room. Who needs a bell boy? I would and will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
31
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I really liked staying here. My room (4B) was large, clean, and nicely decorated with a simple, meditative, clean feel. It had high ceilings, wood floors, great mouldings, super comfortable bed and sheets, candles, and a nice modern bathroom with a sauna-like option in the shower that was very relaxing, There was no TV and no phone, which is rare and a I really appreciate this decision -- it helps to break away from the stress, to focus on reading, writing, thinking, meditating (there is free wireless internet). I came on a warm summer night, and there were 4 or 5 interesting restaurants with packed outdoor seating within 2 blocks. There is a frozen kefir store right below -- delicious -- like frozen yogurt. There is a kitchen you can share on the 3rd floor, which is an unusual feature and nice if your staying for a few days. Basically, it was like staying at a friend's beautiful apartment in a great neighborhood. Publication transportation was great; a cab to North Michigan Avenue was $10 and 10 minutes, and I was able to flag one immediately in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offthebeatenroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I could not find a hotel room downtown and my secretary booked me at ruby. It's a different kind of place and I kinda digg it. Hip neighborhood, very well appointed rooms and a relaxing garden in the rear of the property with a waterfall. My hair was a little shaggy so I booked a haircut in their salon and liked it so much I got a facial too. I really like this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candice1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peoria, il
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

My friend and I spent a 2 night spa getaway at the Ruby Room and enjoyed it very much. The deluxe king rooms were spacious and immaculate. The steam showers were fabulous and beds very comfy. No telephones in the rooms is not an issue in todays world of cell phones and no tvs was actually a nice respite. The CD player had a "spa" tape to enhance relaxation.
No elevators and steep stairs could be a problem to some (we thought it was charming and contributed to the unique quality of the building) and on arrival our bags were carried for us.
Our goal was a spa experience, so we did Yoga and had facials and had our auras read (pretty goofy...) The neighborhood has some wonderful restaurants and great shops nearby with an easy walk.
Our goal was a relaxing weekend in a spa environment, but the Ruby Room is also great for business and sports travelers to Chicago. Next time we come up for a play or concert or to shop, the Ruby Room will be the place !

  • Liked — steam shower!!!
  • Disliked — I liked it all!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barla54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

Overall, my stay was pleasant, but there are some misrepresentations about their rooms on their website.

Here's the good: the room looked pretty much exactly like the pictures. It was clean, comfortable, pretty, and the bed was very comfortable. Plus, there's a little community kitchen area so I could prepare some of my own food.

Here's some of their spin, and the reality:

The deluxe room is billed as having "loads of sunlight." Actually, the room has two north facing windows that look out at about 8 feet of space and then the wall of the other building. Even if you keep your curtains open (which is unlikely, considering that the windows face the windows of a business directly across), there's only the faintest sunlight.

The garden room theoretically "overlooks the healing garden." Actually, it overlooks the back stairs to the building, which guests use to come and go at night.

Also, the healing garden is actually a large patio with some plants around the edges. It's certainly nice, but I don't think it quite qualifies as a "garden." It does have a little waterfall, however.

Lastly, their website clearly states this but I'll say it too: Definitely be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2007

My partner and I stayed at Ruby Room during a leisure trip to Chicago. It's a beautiful place and we were treated like kings. Our bed was really incredible. It was the best nights sleep I've had in months. The Wicker Park neighborhood was quaint and we avoided paying the $40/night parking fee we usually pay staying downtown. We will be back.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesH567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

We booked a 'Deluxe Room' at the Ruby Room for a long weekend. We were extremely disappointed by our experience there. Things that would probably bother other travelers did not bother us: the stairs, no telephones/tv's, no room service, small bathroom, and checking in at the spa (yes, it's a bit awkward given the tight space amongst all the products but the staff is friendly and check-in is quick).

Room decor is Target & Ikea meets Shabby Chic & Yoga Ashram. Basically, it's a bizarre mix of cheap furniture and decor. There were other strange things about the room that made it seem half furnished: no nightstand on one side of the bed, no headboard, no cover on the duvet, etc. The bed linens are not 500 thread count as advertised (Note to owners: your customers have eyes and can read tags & many of us shop at Target too). There were fresh flowers in the room when we arrived but they were half dead...but a nice thought had it been executed properly.

Pros:
-Comfortable bed despite not having a headboard
-Aveda products in the bathroom
-Convenient to 'El' and bus
-Convenient to restaurants

Cons:
-Completely OVERPRICED!
-Dirty (inch of dust underneath the bed w/ dust bunnies everywhere, coverlet was stained and no comforter cover)
-No WiFi as advertised. Direct internet connection was extremely slow.
-Paper thin walls (not so relaxing when you can hear everything around you)

Again, we were fully aware that this was not your typical hotel and we were ok with that. But for the price that we paid ($185 per night before taxes), we certainly expected a lot more and at the very least to get what was advertised. Save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — The price!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank columbiakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#68 of 190 in Chicago
211 reviews
Northwest Side
No photo provided
House of Two Urns
#20 of 22 in Chicago
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 22 in Chicago
272 reviews
West Town
The Hollander
The Hollander
#8 of 58 in Chicago
49 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Jones
Holiday Jones
#2 of 58 in Chicago
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Room

Property: Ruby Room
Address: 1743 W Division St # 45, Chicago, IL 60622-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#98 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruby Room 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best in the City" - Chicago Magazine.Ruby Room Hotel & Spa is one of Chicago's most unique overnight destinations. Just 8 minutes from downtown, in the heart of historic Wicker Park's restaurant, shopping and nightlife scene.Modeled in the European tradition, Ruby Room is neither a hotel nor a traditional B&B. Our concept is that of relaxation. By design, we do not offer telephones or televisions. We do not offer 24 hour reception or bellman services. We make a practice of not entering your room during your stay, unless requested. Ruby Room is a historic property and does not offer an elevator. Please keep this in mind, if you or any of your guests have a challenge with mobility. What we do offer are outrageously comfortable pillow top mattresses with 500 thread count linens, large marble and glass showers, 4 of which are equipped with commercial steam units along with complimentary AVEDA products. Crown molding and fine woodworking throughout. Modern furniture peppered with antiques, new community kitchen, gorgeous garden with waterfall and all a part of a day spa, hair salon, yoga studio, two retail boutiques, 5,000 square foot health club and a serene healing sanctuary. If you're looking for something super clean and relaxing, we offer a restful room attached to a unique spa in a super cool neighborhood. Your peace is our passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ruby Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Room Chicago
Ruby Room Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing