We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Aston, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Served it's purpose”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Visiting a friend for 2 nights who lives in Andersonville so I wanted to be close enough to her house. We arrived a little early and called, as the reservation suggested, to see if we could get in our room early. After several phone calls, we were still unable to reach anyone. We used the code we were given to open the door right at 3 and got in. There was no sign of the manager. We stayed in room 2 so we had the detached bath--bath met our needs (although the shower is a little tricky). Had problems with the shades in our room so we called the number in the in-room book and the number was disconnected. Finally got the manager via the other number (was probably a cell because he said he'd show up in 15 minutes which he did). The book also stated that we would have housekeeping service each day which only happened in the
bathroom. Also, still problems with the freezer/refrigerator like someone mentioned in their December 2011 review. Continental breakfast was fine. I sleep deeply which was fortunate because walls are paper thin. Suggestions: more towels, daily housekeeping, more visibility of manager and updated in room info. I'd stay here again only because it's a good value and I am not in the room much at all.

Room Tip: Pick room 2 and save money with detached bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
Thank you for your review.. We do apologize for having to hear other people.. We asked that if any guest are speaking to loudly.. particularly in the kitchen to let individuals know. Bed and Breakfast is a communal environment.. Most of the time we usually let guest know not to make to much noise after 10pm and before 8am. Housekeeping is there daily and usually change towels and make beds on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
16
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The owners were notable by their absence. Continental do-it-yourself breakfast options included stale croissants, jelly in squeeze bottles, no butter and various bread that you pull out of the refrigerator. Powdered cream for the coffee. Five varieties of boxed cereal. Some fresh fruit. Cheap hot cocoa mix.

Cluttered, poorly designed bedroom. Wifi inoperative (until I reset the router.) Bathroom across the hall was cold. No housekeeping at all for the bedroom. Bathroom was unserviced the first day, then number of towels declined each day. Had to replace toilet paper on our own. Towel bar fell off of wall; not repaired during 4 night-stay. Fire extinguishers not inspected since 2009. Draconian refund policy.

Room Tip: Avoid the place entirely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
It's unfortunate you had a bad experience. All our food is checked daily, We continue to repair the items in rooms on a daily basis. Impossible to have fire extinguishers for more than a year shine fire marshals come out yearly to check them!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Most B&B's try for cute and cluttered -- not the 5863! It was modern and clean and open and friendly! The beds were comfortable, the rooms open and airy. The bathrooms were spotless and large (the downside of a lot of B&Bs it that they had to cram a bathroom into a small space).
The owners were not obtrusive as so many B&B owners think they have to be. They were available though. No keys, the doors all had electronic combo locks -- your combo is mailed to you so there's no checkin procedure.
Nice deck oout back -- it overlooks an even nicer private garden with a fireplace (when I come back I'm planning on a evening cocktail down there!).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billcanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembroke Pines, Fl.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Loved it!! Clean, great area, and best part breakfast was at anytime we wanted. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miret65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here with my husband for the first night of our trip to Chicago. The owner had encouraged us to pay $25 in advance for reserved parking, but we hesitated and glad we did, easily found free curbside parking right in front of the building. The B&B is nicely decorated and clean, but the refrigerator (temp blinking at 48 degrees) and freezer (ice cubes melted) in the shared kitchen were not working which resulted in shriveled up, fermented fruit and milk that came out in curdled chunks on my husband's breakfast cereal. Also, the cable was not working properly, television screen continually pixylated, making it impossible to watch anything. Several days after we returned from our trip, I contacted the owner and informed him of the malfunctioning fridge and freezer and he said he had just then realized it then himself and reset it. That means about another week's worth of guests had our same experience- yuck! He also said he was going to switch cable companies due to the ongoing bad service. He offered to discount our room 10% the next time we come (which will be never) A 10% refund on amount already paid would have been more appropriate considering the "breakfast" portion of this B&B consisted of toast and a warm diet coke.

Room Tip: Take room with bath down hall to save $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
We explained to guest that the refrigerator was not working and waiting for repair person to fix which usually takes a few days. We offered to cancel your reservation and re book at another hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American expat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I cannot say enough good things about House 5863. It is beautifully decorated, clean, and the price was an absolute steal for Chicago. The neighborhood is lovely and has tons of shops and restaraunts. There are two train stations within walking distance, not to mention the lake. We parked for free on the street (no permit required) which saves so much money compared to a hotel downtown! Not to mention the peace and quiet of a more residential neighborhood. We slept with our window open to enjoy the fresh fall air and never woke up once to traffic noise or loud guests banging home in the middle of the night (which has happened many times downtown!). The staff was lovely and present every morning to be sure the guests had what they needed. There was even a laptop with a printer and internet access for guests to use free of charge. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could ever want to eat or drink and free for the taking whenever you like. We felt like we were spending the weekend in the posh apartment of a friend rather than a B&B/hotel. I would absolutely recommend House 5863 and will definitely be returning myself!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Visiting our son in the Andersonville section of Chicago, there really is very little in the way of hotels. So we were pleased to find this upscale B&B just a one mile walk from his apartment and close to the train and bus lines. The rates were as good or better than hotels, and a lot better quality rooms and amenities, so an excellent value. If you have any mobility issues, be aware that the five bedrooms, living room, and kitchen are all on the second floor. The decor is modern and everything was fresh and clean. There is a deck for enjoying coffee or drinks. The one thing that was odd was that when we arrived there was no one to greet us or orient us to the place. It seems that other guests kind of fill in informally for the owner, which worked out in the friendly B&B atmosphere, but was quite different from our other B&B experiences. The kitchen is well-stocked with large boxes of cold cereals, breads, bowls of fresh fruit, milk, OJ, condiments, eggs, etc. Pastries appear on the counter under cake domes. So instead of your being served (or having a small buffet presented) each morning, you are on your own to make your own breakfast. Which worked out OK, but again was a little unexpected. There is a computer with a printer available for guest use, which is convenient for printing out boarding passes. We had pleasant experiences with all the guests, and did eventually meet George the owner on our last day. There are plenty of excellent eateries in the Andersonville section on Clark and Foster.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeronprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 189 in Chicago
317 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 189 in Chicago
755 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 189 in Chicago
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House 5863 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House 5863 Bed & Breakfast

Property: House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5863 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3449
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — House 5863 Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House 5863 is not your typical B&B. We are different. Here you will find no Victorian decor or rockers on a scenic porch. Rather, we are an urban, hip place to stay in the heart of Chicago's north side. Our style is contemporary comfort. Our rooms are clean, cool and most of all restive Our approach is more hands off than hands on. We focus on providing for all of your needs behind the scenes without disrupting your stay. Common areas are designed for casual living. The fully-equipped kitchen offers continental style breakfast with all the basics to allow you to serve yourself on your own schedule and at your own pace. Our garden and deck areas offer a quiet respite for relaxed joy. We offer five private guest rooms, each with its own private bath. Each room features a king-sized bed. All rooms are equipped with a flat panel television and free cable television and high-speed wireless internet access.All rooms sleep two guests. Room number 4 can accommodate an additional guest on a pull-out sofa for an additional guest charge. If you are traveling with children under the age of 7, please contact us before booking your reservation. All rooms and all private areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your House 5863 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing