We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch and over the top... IMPRESSED!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #30 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top notch and over the top... IMPRESSED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Trump does not disappoint...I have stayed in a regular room and was more recently upgraded to a suite and the hotel is 5 star! I love that the rooms have mini kitchens and the suites have full kitchens. The breakfast in the upstairs restaurant was delicious with a great ambiance. If you want to be treated like a king (or Donald Trump), check out this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelNYCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am very pleased to read your feedback and am happy to learn you have enjoyed your experiences. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,983
    287
    107
    60
    55
See reviews for
625
801
106
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston,NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

What you would expect at a Trump Hotel. Service from all employees from the front desk, to the restaurant to the doorman was all top notch. Location is good right in the center of town. Hotel has an excellent Gym. Also loved the TV in the bathroom mirror.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellc275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read you regard your experience at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago as "top notch". Thank you for sharing your feedback of not only the hotel and facilities, but also of our service team and their efforts to provide you with great service.

We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Overall, the Trump International Hotel in Chicago is a beautiful property but unfortunately, it failed to live up to its reputation during our four-day stay. Long story short, the decor of the rooms was more like a "construction-grade" model apartment (boring colors, bland art, etc), the service was lackluster (no robes, absent turn-down service, mediocre house-keeping), and mechanical deficiencies (bathroom door did not close completely, there were NO locks on any doors, very low water pressure (the shower pressure was very low so hair washing took a while), and filthy windows. The highlights included extraordinary food at and service at Sixteen, attentative front desk staff, and an awesome kitchen with high-end appliances (full size) in the suite. In the end, it was a nice experience but there are far better properties that offer greater luxury in Chicago.

Room Tip: Be prepared for parking - it is $71 a day for valet and $54 a day for self-parking. Garage is very e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay. While I am very happy to read your kind appraisal of Sixteen and our Front Desk team, I would like to extend my apologies that you were left to feel disappointed. I assure you we pay close attention to feedback such as yours so that we may constantly find ways to improve our facilities and services for our guests. I invite you to please contact our Executive Office Manager, Julie Bridgeman at jbridgeman@trumphotels.com, so that we may further investigate your experience.
I hope we will have the opportunity to look further into your stay and that you will allow us the occasion to welcome your return and restore your confidence in Trump Tower Chicago.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked our stay on Hotwire, landing a great price for a luxury hotel. Our room was on the 27th floor and had an amazing view of the lake. The hotel doesn't miss a single detail. Rooms are extremely quiet, you don't hear noise from other rooms or the hallway. Housekeeping is "Johnny-on-the spot" though you never see the staff nor their cleaning carts.
Room service is top notch, delicious and the presentation is beautiful, not your typical room service.
Located in the River North area, just 1 mile from Union Station, we parked our car at the train station for $35 for 4 days (total) and paid $6 for a taxi to the hotel. The Red Line is a few blocks away on Grand - getting around the city is fairly inexpensive and we avoided high parking costs.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view if available, it is a great view to wake to while enjoying the morning paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your recent stay in the city and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding our Housekeeping and In-Room Dining and I thank you for your appraisal of our rooms and attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming your return upon future visits.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We decided to go to Chicago for our wedding anniversary and my birthday on Dec 13 and 14. The hotel is located on the Chicago river at Wabash Ave. We had a suite with a view of the river, the "L", and the lake. The accommodations were very comfortable, with a full kitchen, and a main living room. On Sat night we met with relatives for dinner, and came back to the hotel, to our suite to visit. Perfect.

We wanted to see the Chicago Christmas decorations, and it was only a short few blocks to Macy's in the loop. It snowed the second night we were there, and, from our floor to ceiling window, the view was great.

I do want to thank the staff at the Trump for their courteous and friendly service throughout every type of encounter, but special thanks for their help in recovering my carry on bag left in the taxi when we arrived from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjoek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for allowing us the honor of hosting your wedding anniversary and birthday celebration. I am pleased to read you found comfort in your accommodations and ease in navigating the city from our location. I appreciate your acknowledgement of our team for being courteous and friendly as we strive to ensure our guests have a warmly memorable experience. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back for future occasions.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Over the years we have visited many four star properties and honestly felt like we were treating ourselves....until we stayed at the Trump. There is absolutely no comparison. The service is far beyond anything that I could have imagined. We were checked in by the most amazing and attentive young man (Kyle). From that point on he seemed to watch our every move as we came and went from the hotel. He remembered our names and our planned itinerary. As we left for our outing to watch my son's favorite hockey team (Blackhawks) he called out "enjoy the game Jordan!" The views, rooms and restaurants were also fabulous. The Trump Chicago has ruined us...nothing will ever compare!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cjay0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. Thank you for your kind appraisal and recognition of our team's efforts to make you feel welcome and ensure your needs are met. I also appreciate your positive feedback of the views, rooms and restaurants; I am pleased you shared your positive experience.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Excellent stay as usual. Faultless. Exceptionally well placed hotel in Chicago, very pleasant and helpful staff, bedrooms and interior of hotel immaculate. Bathroom spotless, kitchen well designed and presented.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captainatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for your loyalty to our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to share on Trip Advisor that your last stay was excellent and for noting you found our team to be pleasant and helpful. We look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Green Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing