We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Nearby Hotels
US$645
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$614
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$452
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$664
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$771
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$711
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$665
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
River Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$624
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$583
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$681
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$614
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$626
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$727
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$692
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$832
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,419)
Filter reviews
1,419 results
Traveller rating
896
393
67
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
393
67
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast hostessgreat locationthe breakfast areafull kitchenriver northevery morningfree breakfastwithin walking distancebedroom suitepool and hot tubhot breakfastparking garagethe sofa bedtop floorhouse of bluesstreet levelyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,108 - 1,113 of 1,419 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Price value of this place is right on. Impeccable service throughout and the location is perfect to enjoy Chicago. Most must to do's are in walking distance. The rooms are very comfortable with a little kitchen attached. Nice breakfast bar and lots of personal attention by Ismetha. They have social hour weekday's serving free food and drinks. The entire staff makes you feel very special and they will go the extra mile for you. Very well managed place. If we come back, this is the only place we will stay, period!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icheckeditout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Icheckeditout-

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and our staff. We strive to make each guest feel as comfortable as possible throughout their stay. I am so happy you and your family had an enjoyable trip. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

It took so many hours choose hotel in Chicago. But we couldn't choose better. If you look hotels in Chicago, take this and you will have great hotel stay.
The front desk was always friendly and helpful. And the hostess, she is amazing.
The breakfast have plenty of items and it was very tasty...
Our room was very clean, having much space.
There was also large refrigerator.
Location just great!
We would definitely choose this hotel if we are coming back to Chicago again!
Stayed for 5 nights from 25 October. Certainly recommend :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katinka1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Katinka1975-

Thank you so much for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor Page. I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities, such as the complimentary breakfast, kitchenette units in the rooms, and our location. We hope to see you again in Chicago

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights from 24 October. Couldn't fault it. Had a one bedroom suite on 15th floor. None of problems others may have mentioned, wifi was excellent and free, lifts fast and as we were high up our situation was above the parking garage so had a reasonable view. This was the fifth Marriott we have stayed in over the last five weeks of a 12 destination trip in USA: three Courtyards and two Residences! Overall prefer the Residences as they give you the option to prepare meals which is something of a change when you're travelling around a lot. The weekday evening reception is very good and if you don't want to eat out or cook a meal, provides sufficient food for a meal. (In other hotels they just tend to provide snacks or canapes with drinks, this was so much more. ) We tended just to have a drink as being vegetarian there was little for us to eat, but this is not unusual. This Residence is very comfortable, clean, and welcoming and in its design and layout fully met our needs. All staff were lovely and seemed to genuinely want to help/make our stay as pleasant as possible. We were able to walk everywhere (though we did get one day passes for the EL we hardly used it as it was often easier to walk. Very convenient for Michigan Avenue. A number of hotels we have stayed in on this trip have been more expensive and grander to the point of being pretentious. Nothing like this here: excellent value for money and certainly recommend.

Room Tip: higher floor for better view: lifts are fast so no problem there.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

MargaretJay-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page! I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and throughout your time in Chicago. It sounds like you and your husband are quite the experienced traveler, being on the road for 5 weeks in 12 cities! Thank you for sharing your experience with others and we hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I had the pleasure to stay at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North during my recent trip to run the Chicago 2011 Marathon, my first marathon. Since me and my family checked in, we felt at home, and it was so important to feel that way, in order to get ready for the big event...running my first marathon.

Breakfast was great...the hostess ...even better..that woman really likes her job, and treated all runners, every mornig life if we were kings and queens...On the running day, breakfast was ready at 5 am, one hour earlier...so we could all could have proper food before the race.

Another great amenity was the evening happy hour...great food, and beverages for all the hotel guestss..that is really awesome, and difficult to find in that sort of hotels...

I will certainly will come back and I am recomending it to some friends who are traveling to Chicago ...soon.

Room Tip: 26 floor rooms have an excellent view...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcela956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Marcela956-

Congratulations on your first marathon! That is such an accomplishment, and I am happy to know that our staff assisted you. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff, we look forward to seeing you again for the marathon next year.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

No wireless Internet connection but a very comfortable suite and breakfast restaurant. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Good spot in Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Acoulter-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page. I would like to take this opportunity to tell you that our hotel has wireless internet connection throughout the entire hotel. There is a log-on system, which can be confusing, however are staff is available and more then willing to help! I do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again so you can try out our internet.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews