We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #59 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The locaton of this hotel is perfect for a family vacation in Chicago. Parking is expensive (but no more so thany any other hotel in the city) so if you can leave your car at home, you won't need it anyway. CTA (Chicago public transit) is efficient and will take you just about anywhere from quite nearby. Red line trains from State street and Brown/Purple lines from Merchandise Mart are all less than a 5 minute walk. Bus stops for many attractions are also close by, (Museum campus bus south of the river on State, Lincoln park one block east of the hotel on Clark.) Be sure to download a PDF map from CTA to your mobile device and you can find a route just about anythere. I wish every city could figure out how to develop this great transit map.

Room prices are a good value for a downtown Chicago property, and you do get some extras for your dollar. A good breakfast (and light dinners weekdays) as well as a full kitchen in each room. These are great for the traverer on a budget, grocery stores are within a 5 minute walk and you can save on dining out for some meals. Rooms are spacious and our family of three had plenty of room in a one bedroom with a pullout couch in the living area.

The property is well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Doug C,

Thank you for such a great review! Chicago's transportation is so convenient and very close to the hotel. The full kitchens in the rooms are a plus and you're right there are many close by grocery stores. The hotel also offers complimentary grocery shopping for our guests, so while your out during the day enjoying the city we will do the shopping for you! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again during your next trip to The Windy City.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel is quite pricey, but for downtown Chicago, it seems to be the norm. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the Bosnian breakfast lady! This lady is a hoot. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice and changed every day. The daily happy hour with free beer/wine and snacks was a very welcome touch after a long day of walking around Chicago in the heat.

Location was quite good, with several decent restaurants within 5 mins walk and many other Chicago attractions nearby. At $40/day parking was very expensive, but again I think this is the norm in downtown Chicago.

I would recommend this hotel for business or a family vacation if you want a good location downtown.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank CanuckFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

CanuckFamilyOfFour,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting in TripAdvisor. We're so happy that you enjoyed our staff, it is our goal to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel. Our manager's reception, where the wine, beer and food are served Monday thru Thursday, is the perfect time for relaxation and a great time to interact with other guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel to others and we hope to see you again!

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Location was good..hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good , but the main woman at the breakfast room, well...yes, she was friendly, but she definitely picked the people she wanted to be friendly with.. may be the color of the skin made a difference or may be the green bucks that she got..not sure...We were there for three days, but not once she spoke with us or my kids, or asked us if we needed anything..i saw her going around speaking to "colored white folks"... very sweet..yes..agree...very very sweet..but so racial !!! Ofcourse didn't bring our vacation crashing, but definitely noticed the treatment.
You don't such staff or she needs to treat everyone the same !!!! everyone at your front desk were just wonderful.
Otherwise, the hotel was good and perfect location.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Matty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMasters-GSM, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Matty C-

Thank you for your feedback. The breakfast attendant to whom you are referring is indeed very sweet and makes a special effort to greet and take special care of as many people as she possibly can. Numerous comments and letters of praise reflect that. The position is not a gratuity based position and therefore that does not drive her actions. I have worked with this person for a long time now and I can assure you that race or national origin also does not determine who she engages with. I personally witness her kind approach towards everyone with no special consideration.

Whether it was due to high volume or other individuals with special needs I am sorry that you were left with this inaccurate impression.

Sincerely,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Residence Inn Chicago River North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The staff was very friendly! The service was outstanding. Property is not new, but well maintained. Parking is convenient and the bell staff downstairs ... awesome! I will stay here again. The location is very convenient to restaraunts and attractions.

Room Tip: Only negative was the mattress. Not as firm as other hotels (even Marriott properties).
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fernsandflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

fernandflowers,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel and we are so happy that our bell staff expressed that to you. We will see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My first time in Chicago,, I couldn't picked a better hotel.... Great location ... Just a short distance (even walking ) of Chicago's main attractions; millennium park, navy pier, Michigan ave, lake shore, ... A full variety of bars and restaurants around the hotel.... Free delicious breakfast in the morning .... A shout out to those ladies in the kitchen.... Always making us comfortable and asking if we were ok or needed something !!!! I had a late departure (8pm) back to LA.... check out was at 12pm... But they took care of my luggage till I departed to the airport....at no cost..... Little things like this one make u go back to a hotel over, over..... Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincent32313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

vincent I,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your first trip to the city! Chicago has so many amazing attractions, and it sounds like you were able to experience a few of those. The location of the hotel is perfect for those who really want to take advantage of all that Chicago has to offer. Thank you for your post on tripadvisor and for your kind words about our breakfast staff. We can't wait to see you again on your next trip to the Windy City!

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our corner studio on the 9th floor provided a wonderful view of several surrounding streets, and the large windows made the large room feel even bigger.
Checkin was quick & friendly, and she gave us a good suggestion for lunch, "The Rocket" just a block away (highly recommend it for lunch or a less formal dinner; Monday is 1/2 price beer and wine day).
Location is very convenient to the Institute of Art and the River.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkCityTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

NewYorkCityTrekker,

Thank you for your recent stay at Residence Inn in Downtown Chicago River North. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and the views! The location of our hotel is a huge perk. We are close to so many great restaurants, like “The Rocket”, and other main attractions in the city. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our great location during your stay in Chicago; we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I would just like to recognize a wonderful employee named Ismeta who works in the breakfast room. She is the friendliest and most welcoming person I have ever encountered at a hotel. She makes you feel like family, and that truly means a lot. She not only welcomed us to breakfast each morning, but she even remembered details, such as what type of yogurt (etc) I like. She took great care of us during our stay. I cannot state enough how wonderful she is. She really made our stay a good one...despite the fact that our room wasn't ready when we checked in (and that was even at 4:30pm and check in was supposed to be at 3pm!!). At the time, I was quite mad because of this, and I would probably have chosen another hotel if it weren't for Ismeta...I can honestly say that when I am in Chicago next time, I will definitely stay here again---and it is because of Ismeta!!

As far as the room itself, we stayed in a two room suite, and it was plenty of room for 4 adults and two infants. Having a full kitchen is really nice when traveling with an infant.
In addition, the hotel is in a really good location and close to many great restaurants. There was always a line for the elevators, though...and that got a little old after a while.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluecrewgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Bluecrewgirl,

Thank you for your amazing post on tripadvisor! We love to hear how our amazing staff made your stay more enjoyable. Ismeta is a great asset to our hotel, she makes everyone feel like family. I am sorry to hear that your room was not ready on time, but glad that our staff was able to ease your troubles. We cannot wait to see you again on your next trip to Chicago.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £104 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing