We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #56 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
McKees Rocks, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location Great Place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was very nice. The free hot breakfast buffet is outstanding. the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. And they rooms were clean and comfortable. Also has nice indoor pool and hot tub and a indoor gym with weights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spar10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do have a wonderful location and a staff to match! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    342
    65
    37
    18
See reviews for
465
233
39
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and overall, found the hotel to be good. We had 3 adults in our party and while we tried to book a 2 bedroom suite, they only had a one bedroom suite with a sofa sleeper available. Granted, we knew going in that the sofa sleeper wasn't going to be exactly plush but didn't expect it to be so uncomfortable. You could clearly feel the middle bar through the thin mattress so it was pretty bad to sleep on. It certainly wasn't a deal breaker but it's worth pointing out that if an adult plans on sleeping on the sofa sleeper, they better bring some Advil for their back the next day. My only other "negative" is that the bathroom is off of the bedroom so if anyone needs to use it, you need to walk through the bedroom as there is no access off of the living room. It wasn't a biggie but if 3 adults are staying in the room together, the person who's stuck on the sofa will need to open the bedroom door and walk past the bed to get to the bathroom.

Other than these minor inconveniences, the hotel and rooms were very clean and the staff was excellent. There was one particular worker in the breakfast area (I didn't catch her name) who was very friendly and greeted everyone who came down for breakfast. She was a real bright spot. The breakfast itself was nice and there were plenty of places to sit.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a good hotel within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile and other attractions. I would definitely recommend a 2-bedroom suite if you have more than 2 adults in your party.

Room Tip: If you're an adult, try and avoid sleeping on the sofa sleeper (or plan on a sore back the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorn054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for the nice review during your stay here. I do apologize the sofa sleeper was not a good experience for you. We do have additional foam toppers on hand, for request, as these can certainly help if you need more cushion. Thank you again and we hope to have you back at the hotel!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here in late July with my husband and 10 year old son for 5 nights. I stay in Residence Inns often for work and this hotel is run very well. Breakfast is the standard fare with a good bit of variety for families, including healthy options and indulgent ones. The woman in charge is very friendly and the 3rd floor views are a great people watching spot to start your day.

We had a studio on the 24th floor with a view of the west. Western views are still pretty interesting because of several rooftop pools, decks, and tennis courts from adjacent condo buildings.

The area is very accessible to bus and train stops. The area is safe and populated in the evenings. Food is expensive in the immediate area -- $12-$17 sandwiches abound. Hub 51 is the restaurant attached to the hotel and they provide room service to the hotel. We went there in person to eat lunch when we first got there. Service and food were good, but the menu is limited and prices are high. The hotel will deliver groceries for free - I recommend doing this if you are on a family vacation. It was simple and we saved a lot of money ($12 burgers add up!) We tried ordering pizza the first night, but it was about an hour late. I don't think they are equipped to deliver to hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel will hold your bags until check-in if you want to explore. There is a run on the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the very nice 5-Star review! I am so glad you had a great experience at our hotel. We hope to have you back at our hotel the next time you are visiting downtown Chicago!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed there June 21-23, 2014 (sorry a little late). The front desk staff was all very professional. The bellmen staff was always on the ball. The breakfast with a fantastic host was always a hit. Close to everything so you could walk. If needed assistance everyone (even Management) was very friendly. I hope to stay there again sometime.
Daron V

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beek20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for this extremely nice review! I am so glad our team made a great impression during your stay. We also hope to have you back at the hotel! Thank you and we look forward to your next stay!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Might be a long review, but well worth the read....

We recently stayed here on July 20th – July 22nd. I chose this hotel after reading all the GREAT reviews and suggestions from others on picking rooms. I followed the advice and chose a room above the 20th floor. I purchased the room/parking package. I saved about $12 a day on parking. Hotel was very easy to find and the rooms were very clean. Here’s why I give this place 5 stars. The HOTEL Staff. Upon arrival, Tamela (hope I spelled your name right) was soo helpful. I had asked for corner room earlier during the reservation process but was told it was a possibility. Tamela told me that there were none available but they had 2 diff rooms with great views. She took me up to both and let me choose which room I wanted. She went the extra mile and the smile on her face told me she loved what she did. I applaud her on great customer service. The next morning, I couldn’t wait to meet Ismeta during breakfast. I felt like I was meeting a celebrity after all the great reviews I read about her. Boy did she ever live up to the reviews. She was so darn nice and I swear she made you feel like the only one there despite the numerous other guests she was helping. I kept telling my wife, “that’s Ismeta I was telling you about in all the reviews”. We were bummed that she was not there on our 2nd day for breakfast. Breakfast was awesome. Hot foods, waffles, cereals, drinks, etc… Next was the 6p-730p Light Dinner, that’s when we met Sanli. Sanli was soo nice and helpful as well. That night the light dinner consisted of spaghetti, salad, desserts, beer and wine. We didn’t need to eat out that night because we were so full from that “light dinner”. Sanli made us feel so special too and made sure our drinks were full and that we tried the numerous delicious desserts.

The rooms are up to date, very clean, and smelled nice. We faced Dearborn St. and could see the John Hancock building from our room (21st floor). The pool was on the 27th floor, and the kids loved the fact that there was a pool. The only thing I noticed about the pool was that it felt as if the pool liner was not secure, so you were stepping on it and could feel it squish down. It didn’t seem to bother the kids at all and I only swam for a bit anyway. Tons of seating for adults around the pool. There is a small hot tub with room for about 4-6 adults. The view from the pool is nice as it’s on a corner facing Dearborn and Kinzie St. There is a nice workout room too. About 4-6 treadmills, free weights and other aerobic type machines. Every staff member we encountered was so nice and wished us a good trip. For the location, the price wasn’t bad. Navy Pier, John Hancock Building are about 1 mile from hotel. Giordano’s Pizza ( see my review on that) is about ¾ of a mile on Rush St. Starbucks about 1 block on Clark St. When we go back, we will stay here for sure. Very clean hotel, and did I mention a very friendly staff as Tamela, Ismeta and Sanli were the ones that left an impressive impression on me.
Free wifi too.

Room Tip: Choose a room on 20th floor or higher for views. Corner room if possible. Face Dear born or Kinzie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for this AMAZING review! I am so happy to hear our associates made a major impression during your stay. The reviews I read that mention our associates always puts a huge smile on my face because it shows the impact they make on our guest's stay. I have already forwarded your wonderful comments to our above property leaders so they can recognize the wonderful job our team did during your stay! Thank you again and we hope we get to see you again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here with family for a 5 day Chicago vacation. We were greeted by very friendly staff. Upon check in we were upgraded to a room with a kitchen (refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher with dishes). Loved the extra space (since there were 3 of us) although we did not use the kitchen I imagine it would be great if you were there on business. The window in our room faced the parking garage (as in people in the garage could see into our room) but this wasn't an issue for us as we were not in the room much and shut the curtains when we were. We did not hear any of the cars in the garage when we were there. The first thing I noticed was how friendly and happy the staff were. If you happened to run into one of them in the halls or on the elevator they would greet you and smile-everyday, every one of them. Unfortunately after we returned to our room after being out one day we realized the bathroom had flooded. The staff responded immediately. We didn't want to pack everything up to change rooms so they cleaned the room. I have never seen so many staff members in our room immediately cleaning to make things right. You would have thought we were related to the President with the attention we got. Free internet and complementary breakfast with hot food that is actually hot. Perfect location to most everything and within walking distance to many of the great places to eat. Museum area may be a little long to walk but one of the stops for the hop on/off buses is just around the corner. Will definitely stay at this place next time in Chicago. The hotel is located close to a fire station. I didn't notice this until I was out walking one day. I never noticed the noise from the alarms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the very nice 4-Star review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here during my visit to Chicago.
I arrived late due to a delayed flight and Antonio at the front desk was a delight to deal with.
Situated in walking distance to all the local attractions I didnt need to drive. I left my car in the lot for the duration of my stay.
The room were a tad small but the location more than made up of it.
The staff was extremely friendly and always said hello.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gbaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-Star review!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing