We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #58 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Hotel was in great location for both shopping, lake walking and viewing architecture. We loved having the kitchen facilities and would plan to use them more in the future particularly as a useful supermarket was just beside the hotel and it gives you a good excuse to go to Charlie Trotters to Go ! Staff were great, friendly and helpful and the breakfast, although simple, was just what we needed to get our day off to a good start. This was our first stay in a Suite hotel and we plan to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emptynestdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    340
    64
    36
    18
See reviews for
462
230
38
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Mi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of rooms for the price we paid. The suite was amazing, we upgraded to a corner suite for $10 more at check-in. My children were absolutely fascinated by the view, and the floor to ceiling windows, so we spent a large portion of our time in the room with the curtains open so they could look out.

The staff were very friendly, especially the folks at the breakfast buffet.. The manager came around with little prizes for the kids and we were treated as if we paid a lot more for the room!

Breakfast was a treat, waffles, and all the fixin's and then the complimentary dinner in the lobby was a very nice touch as well.

We used the pool and although it was a bit small, it was perfect for a bit of relaxing. The hotel is within walking distance of some very nice resturants and millenium park (and also some not-so-nice places, but it's a big city, that's to be expected!).

The next time we head to Chicago, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

My wife and I checked in for a weekend with our two sons. Laura at the front desk had put us on the same floor as our friends. Throughout the weekend, she greeted me by name and remembered my room number even though the hotel was busy. We were extremely impressed. The breakfast area was well run as well. The attendant, whose name escapes me, but who was originally from Bosnia, was extreme friendly and thoughtful. It was a great experience at a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Very friendly, helpful staff. The woman helping with the Saturday breakfast buffet was phenomenal - extremely busy but she personally thanked everyone she met for "staying at our Residence Inn". She worked harder than any waitress I've seen, yet probably rarely gets tips. We tipped her - I hope others will remember to do this too, those folks certainly deserve it.

Do NOT get this hotel with PriceLine. They quoted one rate on the internet and when we called them 2 minutes later, they jacked that rate up by $40.00. Do not use them!

Valet parking expensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeliMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

I travel a lot for business and this hotel works for ANYBODY!!! It is centrally located near great restaurants, places of interest, and ALL types of stores... nothing is far from the hotel...

The staff is great from the manager to the cleaning staff... a well-run hotel at a VERY reasonable cost...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YardApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
little rock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in mid-august. The hotel stay was excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location cannot be beat. I didn't think the kitchenette would be very useful but really enjoyed the convenience of a refrigerator and small kitchen in the suite. I've stayed in about 10 hotels in the downtown chicago area over the last few years and this was by far the best (especially considering the reasonable rates).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjohnsonLittleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Great hotel. Big rooms, We had two different ones, One "normal room" but this was huge too, see photos. Kitchen corner with all you needed if you want to make some food and dishwasher too. Sleeping sofa and sitting area, but very close to the bed so no room for privacy!
Also booked a junior suite - came with king bed and a sleeping sofa in the other room. Door between them. Had a full size kitchen with sitting area. Great when traveling with teenagers. TV in both rooms.
Lots of towels and every thing was very clean, new and fresh.
Maid service was good, did all the kitchen work :-)
Breakfast was good, tend to be a bit crowded towards the end of serving time. Good idea to arrive in time! We liked the hot oatmeal with cranberries, almonds.... healthy and nice! You could also have eggs, potatoes, waffle, - all the normal stuff.
The Breakfast maid, Ismeta was a daily joy, always smiling, helping and looked after everything. She managed to made every problem disappear and helped everyone. Generally that was our impression of all the staff, very attentive, smiling and willing to help.
Gym was nice, good size.
Pool also, with a great view!
Easy walking to the magnificent mile, to downtown - sort of in between what you want to see. Several restaurants around the corners.
Don't miss Rock Bottom, a brewery with good food and lots of local beers.
Cabs are easy and cheap and will save your feet from some long distance walking! About $ 22 to the science and industry museum, which is far away but a great museum!
Zoo is free and good. Our favorite was the Millennium Park, lots of fun there and totally free!
If we goo back we will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing