We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wicker Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wicker Park Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our first trip to Chicago, and although we were going to hit all the tourist spots, we didn't want to stay in tourist-central downtown. We picked this place mainly for its location, but it was a really great decision. We were in the Garden Apartment, just across the road from the Inn. Laura was waiting for us and was super friendly, even though we were about 3 hours later than expected (late flight and the horrors of immigration at O'Hare!) The apartment was great. Really comfy beds, TV, plenty of storage and really good bathroom. We didn't use the kitchen, but it was fully equipped, so would be perfect if you did want to cook. Although, if you're staying in Wicker Park, seriously you need to be eating out! Some people queried why we were staying there, but we would really recommend it. Really easy to get to from the airport and into the city centre, but feels like a million miles from both. Packed with ridiculously good restaurants, fun bars and tempting shops, it's a fantastic place to base yourself for exploring Chicago.

Room Tip: The apartment doesn't include breakfast, so great if you want to explore Wicker Park's many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    85
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
87
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in this Inn because it was located near family we were visiting. We were a little concerned about the location near the elevated subway but found that even our room which was closest to the tracks was much quieter than expected. No problem sleeping. The room was a good size, the staff was very helpful and a nice breakfast selection was provided. Parking is a little tight but we were able to find spots in front of the building and the management provides permits. It is a great area with lots of interesting restaurants and convenient to the subway. A great place to stay in an interesting neighborhood

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

There is a lot to like about this inn. First and foremost, the staff. Super friendly and accommodating. They helped with early check-in, finding parking, giving restaurant and transportation tips. The location is great - right between 2 'L' stops steps from lively, funky N. Milwaukee Ave. Breakfast is continental and by no means elaborate. It does the job with fresh fruit, pastries, cold cereal and yogurt. Maybe a bagel, if the expiration date isn't scary. We had the Tuscan Room. The private entrance was nice and the adjacent courtyard was a great place for coffee and answering emails. The brick wall and ceiling fan gave the room a nice ambience. Don't worry about the close proximity of the 'L' tracks - the sound was no louder than a toilet flushing in another room. Comfortable bed. Only one very small window. There was one tall dresser that held the tv. No shelf in the bathroom. No vanity. No place to spread out your stuff. The dresser was of a seriously low-quality variety. Really not in line with the price point of the inn. Other furnishings - lamps and such - were cheap, too. I am hopeful that these things will be upgraded over time. This is really a great place overall, and I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. The rooms are all so special with various artsy furniture pieces and neat bedding. I especially liked the facial wipes they have available on the sink, so as not to stain the towels! As a woman who wears make up, I thought this an extra special touch. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and there are even snack bars and pretzels to take away with you during the day. The manager, Robin, was very helpful and even emailed me several days later to let me know I'd left some items in the closet and ask how she could get them to me. Now that is service!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location, the best staff, need I say more? I guess so since you need 200 characters to leave a review. The staff made the stay. I forgot her name, but the manager was absolutely wonderful. I'm done now.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twellens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were hoping for a fun experience in Chicago and were pleasantly surprised by many elements in our stay at the Wicker Park Inn. Starting with the FREE PARKING on the curbside right outside of the Inn, to Robin's spunky personality and very helpful hints (where to get on the train, which buses to take, where to get a good hot dog) to the wonderful room accommodations, we were very happy. We'll definitely recommend the Inn to our friends as they chose to travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank philandjudyniemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved staying at the Wicker Park Inn. We had a kitchenette, so we didn't have the breakfast. Free parking was awesome! No complaints at all! It was a convenient location, close to blue line, safe, quiet neighborhood. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#92 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Northwest Side
Holiday Jones
Holiday Jones
#1 of 57 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicker Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Park Inn

Property: Wicker Park Inn
Address: 1329 N Wicker Park Ave, Chicago, IL 60622-3107
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Town , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wicker Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wicker Park Inn is a Chicago Bed and Breakfast offering high quality yet affordable Chicago accommodations in a "trendy" neighborhood full of great restaurants, vintage and boutique shops, art galleries, cafes and nightlife. Each morning guests are greeted with pastries, rich coffee, fresh fruit and other breakfast goodies.Enjoy a Chicago hotel experience in this modern Chicago B&B. Each guestroom has a private bathroom, 300+ thread count sheets, satellite TV, wireless internet access and free parking. We're just minutes away from downtown Chicago, where you can enjoy Chicago attractions such as the Magnificent Mile, the Art Institute, Chicago Theaters, and Chicago Museums. With the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home, the Wicker Park Inn Bed and Breakfast is a rewarding lodging alternative to a downtown Chicago hotel. Take advantage of 1-night minimum stay requirements Sunday- Thursday until September 30th, 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wicker Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Park Bed Breakfast
Wicker Park Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing