We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our itinerary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband I spent last weekend in Chicago with plans to go to Wrigley Field. This hotel was the perfect spot, easy access from the red line and within walking distance of the ballpark. The per night rate was a bit $$ but it seems that's the norm for Chicago. I didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast, my husband did and he seemed to think it was good. We ate breakfast across the street at Ann Sather's Restaurant, homemade cinammon rolls that are off the chart delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for writing a review concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

OK, this hotel is way over priced and the rooms are outdated and small. But the location is excellent and the staff is delightful. The housekeeper went out of her way to make sure we could find what we needed. I tipped her 20 bucks! I think the rooms are less expensive on other weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My first visit at the Hawthorne Terrace was wonderful--I have stayed in different Chicago hotels downtown on/near Michigan Avenue or by O'hare but have not considered this neighborhood before. Walking from the Wrigley Field L platform, this hotel was about eight blocks east and five blocks south (real blocks--if you want "Chicago blocks", divide by four).

The hotel has contemporary, well cared-for rooms that are space-efficient with a desk, king size bed, wall-mount nighstands, closet w/ safe, and TV with credenza, rooms have windows that often face the adjacent building. Bathrooms are modern and feature stone countertops, in-mirror lighting, and a shower/tub combination. The lobby and breakfast area are small but well suited for an inn of this size and meet the expectations of a value-priced stay.

The fitness room and spa/sauna is a recent rennovation and in wonderful condition--perfect to unwind in and all equipment seemed a premium to what is found in most hotels. The jets in the whirlpool are amazing--bring your swimsuit.

Staff are knowledgable of the area, transporatation, and attractions. The desk staff on duty in the evening had first-hand knowledge of the restaurants that lined Broadway as well as Halstead. The inn is in a commercial street but abuts a residential neighborhood in a part of Chicago renown for its hospitality and gay/lesbian nightlife. The adjacent parking ramp is owned by a seperate entity and not in the best shape but this location is so convenient to mass transit, it would be foolish to bring a vehicle unless you had to. Grocery, dining, nightlife, transit, and entertainment all in a short walk.

Likes: free breakfast, modern furnishings, spa/sauna/fitness room, location, staff, and quiet.
Dislikes: breakfast area is small.

Room Tip: Side rooms don't have a view but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelGuyMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary last year and we got a king suite that we loved! We stayed again this year and apparently only booked a king room not a suite. The per night rate was more expensive this year even though the room was NOT a suite. We tried to upgrade and they were full. The regular king room was small and the bathroom was tiny. We had an alley view (not romantic) and got woken up by people across the alley at 2am. If you can get a suite I would definitely recommend staying here. It's very close to Wrigley Field and across the street from Ann Sather Restaurant - Great location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlyweds53108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My stay at the Best Western Hawthorne Terrace in Chicago was the best hotel experience I have ever had. From the moment I walked in the door to check in until the moment I Ieft: I had service beyond my expectations. From the manager to the employee setting up the continental breakfast, I could not expect any better service. The hotel and rooms were beautiful. Every aspect of the rooms from the hardwood floors to the great walk in rain showers.
I look forward to my next stay at this hotel and won't stay anywhere else in Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Location and building is beautiful. Things ran smoothly, or the staff jumped in and made it right in a heartbeat. Always welcomed with genuine concern for our happiness...great to feel like an establishment actually appreciates your patronage. And, we can't say enough about the Ann Sather's cinnamon roles (a local pastry shop provides the free breakfast munchies...a local treasure!).

Thanks for the great stay. Can't wait to come back & visit Chicago, again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank AH-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434.


Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#59 of 192 in Chicago
806 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 192 in Chicago
525 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#79 of 192 in Chicago
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 192 in Chicago
232 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Address: 3434 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £101 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Hawthorne Terrace, you become a part of an amazing community - a community with great heart, culture and a passion for diverse experiences, all nestled in the vibrant Lakeview East neighborhood of Chicago. Whether you seek adventurous dining, a vigorous run along Chicago's lake shore, one-of-a-kind boutique shops, a late night club scene, or coffee and a quiet evening stroll, Hawthorne Terrace is your threshold to this extraordinary community where we encourage you to Live. Play. Stay. Like a Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing