We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Socca - CLOSED

Socca
Price range: US$29 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Lakeview
Cross street: School/Aldine
Transit: Within a block of Clark, Belmont, and Halsted bus routes. One block from Red, Brown, and Purple lines.
Omaha
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Chicago is full of great restaurants and Socca is one of the best. Intimate atmosphere and amazing food. Our waiter knew the menu and made excellent suggestions for appetizers, entrees, and dessert.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingpr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
273 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great meal and great service...”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had a large group (30) here for dinner on a saturday night and the service and the food were fantastic. The appetizers were very good...the pizzas...especially the funghi/goat cheese and the one that had shrimp--several of us had the filet wrapped in bacon and some had the smoked ribeye. I tasted both and the red wine/marrow reduction along with perfectly cooked steaks made it a meal to remember.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Neighborhood”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I have been dining at Socca at least three times per month for the past several months, so I figured it was time to update my review. Chicago is a mecca for great restaurants and Socca is one of the hidden gems. IMHO it is the best restaurant in Lakeview and one of the top venues in all of Chicago at it's price point.

There is lots to love about Socca. Chicago has so many outstanding restaurants that great food alone is not enough. From our first time dining here we were thrilled with the friendliness of the staff. Sam (our regular server) is one of the best in the business, the Chef/Owner (Roger) is extremely visible and often mingles with patrons, the bartenders (Paige and Gina) are outstanding and the general manager (Mike) is really nice as well. While we were treated great on our very first visit, Socca has a nice neighborhood vibe and it is such a pleasant and comfortable venue to dine at regularly.

Another amazing aspect of Socca is the diversity of their menu. Their regular menu changes with the seasons which adds both variety as well as enhances the quality of the food by utilizing fresh ingredients. Much of the food is locally sourced. The menu is large enough that there is something for everybody but small enough to be focused. Additionally every night there is often three specials including one featuring house made pasta, an Allen Brother's prime steak and a fish. Even though I have dined here well over a dozen times, I have never repeated an entree as there is so many awesome foods to try! The desserts are delicious here as well. My favorite on the current menu is a deconstructed PB&J featuring croissant bread pudding, grape sorbet as the jelly, peanut butter gelato drizzled with some local honey from Green Acres Farm.

In addition to their regular menu and nightly specials, Socca also offers lots of fun events. On Wednesdays Chef Roger offers a Market Dinner where he has a special three course prix fixe utilizing items he selects that day at the Green City Market (tonight the entree was a sweet corn risotto with large chunks of Maine lobster, heirloom tomatoes and jalapeno bacon;' it was phenomenal) ! Once a month they do a special $10 entree night such as Maine lobsters that they fly in live. On Monday nights you are permitted to BYOB for no corkage. Weeknights at the bar you can enjoy $5 pizettes from 5pm-7pm and these are outstanding! I love the one that has spigarello, bacon and truffled Parmesan cheese. The food is always perfectly prepared, portions are generous, nice accompaniments and service is consistently friendly and attentive.

Socca also has a great ambiance. It is both elegant and relaxed. It is very versatile in that you can have a romantic date night here, dinner with a group of friends or simply opt to have a great dinner on the spur of the moment. There is a nice little outdoor patio for the evenings where the Chicago weather cooperates and large windows for nice people watching if you dine indoors. The bar area is very comfortable if you just want some cocktails and bites, or you can order off the full menu there as well if you are in the mood for a more casual meal. Socca also offers a nice, creative brunch menu on weekends (with some interesting choices such as duroc pork belly hash or bananas foster French toast). Good coffee and a nice list of adult beverages available at brunch to boot. I highly recommend Socca; we have brought numerous friends and family members here with a broad range of culinary tastes (including a very picky mother-in-law) and everybody has raved about their experience. Socca truly deserves Bib Gourmand recognition from Michelin this November!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabcomdr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new milford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in chicago”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We visit Chicago 4 times a year and seek the best food.
This is the place with great food,reasonable prices, and
Excellent service. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Find”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Located on a busy street in Lakeview, mixed retail and restaurants, this is a quiet oasis. Wine list by the glass has more than the standard listings. Menu has choices for all, including a vegan pizzette choice. Rabbit risotto is great choice for fall and winter, perfectly seasoned and nice proportion of rice to rabbit. Very friendly wait staff. Within easy walking distance to Wit Theater. Good choice for pre-theater bite. Will go back to try some ofthe interesting appetizer dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing