We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, historic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #38 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic hotel!”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed 1 night in the Blackstone. We chose the hotel because of the close proximity to the Auditorium Theatre where we were attending a Christmas show. We were very pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the hotel was upon entering the lobby. Our check in was quick and easy, the staff friendly and accommodating. We had a room with 2 queen beds on the 18th floor with a stunning view of Lake Michigan and Grant's Park. The room was large, beautifully decorated and very modern, yet still had the look of a lovely historic hotel. The beds were very comfortable, we all slept wonderfully. The bathroom was spacious and and nicely decorated as well, all very modern and sleek with lots of marble. This room far exceeded our expectations and we will definitely return to this hotel for future overnight excursions in the city. As mentioned in other reviews, parking was pricey at $53 a night, but that is pretty standard in the city. No way to get around that, except to take the train in.

Room Tip: Lake View offers a beautiful view of Lake Michigan and Grant's Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    559
    130
    41
    26
See reviews for
305
546
113
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here for 1 night while in town for business. I had never stayed at this property and considered it to be a little off of the beaten path from my usual preference of the River North area. Directly across from Grant Park and across the street from the Hilton, there is not alot of restaurants or entertainment - so a for sure cab ride to livelier spots in the city. However, the room was quite lovely. This is a historic hotel. My room faced the lake, it was spacious, extremely clean, and lovely. The bath had been updated - and had the usual array of Aveda products available for use. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I ate in the restaurant, a tapas restaurant, which was absolutely wonderful, with an excellent wine menu and recommendations made by very knowledgeable employees. A Starbucks is also attached, which comes in handy. Concierge lounge was nice, and had a nice array of breakfast as well as evening snacks. All valet parking in Chicago is expensive, this no exception. However, the Hilton directly across the street has safe self parking. Overall, I would stay here again, location aside.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife and I always spend an evening in Chicago to celebrate our anniversary. This year we chose the Blackstone. Very unimpressed. The service was adequate. The front desk clerk never said hello or asked how we were doing upon check-in. It almost seemed as if we caught her right before a break. We asked if our room was a lake view. She said we could upgrade for an extra $40. I suppose the room went un-used for the evening. Would have been nice to get the up- grade, but still had a nice view of the Willis Tower and Harold's Chicken Shack. Was actually quite loud, could here the "L" and emergency vehicles all night. The bed was ok- the pillows were horrible, too big and hard. The room was nothing special. Bathroom ser up kind of strange with slider door and no door on shower. Made for a chilly shower.

Probably will choose somewhere different next time, but I suppose for the price and location it served the purpose.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAYTON34ILLINOIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear PAYTON34ILLINOIS,
Greetings from the Blackstone Renaissance! Thank you for choose our historic location for your anniversary stay and thank you for the feedback. We take customer comments very seriously and hope you will contact me personally so that we may work with you in the future. I can be reached at (312) 447-0955.
Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We had an amazing stay at the Blackstone. Our room was very romantic with an amazing view. The location and restaurant are very good. My only suggestion is that they should offer more training to the staff. Everyone except the managers seems a little lost. We had a minor situation with our bill during checkout, and there was no manager available until 6pm.

Room Tip: High floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RP1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear RP,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. The Blackstone offers a romantic getaway for any couple with beautiful views of the park and lake. Each room sets a scene for guests to enjoy the stay they desire. We are sorry about the confusion at checkout; we appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our service in the future. Please feel free to contact me the next time you are in Chicago.
Sincerely,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Valley IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night while in Chicago for a concert. We were able to get a great rate through priceline.com at the Blackstone. Parking is a little pricey at over $50 per night for a valet so we parked across the street in the Grant park south lot for $29. The rooms were very nice and modern. Looks like they were freshly redone. Check in was great and the person was very knowledgeable and had the personality to want to take care of any question you may have. I don't have any complaints but if there was one thing that could have been better were the towels in the room. For a higher end hotel, the towels were not soft and very thin. Other than that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Markmoose1,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. We re-opened in 2008 and all our rooms were renovated to provide our guests with a chic look while keeping our fascinating history intact. Our parking is comparable to other top hotels in the area. We appreciate your feedback regarding the towels; we are always looking for ways to improve all areas for our guests. Please visit us again when you are next in the city.
Kind regards,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed just the night and chose this hotel due to its proximity to Soldier Field, which was around a 15/20 minute walk. Good size room with a huge bathroom and very nicely appointed. We had great views over Lake Michigan and the park. The tube was a short walk from the hotel and can easily walk to Wacker/Michigan in 15 minutes. Friendly staff, good location and chic hotel interior.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbeachcomber73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Deposit, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We enjoyed a long weekend prior to Thanksgiving in the Blackstone Hotel. Absolutely WONDERFUL! The hotel is historic with first class ammenities. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant specializes in Spanish cuisine and has floor-to-ceiling, two-story windows that overlook Grant Park. The staff were helpful and efficient. A beautiful, fifteen minute walk along Michigan Avenue takes you to restaurants, shops and excellent city tours by the Chicago Architectural Foundation. Chicago lights up for Christmas on the Saturday before Thanksgiving. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily2453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Emily,
Your kind words echo the experience we hope to give all our guests. Chicago is an exciting city with so many options to keep people entertained. We pride ourselves in giving the best service possible and welcome any opportunity to give our guests a memorable stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chicago!
Kind regards,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,850 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing