We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the rooms, restaurant, and all the staff, wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #40 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I love the rooms, restaurant, and all the staff, wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel for business but it turned out to be a pleasure. The rooms are very nice, a little retro or avant garde. The staff took great care of us and went out of the way to provide for our needs. The Art Hall was a nice experience to host our reception in and it didn't disappoint.

I didn't realize this was a Marriott property until arrival and was glad to know it for future stays. The concierge and front desk staff were amazing and able to point us in the right direction for a lot of fun as well. I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Eat at the Mercat restaurant. It's expensive, but if you're there for business with 10 or m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowhand1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    580
    134
    45
    27
See reviews for
329
566
116
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkin, NC
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I loved the location, view, and the room.

I took my wife for a special weekend here. The view overlooking the park and lake was wonderful.

The bathroom door was tottaly odd, though. With the door closed, you could still see someone on the toilet or in the shower. If it is mixed company, there would be privacy issues for sure. Otherwise, this was a perfect hotel in every way.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is well located with a view of the lake across the park. It's also close to the centre of things, although a short cab ride is needed to most of Chicago's main sites. The lobby of the hotel is a little drab, but the welcome was polite and efficient. Again the room was reasonably sized and a lake view room upgrade was offered due to my Gold Marriott membership. The room was certainly more modern than the lobby, though they still had some antiquated touches.

The concierge club was a little on the smaller size, but was still modern and welcoming with drinks and food available in the evenings on top of the usual breakfast in the morning.

On asking the hotel for some help in finding a restaurant late at night, they seemed to be a bit hit and miss and suggested take away pizzas. They said they would ring back, but never did. Fortunately we had a guide book that got us to a good restaurant open late for a pizza pie.

Check out was speedy as everything was prepaid. So we simply had to walk out in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Spindoc,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. At the Blackstone, we take pride in offering our guests a unique, historical experience they will not find anywhere else and your information will only help us improve. Thanks again for your feedback. We truly appreciate your loyalty.

Kind regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great rooms and spacious bathrooms, fantastic service and thw best restaurant on S. Michigan Ave.
The staff is delightful with an incredible sence of customer service . . . Great smiles and total knowledge of the local attractions.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant for dinner . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaesc050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Jaesc050,

We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and our staff. We pride ourselves on being helpful in every way we possibly can. We particular appreciate the praise regarding Mercat a la Planxa it is truly a restaurant in a class of its own. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great hotel and nice change for a frequent business traveler. Traveling at least monthly can get repetitive and staying at known brands (Marriott) help keep the quality up but it’s sometimes difficult from your room to tell where you are as they all look the same – this is both good and bad. The Blackstone was a nice change from the standard décor, featuring large rooms, comfy bed, as quiet as I can ever remember from the street as well as surrounding rooms and a large and interesting bathroom with large shower, marble everywhere and funky wallpaper. I had a room with a view that was great of the park and the lake. Service was good from the front desk as well as the concierge lounge. I have already recommended the Blackstone to co-workers traveling to the area and it would also be great for tourists based on location. For the tourists this is across the street from Grant park and a short walk to the art museum, Field’s museum and aquarium! I will definitely be back next time in Chicago!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but ask for a room with a view of the park and lake if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Johnfi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. You really highlight many of our unique features which enables us to attract all kinds of travellers. We are happy you were able to experience a refreshing change from your regular travels. We appreciate your recommendation to your co-workers. We from the windy city welcome you back to the Blackstone Hotel any time.

Kind regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Everything about this hotel was wonderful, from the shower head to the ultra-comfortable bed. As a woman I rode the elevator with noted "This place is solid. They don't build them like this anymore." I found the hotel quiet, the service good, and the location perfect. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ME_Flats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ME_Flats,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! We pride ourselves on giving our guests a comfortable and memorable stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our award winning restaurant Mercat al la Planxa! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We welcome you back anytime!

Kind regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here again over the St Patrick's Day weekend. Our son attends Columbia College, so this is an ideal place to stay when we visit him. The Blackstone is a cool 1890's-era hotel on Michigan Avenue. We've stayed only in the lake-view rooms (worth the upgrade) and have only nice things to say about the rooms, the cleanliness, the attentiveness of staff, and the overall ambience. The bathrooms are large, well-appointed, and luxurious with marble floors and very nice fixtures. Everything in the hotel is clean and bright. The mattresses are very comfortable. There's no sound between floors, and very little between rooms. The lobby & hallways are nicely-appointed and comfortable. For the price, this is a very nice hotel, and comes highly-recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear James S,
We always like to hear about our guests experiences when staying at our hotel. We are thrilled we could make your stay enjoyable and always make our guests the most important part of our hotel.
It was great to see you touch on the history of the hotel. The Blackstone itself is listed on the National Register of Historic Place. When we restored the hotel we retained some of the key original features including over 10,000 individual pieces of decorative, glazed white terra cotta which were recast or preserved.
Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you at the Blackstone again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,950 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,090 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 190 in Chicago
1,469 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing