We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Property That Impresses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #40 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Historic Property That Impresses”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was my 3rd trip to Chicago this year, my friend's first time, and I got us booked in the Blackstone off of Priceline.
I had read some info in this historic hotel after winning it and just the history alone about this landmark made me impressed and interested in staying here. We flew into Midway, got us each a 3-day transit pass for $14 and took the Orange Line "L" to Roosevelt station and it was a nice, easy 4 block walk up Wabash to Balbo. Check-in was great. We could not believe the decor in the lobby. It did not at all have a feel of a chain hotel. Now although others complained about the slow check-in, I liked the fact that it was not a long counter that is seen in other hotels. There were 3 different kiosk type counters and the staff were terrific. I till cannot get over the cool feel of the lobby. There is a gold sofa in front of a pool table. There is a Navigator who will help you with any info you need.
The room we got was a Room With A View and what a view of Buckingham Fountain and Lake Michigan. The room was spacious, clean, had a mini fridge in it. There is a Starbucks at street level but only stayed open til 6pm, which made no sense really. The area does get quiet at night, but it is safe to walk up Michigan Ave as there are people still walking around. We never did feel unsafe walking anywhere around The Loop area at night.
If you like a comfy, quaint place then The Blackstone is the place. The staff are all so nice and fun to talk to as well. I seen many people just lounging around in the lobby on the many old style chairs and sofas. It is a hotel with a nice comfortable feel. And to know that this was THE hotel to stay at back in the day. That was a cool impression as well in a city with a ton of history.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Art Institute, Willis Tower, Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and/or Field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    572
    131
    42
    26
See reviews for
312
551
115
658
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I travel way too much and get jaded about hotels.
A chain hotel it is not. It has the feel of a boutique hotel. The bed was wonderful and the room was a nice size. I don't care how nice the rest of the hotel is, I detest small rooms.
It's in a great downtown location.
I had good cell service in my room, but the banquet room our meeting was in had NO service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenjoyce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Wish I could write a more positive review, since staff try hard and there is (contrary to post below) cell coverage and wireless. (However, my wireless connection cut out hours before its expiration, during an online presentation I was making--very inconvenient, to say the least.)

PROS
--Interesting to stay in historic property
--Starbucks in lobby (tho doesn't have food boxes, a problem since no room service between 11 and 5)
--Good bed
--King room was spacious
--None of noise issues mentioned below (mid-level floor on side street)

MIGHT BE PRO OR CON FOR YOU
--Small, dark lobby
--Weird assortment of furnishings (not so much charming/eclectic as odd)

CONS
--Absolutely no view from many rooms--even though Platinum, was given room with view only of Hilton rooms across street
--Business center was closed, no airline kiosk in lobby--had to print one-page document from front desk clerk's computer
--Desk light out, a big problem given darkness of room

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My dad and I recently stayed here for a night during a trip to Chicago to tour the city and see a Cubs game, and really enjoyed staying at the Blackstone. The room itself was great--very large and comfortable with a large TV and comfortable bed. The bathroom is very "cool" with marble floors and walls and a large walk-in shower. (The shower doesn't have a door though, which is a little odd at first). The bathroom is very large too. The only downside to note about this hotel is, for tourist purposes, it was a little far away from the river and more of the Michigan Ave. attractions that you will be looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is a bit on the shabby side for a Renaissance property--it is an older site and the lobby is dark and on the small side. However, the rooms are quiet and larger than expected, the beds comfortable, and the staff was outgoing and sharp--I give it an extra star for solid concierge and housekeeping during the day. In short, what you expect from staff at Renaissance locations will be found here. The location can't be beat as the hotel is across the street from Grant Park and within a ten to fifteen minute walk from Millennium Park, the Art Institute, and the Museum Campus if you are traveling with the kids. It's also a quick cab ride to the Magnificent Mile and the River. Don't rule it out as an alternative if you are spending two or three days in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I was a guest at the Blackstone for a wedding over the weekend and enjoyed a great stay. I was overly satisfied with the professionalism and hospitality of the hotel staff as well as the concierge's level of service -- both first class. It was my first time in Chicago, and I was very impressed with the hotel itself (past President's have stayed overnight there), it is rich in history and it's desirable location on Michigan Ave (across the street from the Hilton), not to mention the proximity to the wedding venue, were convenient. The interior of the lobby is open and inviting -- the walls and ceilings are gilded in marble and gold & crown molding, all original features highlighted by the candlelight of crystal chandeliers. There were quite a few seating areas as well as a pool table. Downstairs, a Starbucks and Iron Chef Jose Garces' cafe, Mercat.
I was upgraded to a lake view room, which was at the end of a hall on a high up floor. The room was close enough to the elevator bank however afforded me privacy and quiet being that it was a corner room. The room's entryway (a front foyer) lead in to a spacious bedroom. The bathroom's frosted glass doors opened to a marble bathroom with a glass walk in shower and gorgeous wallpaper. Even the toilet was a Kohler and a leather and suede vanity chest with drawers, a mirror and coat rack could be found across from the bath. The room was immaculately cleaned and the bed very comfortable! All four panoramic windows had stunning water views of The Navy Pier, Buckingham Fountain, Lighthouse, Grant Park and the Planetarium. It was truly a pleasure staying at the Blackstone and I would recommend this hotel to families, couples and business travelers alike. The staff was very accomodating and the ammenities were equally impressive. One elderly man in the lobby who was coughing was offered a water bottle from someone at the front desk.

I could not be more pleased with my stay and look forward to recommending this hotel and returning to the Blackstone!

- LK, Boca Raton, FL

Room Tip: Request an upgrade if available, early/late checkout and inquire re specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenKFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Enjoyed my recent stay here. Had a room on the corner with a lake view. Saw the Navy Pier fireworks, the Buckingham fountain, and the museum complex -- just a super view! Bathroom was nice, staff was friendly and helpful, and Mescat restaurant was really good for both a breakfast and a dinner. Only one complaint -- the easy chair with ottoman in the room may have been the most uncomfortable chair I ever sat in. Obviously, chosen by a designer for the great look, but not meant as a place to relax and read or watch TV.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, hopefully on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyster_afficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 189 in Chicago
4,957 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#131 of 189 in Chicago
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing