We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel for a Wedding Anniversary Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #34 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is an excellent hotel, perfectly located in the South Loop, with wonderful views of Lake Michigan and Chicago skyline from our 18th floor King-size room. It is close to Shed Aquarium, with easy access to the "L". The service was exceptional, including a helpful in-house Navigator. The room was beautiful and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, we loved the style of the bathroom and wanted to take the entire shower home with us! There was also a great work out facility and wonderful valet parking with courteous attendants. We will definitely spend another wedding anniversary weekend at the Blackstone! Thank you to the staff for their exceptional hospitality and willing to go the extra mile!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMansfield76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thanks, AMansfield!
We are so thrilled that you spent your wedding anniversary with us - but even happier that you loved it and found the service to be exceptional!! The entire team tries very hard to deliver a unique, one of a kind experience to each and every guest and I'm so thankful you enjoyed yourself. Let us know when you want to come back!
Best regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had a king room on the 22nd floor -- have Gold Elite status. Room was great size, bathroom with double sinks, huge shower and TV in mirror. Service was amazing, everyone nice, accommodating and what above and beyond. Club room is beautiful with great food. Stayed at this hotel year before it was condemned around 1999. Difference, is remarkable -- and amazing.
Location is quite south on michigan avenue. would stay again easily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fownog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Hello fownog!
Yes, you are so right - this property was closed for many, many years and our company bought it and began the very lengthy restoration which is quite amazing! So glad enjoyed it and so glad you will visit us again. I was especially pleased to hear you found the associates to be friendly and accommodating! We take incredible pride in the team we have assembled and really try to make a difference with the level of service we provide.
I appreciate your feedback.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a very nice hotel located in the South Loop area right across the street from Chicago's Grant Park. The rooms are well decorated, clean with a comfy bed. I upgraded to the larger room which could be large enough for a family of 4 or 5 with plenty a space. For a romantic evening upgrade to a deluxe room with a view of the lake. It may become one of your most memorable mornings! The hotel is in walking distances of plenty of restaurants, Michigan avenue and a 15-20 minute walk will get you to the Mag Mile or the River North Area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Turbostang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Hi Turbostang -
So glad that you chose the Renaissance Blackstone for your getaway! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We love our location, right across from the parks and quite close to anything you can imagine.
I hope that you will return the next time you plan a downtown Chicago visit.
Best regards,
Kim C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Room I had was small, but nice. Large bathroom with TV in the mirror, which was awesome! Not all rooms have the same accommodations. Excellent tapas restaurant, Mercat, attached to the hotel. Very clean and friendly associates. Great view from the gym over the lake, especially in the morning.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Hi Matthew B,
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again. Because we are a historic hotel, there are many, many different sizes of rooms - so sorry you got a smaller one this time! Mercat a la Planxa is actually an Iron Chef inspired restaurant and not at all your traditional hotel fare. Hope to see you soon.
Kim C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My trip to Chicago could not of been more perfect. The Blackstone gives off this classic feeling and you can feel the history right when you walk in. The rooms have been completly updated and our bed felt like it was brand new and made for a king and queen. Our view overlooked Michigan ave and we could clearly see the water, museums and even soldier field. We only were able to eat once while staying but the breakfast was cooked to order and prepared beautifully. The staff was very helpful both with recommendations and help getting around the city. My expierence was perfect and can't imagine staying anywhere else on my next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms4fsu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you so much, Ms4fsu32, for your terrific review! We really appreciate the time and energy that goes into it! I'm so happy that you enjoyed the property and found the rooms to be clean and fabulously comfortable. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Beautiful hotel! I was impressed with the cleanliness of the entire hotel and the helpfulness of the staff. I've stayed in many other hotels in Chicago, but will be coming back to this one from now on!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hello Todd,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! For me the two most important things are cleanliness and staff and you mentioned both!!! I will definitely share your comments with the team and certainly hope to welcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was traveling to Chicago for a wedding and the service and quality of this hotel was spectacular. The bellman were helpful and gave us great advice about things to do while we were in town. The coffee in the coffee shop downstairs was great. The welcome at the front desk was kind and genuine.

I am probably the worst cab-hailer ever and the bellman were always extremely helpful when I had to run last minute errands for the bride.

I think my absolute favorite part of the room was the bathroom. They actualy have a TV screen IN the mirror! And the shower was divine and I am pretty sure the floors were heated.

I honestly don't have anything negative to say about my experience there and I will definitely stay at the Blackstone the next time I visit Chicago.

Room Tip: The concierge level is definitely the floor to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hello EricaCL -
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! I really appreciate it!! I am thrilled to share it with the team and am so happy that you enjoyed the property. We host a lot of weddings here at the property and love to be a part of such happy occasions.
I hope you will come back and visit again soon. Please let me know as I would love to say hello.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 192 in Chicago
5,380 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
387 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#45 of 192 in Chicago
1,530 reviews
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £98 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing