We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #37 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

After a long day of fighting traffic and weather this hotel was recommended to me by friends in the area as a "great place with great views".

When I arrived I was greeted warmly and friendly by the front desk staff and even though it was hectic beyond belief I was made to feel as if I was an old friend. The room was spacious and accommodating and The overall views of the surrounding area were quite pleasant.

Over all I wanted to give my stay four out of five stars.. This is one hotel I will come back to.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Danny0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations!
Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    562
    130
    41
    26
See reviews for
305
548
113
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I had a great time in Chicago. The hotel experience at the Blackstone made it even that much better. The staff was amazing from the moment we checked-in. The valet staff were very helpful in getting us to the places we wanted to go. The room was AMAZING. We would stay there again without a doubt. Also, it was nice to have a Starbucks part of the hotel. That was a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbauer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Hi JBauer12!
Thank you so much for your kind comments! I will definitely share them with the staff. We so appreciate you taking the time to write a review and choosing th Blackstone for your visit to Chicago! I hope that we can welcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I came to Chicago this December to have a weekend away with friends. We choose the Blackstone because of its amazing location (minutes away from all trans.) and from word of mouth. Glad we did. The minute you walk in you feel warm and welcomed. The front desk staff is kind and really makes you feel at home. The rooms are a good size for the area and well appointed. Our first night we had dinner at Mercat a la planxa the on-site tapas restaurant and was amazed. Food was excellent and the atmosphere was good as well. I plan on visiting the Blackstone every time I visit Chicago.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you MarshalK, for taking the time to write a review of the Blackstone Renaissance ! We so appreciate it. I am especially thrilled that you thought the staff was amazing and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them! As you know, the staff can make or break a hotel and I am thrilled to be able to say we have a fantastic team!
I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

From the moment I walked in, I was treated like a Rock Star! The team there is skilled and on point - the service was just over-the-top. Everyone using my name, checking on my needs and making sure I was comfortable. The decor was classy and elegant - the hotel is located in a GREAT spot! It was just a really FANTASTIC experience. They really spoiled me and I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRossSla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much DRossSla for your terrific comments! We so appreciate you writing a review and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the attention provided by our fabulous team members!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here this past week with my sister who is from out of town. We drove in from the burbs and parked in the South Grant Park parking lot. The overnight cost was $34.00. I thought this was reasonable.

The hotel is just past it's glory days. I was sort of surprised there was no doorman to help with our bags or open the door when we came in. We entered on the ground level but had to go up several stairs to check in, hauling our own luggage. Not really a big deal, but at one time, I'm sure there was a doorman.

I had requested a room on a top floor, two queen beds and a view of the lake and down pillows. I spoke directly with the hotel when I made the reservation and we were shown to room 1919. Exactly what I had hoped for. The room was fine for an overnight visit. The bathroom was large with a shower only but the floors were marble which spoke to me of it's bygone days. They provided a few toiletries and when I realized I left my tooth brush at home they were able to provide me one free of charge.

There was a small entry way into the room that was beautiful white marble. The room had a small safe and fridge. There was a very nice welcome basket for us with some fresh fruit and a couple of granola bars. We really appreciated the effort. The hotel does not provide free internet however which is always a minus for me.

We were able to take advantage of the restaurant in the hotel, Mercat a la Planxa which is a tapas restaurant. I'd definitely stay in this hotel again and ask for the same room.

Room Tip: Room 1919 has a nice view of the lake and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Hello phaera,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Blackstone Renaissance! I am so sorry that you were not met by a door man. We definitely have doormen that perform all of those duties so all I can imagine is that they got called away or stepped away at the exact time you checked in- I am so sorry for that. Just as a reference, we also have a door to the right of the main entrance that leads to an elevator so we have access for ADA, etc.
I'm pleased, though, that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A recent overnight stay at the Blackstone (my second visit) reminded me how much I love this property. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the hotel spotless and comfortable, and the room quiet and comfy. The fitness center is also one of the nicest I've had the privilege of using...running on the treadmill with a view of the park was bonus (usually run on Lakeshore, but 17 degrees was a bit cool this visit). The location for this trip was a little far south on Michigan since we like to walk everywhere we go (and it was cold!!), but ordinarily not a problem. Would love to come back and stay again in warmer weather...location would be perfect for the Art Institute, Lake & Grant Park, and the museums.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLivestoEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello LivestoEat975!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, but more so, thanks for making the Blackstone Renaissance a favorite of yours!!! We are thrilled and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Since you love to eat, have you ever tried our Iron Chef inspired restaurant, Mercat a la Planxa?
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haskins
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Almost enough said! Great location, close to all transportation, museums, and shopping. The architecture is magnificent, so nostalgic to be there. The room was large, clean, and had all the modern amenities. It was fun, Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much, Glenn H for enjoying our hotel and for sharing your views with others! We really appreciate you taking the time.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,862 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing