We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - excellent location for Shedd and Field and Grant Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for one night over MLK weekend and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a great character and was once called the Hotel of Presidents as this is where they stayed when visiting Chicago.

The service at the check in desk was very helpful and quick - the lobby is very nicely decorated.

We stayed on the 9th floor - the Eames (sp?) floor. Nicely decorated and appointed.

If I were to complain about something it would be the bathroom door. What is the fascination with sliding doors as of late -yes they take up less space and probably cheaper, but they don't add much privacy for people in the room.

There is plenty of space for a regular door here - I am sure others would agree. We also used the fitness center on the 6th floor - which was quite spacious and clean.

We had breakfast in the restaurant and service was great and food was very good. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Grant Park/Water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello SMR2,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - I really appreciate the effort as well as how much detail you put in it!
I definitely understand your comment about the bathroom door.... all I can say is .... DESIGNERS!
I hope it won't stop you from visiting with us again, though - please let me know the next time you decide to come to Chicago - would appreciate the opportunity to say hello!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were very impressed with the Blackstone. Windows along the lakefront view, comfy bed, nice bathroom. Lobby is beautiful and staff are helpful. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent. Nice location....train from Midway stops 2 blks away so you can avoid traffic; an easy walk to the Mag Mile and Millennium Park. Would definitely stay here again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

BJean - thank you, thank you, thank you! Your review was fantastic! We not only appreciate you taking the time to write a review but thanks for pointing out so many great things about the property! I look forward to welcoming you back! Please let me know the next time you plan a trip to Chi-town.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great property - location, condition (was renovated pretty recently). The room was very boutique-like and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was also spotless and HUGE. Very quiet except for street noise (even on 17th floor) - but that is to be expected in a city... Bed very comfortable. The staff at the front desk were wonderful as well - friendly and attentive. I really couldn't wish for more in a hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonmail44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi AllisonMail - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We so appreciate it and are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel. Especially important is the cleanliness of the room and the hospitality of the Front Desk staff - two really important things to all travelers! So, thanks for letting us know. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I bid this hotel on priceline. It is so good. Room is large and clean, everything is luxury. The location is just at the side of Park. Environment is safe and easy to get everywhere. The only thing is the restaurant is expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellover_wwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Hi travellover!
So glad that you enjoyed the hotel and were able to find a great deal!
I'm sorry you found the restaurant to be expensive, it is an Iron Chef, Catalan inspired Spanish Tapas restaurant, so it is fabulous and there are some things like our home made sangria and starters that could be made into a meal!
I hope you will visit us again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my partners 25th birthday weekend in Chicago. This hotel is truly beautiful and unique! It is very warm feeling in its décor and makes you feel that you have stepped back in time to the early 1900's in it's styling. It is very clean, personnel are friendly, and it's location is just over a block from an El-Train stop! Like nearly all Marriott properties, you will not find any disappointment in this property!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnathon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Jonathon C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at the Renaissance Blackstone and thankful that you chose us for a fabulous celebration. I hope that you will come back to Chicago again, soon!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Chicago and due to weather our airline extended our stay 3 extra days. Blackstone to the rescue! They graciously welcomed us at a great rate, showing empathy, compassion and genuine care after we had spent all day and night in the airport trying to get home. With all of the bad news we had received, it was a relief to come to the Blackstone where they were able to provide us with good news and GREAT service. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is close to tons of attractions and great dining options (including their on-site restaurant, Mercat a la Planxa-best food we've EVER had). We will never stay anywhere else when visiting the Windy City!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chelsrlee303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Chelsrlee303 -
I am so sorry that you got detained in Chicago - but happy that we were able to accommodate you! I'm especially pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and that we have made you a fan! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked our stay last minute and on a whim when our visit to the Field Museum ran later than we expected. We had already been staying in the city for a few days but moved here our final night. All I can say is, WOW!! This was not just another hotel but a wonderful Chicago experience in itself! The valet and check in staff were all so warm and welcoming which immediately made this a memorable evening. The concierge was so knowledgable and actually seemed interested in helping us find the right places and activities for us. I always hate when a concierge seems as they're just reading from a script on where to eat or what to do. And then we got to our room!!! WOW!! The room itself was so nice and had many luxurious upgrades over a typical room in the city but the most amazing part was our view!!!! We were lucky enough to have a corner room on the 21st floor which had breathtaking views of the lake and Michigan Ave.! We are retuning to the city in a few months and have already decided we will be staying here!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hello IndianaTravelista!
I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to WOW you!!! What a great ending to your Chicago experience! We try really hard to select the best associates possible and I'm thrilled that you had a great experience! Please let me know when you return, I would like the opportunity to say hello in person.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,342 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#44 of 192 in Chicago
1,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £93 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing