We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #39 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington IN
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place, excellent value”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I spent six nights at this hotel and really, really liked it. Six days is a pretty long stay, but the Blackstone is so lovely and comfortable that it was a pleasure being there right up to the end. The building itself is grand. My room was huge, elegantly furnished, and conveniently appointed. Nothing was lacking. As a business traveler, I really appreciated the bug marble-topped desk; there was a refrigerator, nice coffee making supplies, lots of marble, excellent shower, roomy closet. Best of all, it was QUIET. This is something I almost never get to say about hotels. Either the walls are thin, there's a connecting door, or loud people in the halls. This room was blissfully silent. I would stay here any time in the future. It's an excellent value in every respect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello Erster,
Thank you so much for your review! I love that you found the hotel to be great, even for a 6 night stay! Blissfully quiet is a pretty amazing description considering you are in downtown Chicago!
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    579
    134
    45
    27
See reviews for
329
566
116
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I booked the Blackstone simply due to an important job interview in the same hotel in the afternoon. Told the manager that I need a couple of hours to stay and prepare for the interview, but they just wanna suck money. Between 12pm-5pm, they rushed me to leave for three times. At the end, I checked out at 5pm, and was charged an extra fee of $104 for the five-hour extension.

Room Tip: throw your money somewhere else, but not here. They treated you harshly and charged you $20 per hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Najung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear NajungK,
I am so sorry that you felt you were treated unfairly by our team! That was certainly not the intention, but check out time is 12noon and that is the policy so that we can get the room ready for the next customer. It is a standard practice in hotels to charge a half day rate if a customer wants to stay that much longer in the room. We generally do not charge people if it is one or two hours, but it is difficult to manage a hotel when people want to stay late into the day.
I hope that you did well with your interview and will consider visiting us again.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I were satisfied with this hotel. The bed and pillows were comfy. The bathroom decor was fun. There were real glasses in the room (no plastic cups). They even stocked the bathroom with cotton balls and Q-tips. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi A D,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and that you will come and visit with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We attended the wedding of friends over a cold but delightful weekend in Chicago. The hotel did an absolutely stunning job with the event and a good time was had by all! The view outside our window left much to-be-desired, but as that was not the purpose of our trip we laughed it off. However, the staff to a person was extremely helpful. We will definitely return and this time bring our dog.

Room Tip: Ask for a high view with either a view of the lake or the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi DeborahH!
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Blackstone! We do amazing weddings here, as you know, in our fabulous Crystal Ballroom! I'm sorry you didn't love your room - that is the problem with urban hotels - not all rooms face a direction that has a fantastic view!!!
I look forward to welcoming you back, though, let me know and we will try to get you into a fantastic Lake View room.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I visited Chicago for pleasure over the weekend of Feb. 8th. The location drew me as it is right on Michigan Ave. near several attractions and Museums. I WAS NOT disappointed ! The Hotel was fantastic along with the friendly staff and surroundings ! I 'toured' the Hotel to check out the Art Hall, Ballroom and ate at the wonderful Restaurant- Mercat La Planxa, Fabulous Food ! A taste in Fine European Dining ! The historical aura of the Hotel and location make The Blackstone a must on your visit to Chicago ! All of the staff right down to the Service people were warm and courteous and it made the experience that much more memorable. All were willing to share their thoughts and perspective on the Hotel and the city when I had questions. The fitness Center was top notch for an early morning workout before I started out in the morning ! The club room was wonderful for a snack or a light breakfast too ! You MUST make the Blackstone a 'stop and stay' on your next visit to Chicago ! I know I will !

Room Tip: The views on the Lakeside are wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesapphire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi lakesapphire1!
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time and are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel. I hope that you will come and visit us again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Beautiful historic building. All of the staff at this hotel are very nice. From the time we arrived, we were treated as if we were royalty. The room was big and clean. The bellman Rory was great and remembered our names, and always went out of his way to say hello. We spent half our stay here and the other half of the week on the mile at a larger hotel. We wish we would have stayed here all week. Hands down, the best hotel experience in Chicago so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Wow, CoreyWood,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We so appreciate it and I will be sure to bring your comments to the team - as they really do try to make each and every guest encounter a great one!
Please let me know when you return again.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Blackstone for our anniversary. The location was perfect! Our view overlooked Michigan Ave., the park and the lake. Our room was clean and the staff was very helpful. It was a wonderful experience and we would recommend this hotel to our family and friends!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sobispo1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Sobispo,
Thanks so much for spending your Anniversary with us! This hotel is full of amazing history and I LOVE it when our guests create present day memories that will be remembered forever! I hope that you will visit us again. Please let me know as I would appreciate being able to say hello.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,950 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#100 of 190 in Chicago
5,081 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#38 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#139 of 190 in Chicago
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing