We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #37 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
256 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I like old buildings that been refurbished. So the Blackstpne was a natural choice. The lobby is really beautiful. Beaux arts ceiling and elevators add to the feeling. The rooms are very modern. Great rain shower in the bathroom. The room was small and pretty tight for two people. The bed was comfortable Nice fitness room. The hotel is on south Michigan. This made for a nice walk to the art institute and to the chicsgo river.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi Ram1983!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I am thrilled that you enjoyed it and found it convenient to the things you visited.
Unfortunately, it sounds like you were put in one of our smaller rooms, which we actually don't have that many of - like most historic hotels, almost every room is a different shape and size so it adds to the adventure. Let me know the next time you come and I'll try to upgrade you to a larger room.
Best regards,
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    562
    130
    41
    26
See reviews for
305
548
113
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is an incredible hotel. It has an elegance to it that is rare to find these days. I was very impressed! The rooms were rather large and traditionally decorated. The staff was incredible as well. Their service was excellent. The location was so convenient to the Loop, restaurants, Lake Michigan,etc. I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Anthony C -
Wow! Thanks for the review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all that the Blackstone Renaissance has to offer! I look forward to welcoming you back again - please let me know when you return.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

From the super helpful bellmen, to the smiling faces at the front desk, to the beautiful room and the amazing food in Mercat, the Blackstone is absolutely perfect! The hotel is just the right mix of a beautiful, historic building with fun, modern accents. Housekeeping service was stellar, the views from the guest rooms were truly beautiful and the hotel was in an excellent location - what more could you want?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarshipCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Kate T -
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for not only taking the time to write a review, but including all the fabulous things about our property! The entire team really appreciates it and I will be sure to share your comments with them.
Hope you will return soon,
Beset regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I love this property! The place is quite charming with an old-school style of elegance. The staff are always very friendly and helpful.
The gym facilities are top notch and the location isn't in the thick of it - but close enough to get around easily.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessZoladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi JessZ -
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I'm especially pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and that you appreciated the location - you are so right - not quite in the thick of the craziness, but definitely close enough to enjoy all that Chicago has to offer.
I hope you will return soon!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had our daughter's wedding reception at the Blackstone. The facility, the people and the service were spectacular. The food was excellent. The cocktail hour and reception were handled with smooth clockwork. Toni and staff oversaw everything. Throughout the evening I was able to enjoy my family and friends without any worry about the party. Also, my guests raved at the beauty of the hotel and the Ballroom, very elegant. I also want to compliment the Blackstone on the accommodations provided to the parents of the Bride and the newlyweds. We had rooms on the top floor that were fun, spacious and had every amenity we could want. Three cheers for the Blackstone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Mark M -
Three cheers to you!!! Hosting a daughter's wedding is a HUGE undertaking and I'm soooo happy that you enjoyed yourself and were able to not worry! The Blackstone Renaissance team LOVES a good wedding and this was a great one!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon!
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Blackstone Hotel is the place to stay in Chicago. It's my favorite of all the hotels that I have stayed,great location, impecably clean rooms and friendly staff ( especially for kids.) It has a world class restuarant, Merkat, and a Starbucks. The Art Institute is a short walk and there you will find the Bean, Millenium Park and the Cultural Center to name a few. The restaurants closeby range from five star to little pizza places. My favorite breakfast restaurant the Yolk is right across the street.

There is a pool table in the lobby which immediately lets you know that this is a fun hotel. My five year told grandson loved shooting pool while I checked in. The staff couldn't have been nicer. There are always plenty of towels and amenities in the room. I was happy to find my favorite organic herbal tea and great coffee packets at the coffee maker in the room. The hotel robes are amazingly soft and comfortable. I felt like I was at a spa.

The important thing is that the cleanliness and service is always consistent. This is so important to me when staying at a hotel. If you are looking for a great get away yet in the heart of Chicago, this is the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at the hotel. I have stayed many times and have never had a noisy or bad loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcachi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello xcachi222,
So happy that you stayed with us again and that you found the hotel to be consistently CLEAN and FRIENDLY! Two of the most important things in my book! We so appreciate your business and especially appreciate you taking the time to write a review!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is definitely on my list to come back and stay again. Service was impeccable and my room was perfect.

The only knock is that concierge lounge was totally closed on the weekend. Other properties allow access even when closed and provide cold non alcoholic beverages and fruit. Often times I visit the lounge after hours just so I can spread out while working or read a newspaper.

I will make this my hotel for Chicago visits going forward.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georesearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Georgesearch!
Thank you so much for your review! I am thrilled that you found the service to be impeccable and so appreciate that you took the time to tell us about it. The feedback on the lounge is good. We do sometimes use it on the weekends for wedding parties to get ready or for after parties which is why its not generally open to our rewards customers.
I hope to see you soon,
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,858 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing