We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norma Munoz in Club Lounge: Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #38 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Norma Munoz was very friendly and helpful. She went above and beyond to help out with our special requests. Entire staff was polite, friendly, and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Does not feel like a hotel overtaken by busy people in a hurry. Service still counts here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neeeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello Neeeeen,
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We so appreciate you taking the time to write a review, to actually mention one of our fabulous associates, Norma, in the Executive Lounge AND to recognize how friendly and helpful our staff is! I can't tell you how much that means to the team and I will definitely pass on the praise! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've been a guest at the Renaissance Blackstone several times and each time I enjoy it better than the last! This visit was enhanced by the top notch service afforded me in the Executive Lounge on the 23rd floor, particularly by Norma Munoz. I was stressed by computer and phone mishaps while trying to keep my work going and Ms. Munoz was a gem! I visited the lounge every evening for the appetizers and desserts offered and she always offered warm hospitality and a generous hand to keep me going with my work. I highly recommend a stay for business travel at this property. It's convenient, comfortable and offers amazing views!

Room Tip: Stay on the side that overlooks Millineum Park and Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioLetsgo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi OhioLetsGo2,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and to specifically mention our fantastic associate, Norma, up in the Executive Lounge. I am thrilled to hear how helpful she is and so glad that you have returned again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just completed another wonderful stay at the Blackstone. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the staff is pleasant and accomodating. The hotel is in a great location -- on South Michigan Ave, across from grant park, and there are a variety different restaurants in walking distance of the hotel. Always my first choice when traveling to Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAWhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello JA Whitfield,
So happy to hear that we are your choice when you come to Chi-Town! As you well know, there are LOTS of hotels in the City and we are thrilled that you have experienced our unique historic gem, the Blackstone Renaissance Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife in August. Was in town to visit a client and catch a Cubs game. The Blackstone is a really cool, historic hotel right on the park that leads to the lake. Not far from Millenium Park or the L-train. Great for Magnificent Mile access and Wrigley Field.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Matt -
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! Thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and found it to be convenient to all that you did while in Chi-Town. Its a fun city and a great hotel! So thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for business. Rich old woods in the lobby with ornate gold trim. Huge rooms with enormous bathrooms equipped with rain shower heads. Small but luxurious Concierge Lounge. Located on Michigan Avenue. The restaurant, Mercat, was outstanding. This was a really great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorbaLindaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi YorbaLindaStar!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the property and I hope that you will return again.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Great accommodations- had a huge room with a nice view of the lake - and a really cool television in the bathroom mirror. Hotel service was excellent - - concierge lounge was a little small for the size of the hotel with somewhat limited hours.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank ROLOGOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello ROLOGOL,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of a room with a view! We have some of the best view rooms in Chicago if you are lucky enough to get one - or book them, specifically.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate it.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I arrived the day of the Chicago Marathon and it was a madhouse as I swear most of the runners were staying here, primarily because of it's fabulous location right on the riverside parks.

This beautiful hotel has seen it's fair share of history: Al Capone's barber was downstairs.

The service was impeccable, from doorman to manager.

It may be an historic hotel but there's nothing stuffy about this old girl.

My room was just gorgeous done in a modern style and I absolutely adored the spacious, stylish bathroom with it's modernist wallpaper and sybaritic shower and Aveda toiletries.

The bed was heavenly, with cloud-like pillows: a perfect haven after three days of non-stop walking and sightseeing.

I had stunning views over the parks and Lake Michigan, reaching from Soldiers Field to the piers. The room came with a fridge, coffee maker, iPod dock, chaise longue, work desk and comfortable chair.

My only issue was with the internet, available for a daily fee and frustratingly slow.

Try not to bring your car into the city as parking is a nightmare. There are parking stations and the hotel offers valet for a fee, but this is very much a walking city, so avoid it if you can. There's a metro station and bus stops near the hotel.

I loved this hotel and I highly recommend it as staying here made my first trip to Chicago a super stylish one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi the Packed Bag!
I loved your review of the Blackstone Renaissance Hotel - thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a thorough and fantastic review! I am so pleased that we helped to make your first trip to Chicago a great one and look forward to welcoming you back. Please let me know when you come back - I would enjoy saying hello!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
5,414 reviews
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 191 in Chicago
403 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £108 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing