We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“memorial day vacation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #38 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“memorial day vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is very small .. housekeeping is slow. Our room wasn't ready . granted we did get there early. the front desk lady told us that she would call when the room was ready so my husband and i walked around chicago for 3 hours and no one ever called us. and no one apologized. there is no hotel shuttle. the cleaning was not great. a left over pill was on the floor. someone's else's hair was left over. I would not choose this property again. i got this room off priceline because my husband gets cheap when it comes to hotel room. i on the other hand prefer the Hyatt Regency in the loop or the W or even the real Renaissance Hotel. Not this awful overpriced knock off. and the air condition in the room was terrible and temperatures were rising in chicago.

Room Tip: my tip is to choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJones33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi mrs. Jones,
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your experience at the hotel. During this busy season when we go from sell out to sell out it is very difficult to provide early arrivals! I am unhappy that you didnt receive follow up and I can assure you I will follow up with the staff! I wish that you would give us another chance to make a better impression! Please let me know when you visit Chicago again!
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    548
    125
    41
    26
See reviews for
298
533
107
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I spent our Memorial Day weekend at the Blackstone and LOVED it. First off, the Blackstone is gorgeous and glamorously decorated. This landmark hotel has been restored and updated, mixing just enough new modern design with the old. I found the staff to be incredibly friendly and attentive even though it was a VERY busy weekend. Our room was amazing! I really wanted to take the Eames lounge chair home with me! The bed was super comfy with an abundance of pillows. The bathroom was large and luxurious with bright, but flattering lighting and stocked with Aveda products. Our view of Lake Michigan was spectacular, needless to say, but also I couldn't get enough of the Chicago skyline and old building roof tops. I overheard on the elevator that the gym is pretty nice, but I personally didn't check it out as I was too busy eating on my trip. There's an art hall featuring the work of local artists that's worth seeing whether you're a guest or not and an in-house Starbucks because everyone needs their caffeine fix. The downtown location is close to tourist attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier. There's also plenty of trains and buses nearby that my husband and I took to all the fun neighborhoods in Chicago. Seriously, one of my favorite hotel experiences.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Helen M!
Wow! Thank you so much for your review! I am thrilled that the Blackstone Renaissance was one of your favorite hotel experiences - we are honored and can't wait for you to come back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a stellar stay at the Blackstone. The hotel itself is very charming and tastefully decorated. The rooms are spacious and ours had an amazing view down Michigan Ave and of the Chicago skyline. Staff was very friendly and helpful, answering any questions we had with a smile and giving us a great recommendation for brunch at Yolk just down the street. Finally, the location is super convenient, across the street from Millennium Park, a short walk up Michigan from the river and the Gold Coast, and easy access to several CTA stops with good connection to O'hare. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuckinschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi stuckinschool!
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate all that you mentioned including how great the staff was - how convenient the location is and how great the rooms are. I sure hope that you will come and visit us again soon!
Thanks so much,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Chicago to see the sites and eat the food. The view of the Chicago skyline from our room was so amazing we left the curtains open at night! The accommodations and staff are first rate. Pool table in the lobby too! Ask the front desk for a card and you can get first class service at the best brunch place in town...Yolk!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Runchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello, Runchef!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and especially happy that you got a room with a great view and had such a nice getaway!
I hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a beautiful May weekend at the Blackstone, the ideal jumping off point for exploring the sights along Michigan Ave. The hotel has a great workout room with a view of the lake and wonderful cooled towels. Our room, however, did not boast the most comfortable chair, and the bathroom door (hung to slide like a barn door) was heavy and off its track. The beds were very comfortable, though, and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: We had only a tiny view of Lake Michigan. Request a room that fronts Michigan Ave. so you can enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Betsy S,
So glad that you had a nice weekend getaway in Chicago! Sorry that you didn't love the chair and we certainly should have fixed the bathroom door! I will definitely follow up with the team. We do have a grouping of rooms that front Michigan Ave and have an amazing room - generally we sell those for a bit more than the regular rooms. I hope that you will return and visit us again.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. I try to stay at Marriott properties for the points, but am sometimes disappointed in the generic look and feel that many of them have. This hotel is a classic. Beautiful old building, completely updated. HIp, but not too...hip. Bathroom is great, white marble, big sink, funky wallpaper. I had a great lake front and park view which is really one of a kind. Got to watch the Buckinham Fountain water and light show. I did move my chair and ottoman from it's location in the corner to one with the view. Because of that, I moved the desk chair to the corner as that chair was now in the way of the TV. I then felt like a queen.

For some, the location is great as it is near the water front, Art Institute, etc. But when I went on Open Table for walkable dinner options, it was a little sparse.

Because the sun rose so early -- 5:30am --i walked two blocks and rented a bike. I rode for two hours, along the Lake, through Lincoln Park, and was back before the traffic started.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Kendalwood -
I am so happy that you loved the property! It sounds like you took full advantage of our great lake location and enjoyed biking the lakefront trail! What a view and what a workout! I hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This lovely, historical hotel has a great location and nicely decorated, comfortable rooms BUT...the quality of the staff doesn't match that of the building.

The front desk personnel are not as gracious, hospitable or elegant as the hotel building itself. For this location and price range, one expects a greater degree of customer service and a better--less surly-- attitude. Having stayed at many hotels like this, I can hazard a guess that the management here has cut back on staff and training. It's a shame that this hotel doesn't provide the wonderful service you'd expect from its outward appearance.

Room tips: the hotel is a block from the "El" train, so you'll hear it day and night unless you are on the east (lake-facing, $50 upgrade-paying) side. Even in a non-eastern side floor room on a very high floor still had this annoying noise. Also, beware the old plumbing in the hotel. When your neighbor showers, you'll know it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SacAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi SacAnnie -
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled that you liked the property but so sorry that you did not have a good experience with our team. That is so disappointing as we generally get good feedback with regard to the staff. I have emailed you separately to try to get some additional information as we take this type of situation very seriously! I hope that you will allow us to try to change your opinion by visiting us again. Please let me know the next time you come to Chicago!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#125 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing