We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise, surprise! Another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #38 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I was only in town for the night, but had a great stay as usual. The staff is always friendly and welcoming, which is so refreshing, especially when you're on the road a lot. Great people make all the difference and you've got them. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you Steve Y for taking the time to write a review!!! I so appreciate your feedback about our staff and how friendly they are! I will definitely pass on your comments!
Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were in Chicago for a music festival at Soldiers Field and this location was perfect! We were able to walk home from the venue all 3 nights. We went with another couple and their room (616) had a bar area and chair with ottoman...ours did not (615). So, all of the rooms are a little different. The bed was very comfortable for me and my husband, which is amazing since we never agree on beds. We loved the decor in the room and the bathroom was really spacious and GORGEOUS. It is an open shower so you don't have the steam to keep you warm if not under the water. The bathroom doors slide on tracks so there is a one inch gap where the door isn't flat against the wall. Modesty & sound could be an issue if you were sharing a room with someone you aren't TOTALLY comfortable with. LOL! As a whole, we all loved the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maintzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you, Maintzmo, for taking the time to write a review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, thought it was a great location and appreciated our gorgeous décor and bathrooms!
We hope that you will visit us again, soon!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As others have noted, the hotel is lovely. I was at the property for five nights, including a weekend. The room was huge, and surprisingly quiet. Also, the air conditioning worked well, which is not always the case in hotels. The exec event renovations to the bathrooms were great. Very spacious, my only complaint about the hotel, and the reason for only a very good, is that the towels in the bathroom we're awful, threadbare, each and every day. It is time to invest in new towels that better reflect the quality of the hotel.

The beginning of my stay was for a conference, and the hotel did a great job with the food and beverage services. The restaurant is very nice.

It is waking distance to the museum area of Chicago, and we had a great time visiting those attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelerT796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello Traveler T,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the location! I am so sorry that your towels were bad! I am definitely going to look into it as the team is supposed to remove the towels out of circulation that are worn. Obviously that didn't happen and I apologize. I hope that you will give us another chance!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance Hotel for three nights for business. The room was very comfortable, updated, nice bathrooms, great service. The restaurant in the lobby, the Mercat, is a tapas restaurant with absolutely excellent food and great service. It is walking distance from many of Chicago's attractions, including Millennium Park. If you ask for a room with a view, in the higher floors, you will have a fantastic view of Michigan Lake and the beautiful park in front of the hotel. My room 1522 was a great room. It is truly a nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello, travel a_ok!
Glad that you enjoyed the hotel including the location! Its great to be able to mix a little bit of pleasure with business and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I traveled with my male friend to Chicago on a business trip. We spent 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. Everything about it was impressive...The lobby, the front desk staff, the housekeeping staff. The employees were wonderfully attentive and informative. So many things were in walking distance. This was my first visit to Chicago. ..and it won't be my last. Awesome place and location

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MadeinMT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear MadeinMT -
So glad that you were able to come to Chicago and enjoy what a great city it really is! I'm glad that you are going to come back and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. thanks so much for taking the time to write a review!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time visit to Chicago for a conference, I stayed at the Renaissance Blackstone. A very beautiful hotel, ornate and lots of character. Lots of connections to Al Capone who used to roll in this neighbourhood and I believe with this hotel. I loved the lobby, pool table, with restaurant and Starbucks nearby. The room was very comfortable, the beds were great. The bathroom was really spacious and the walk in shower was a nice touch. I was concerned that I was far away from my conference centre (Fed Reserve Building) and all the action on the Magnificent Mile. But no, it's in a good location and very close to Grant Park/Art Institute/Millenium Park. And within walking distance from the wonderful smells of Garrett's Popcorn! Customer service was pretty decent for the most part...some of them were not as knowledgable on what to do/eat in Chicago as others. But they were pleasant. Only disappointment was that I was unable to get extended check in the day I left because my conference went until 1 pm and I was a 15 min walk away from the hotel. I had to find out at 7:30 am that morning and my conference started at 8 (had to walk 15 minutes to get there)...inconvenient to know so late. Otherwise a good stay and ok price compared to the JW Marriot.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for a lakeside view or a view of Grant Park. All I had was a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello Dan H,
Thanks so very much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am thrilled that you found the location to be great and enjoyed the historic aspects of the hotel including the fact that this was one of Al Capone's hang outs. I am so sorry we weren't able to provide a late check out. Unfortunately, on those really busy days its often hard if we are sold out and have a large number of people trying to check-in. Let me know when you come back and I will try to do something special for you!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is an incredible example of historical Chicago architecture that has been completely modernized and maintained the fine finishes of yesteryear. I was impressed by the spacious and comfortable room with nice touches such as the rainhead shower. I was fortunte enough to be in a corner room with a view of the Willis Tower. The property sits on Michigan Avenue and across from Grant Park where you can walk directly out to Lake Michigan. The meeting space in the hotel was comfortable and quiet as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DigDox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello DigDox,
thanks very much for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad you enjoyed the restoration! It really is a beautifully restored historic hotel with some eclectic and interesting touches! Most of the meeting space is interesting, as well - glad you had a good trip and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
5,417 reviews
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
406 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £109 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing