We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #37 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times over the years and always had good luck. Staff is exceptional and treats premier guests extra special.
If you like history (or watched Boardwalk Empire), this is the hotel where the Republican National Convention was held where famously, Warren Harding bought his way to a presidency.
Anyhow, great history and hotel. Short cab to anywhere and easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yourthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
HI yourthoughts!
Thanks so much for the feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and I love that you know the history of the hotel! Let me know when you come to Chicago next time and we will see if the Suite of Presidents might be available for you to stay in!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    549
    126
    41
    26
See reviews for
298
533
108
636
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Overall our stay at the Blackstone was OK. It was clean, the staff was wonderfully nice and the turn down service was welcoming and yet for the money, it wouldn't be at the top of my list to stay again. The room was small and the bathroom had the toilet, sinks and shower inside so multiple people could not get ready at the same time. The sliding glass door offered absolutely NO PRIVACY. If you were standing outside the closet area you could see a person sitting on the toilet. If you were sitting at the desk you could see the person taking a shower right through the gaping opening that the sliding door didn't cover. The hotel was quiet, the room thermostat was spot on keeping us comfortable. The Peninsula in Chicago would be a much nicer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed at the club level, floor 22 and the wifi was free. Otherwise you pay for your wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello LAJ415,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! I am sorry that you didn't LOVE the hotel, but certainly happy that you found the staff to be great and the rooms to be clean. As a historic, downtown hotel, all of our rooms are a little different and the layout for each depends on the location. I wish you would give us another chance - please let me know if you decide to come into town.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed 3 night at this expensive hotel for a meeting. My room faced the side alley. Despite being at the 8th floor, there was such a strong noise starting before 5 AM every morning (trash trucks, and other unidentified loud noises that made the windows rattle) that I could not sleep. I complained to the front desk and they answered that they have no control on the alley noise. No mention of placing sound proof windows.

When I checked out I asked for an electronic bill. They said it was on its way. I went back a few minutes later and told them I had not received the email, and they dismissed saying "not automatic, it will come soon". More than 24 h later, no bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reems0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Reems0705,
I am so sorry for the way that you were treated at the hotel regarding the issues you were having. Generally, we do not get complaints about noise although there is "normal" city noise being in downtown Chicago. I have emailed you separately to try to get some additional feedback. I hope that you would consider coming back again so that we could change your opinion.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I was only in town for the night, but had a great stay as usual. The staff is always friendly and welcoming, which is so refreshing, especially when you're on the road a lot. Great people make all the difference and you've got them. Keep up the good work!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you Steve Y for taking the time to write a review!!! I so appreciate your feedback about our staff and how friendly they are! I will definitely pass on your comments!
Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were in Chicago for a music festival at Soldiers Field and this location was perfect! We were able to walk home from the venue all 3 nights. We went with another couple and their room (616) had a bar area and chair with ottoman...ours did not (615). So, all of the rooms are a little different. The bed was very comfortable for me and my husband, which is amazing since we never agree on beds. We loved the decor in the room and the bathroom was really spacious and GORGEOUS. It is an open shower so you don't have the steam to keep you warm if not under the water. The bathroom doors slide on tracks so there is a one inch gap where the door isn't flat against the wall. Modesty & sound could be an issue if you were sharing a room with someone you aren't TOTALLY comfortable with. LOL! As a whole, we all loved the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maintzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you, Maintzmo, for taking the time to write a review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, thought it was a great location and appreciated our gorgeous décor and bathrooms!
We hope that you will visit us again, soon!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

As others have noted, the hotel is lovely. I was at the property for five nights, including a weekend. The room was huge, and surprisingly quiet. Also, the air conditioning worked well, which is not always the case in hotels. The exec event renovations to the bathrooms were great. Very spacious, my only complaint about the hotel, and the reason for only a very good, is that the towels in the bathroom we're awful, threadbare, each and every day. It is time to invest in new towels that better reflect the quality of the hotel.

The beginning of my stay was for a conference, and the hotel did a great job with the food and beverage services. The restaurant is very nice.

It is waking distance to the museum area of Chicago, and we had a great time visiting those attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerT796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Traveler T,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the location! I am so sorry that your towels were bad! I am definitely going to look into it as the team is supposed to remove the towels out of circulation that are worn. Obviously that didn't happen and I apologize. I hope that you will give us another chance!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Renaissance Hotel for three nights for business. The room was very comfortable, updated, nice bathrooms, great service. The restaurant in the lobby, the Mercat, is a tapas restaurant with absolutely excellent food and great service. It is walking distance from many of Chicago's attractions, including Millennium Park. If you ask for a room with a view, in the higher floors, you will have a fantastic view of Michigan Lake and the beautiful park in front of the hotel. My room 1522 was a great room. It is truly a nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello, travel a_ok!
Glad that you enjoyed the hotel including the location! Its great to be able to mix a little bit of pleasure with business and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#95 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#38 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing