We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location with extreme views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #37 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location with extreme views”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Blackstone is a quintessential historic landmark with all the amenities and comfort today's travelers crave; the tapas restaurant has wonderful food in a terrific setting; bed was luxurious - we slept great!

Room Tip: #18 rooms have spectacular, sweeping views of Lake Michigan and the Chicago skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Grace C -
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad that you found the property to your liking and enjoyed not only the location, but the amazing views from some of our rooms. I hope that you will visit the hotel again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    562
    130
    41
    26
See reviews for
305
548
113
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dayton,nv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We highly recommend staying at the Blackstone Renaissance Hotel. Coming to Chicago to celebrate the 4th of July, friends in the area advised us to stay here. It was a great location. All the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful in recommending things to see and do. We took a River/Lake cruise that explained the architecture and a "gangster" bus tour. Both very worth the money. We laughed through the gangster tour more than any comedy show. And both good ways to see the city.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake cost more. And it was just as easy to go down and experience Grant P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliedayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi JulieDayton,
thank you very much for taking time to review the Blackstone Renaissance! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and especially happy that you found the team to be accommodating and knowledgeable and able to recommend fun things to do in the area! Chicago is a GREAT city and I'm glad you enjoyed some of the history and culture!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a great hotel and a great location! The concierge lounge is one of the best I have ever visited! It was very easy to get a cab outside the front door and the Mercat Restaurant was fantastic. I will be coming to Chicago regularly and I will definitely stay here again and again!

Room Tip: I had a view of State and Wabash out the back. Next time I will ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHumanVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello The HumanVern -
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Blackstone Renaissance! We are thrilled that you will be coming back - please let me know when as I would like the opportunity to get you that view room - they really are amazing!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great room, but the weirdest bathroom I've ever seen. The sliding door did not close all the way which made the stay incredibly uncomfortable as we had to use the lobby bathroom for any sort of privacy. When we mentioned this to the front desk they said they were sorry and that was just the design. Who designs a bathroom where the door doesn't even close all the way? I think whoever built the door and doorway screwed up and they haven't bothered to fix it. I don't care how long you've been with someone or close you are with someone, for heaven's sake most people want their privacy in the bathroom!

Other than that VERY awkward part of the room, the hotel is very nice and rooms are nicely updated. Would only stay here again if the bathroom door "design" was changed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa10065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We are actually in the process of modifying the doors to the bathrooms which should be complete by the end of the year. I appreciate the rest of your great comments and hope that you will visit with us again.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic time at The Blackstone this past weekend. From the moment we walked into this historic gem we felt welcomed. We really enjoy historic hotels and knew The Blackstone was a treasure trove of Presidential stays and mobster visits. At check-in, Kristina greeted us with a warm smile as she provided a little background on the hotel, and gave us the best upgrade available - The Presidential suite! The room was the best we have ever stayed at, complete with a gold leaf fire place in the living room. Rory was also a delight throughout our visit, greeting us every time by name. These two were really wonderful at making the visit feel special. Thanks so much to the staff, and can't wait to visit again! - The Murrays

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMurraysNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
HI Murrays!!! thanks so much for the shout out to Kristina and Rory and for taking the time to write a review! I hope that your review would have been great if you were in just a regular room - which, by the way, are also great! I hope that you will come and visit with us again soon at the Blackstone Renaissance!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

booked via Priceline and was very pleasantly surprised. Phenomenal friendly and professional service and the room was outstanding. Clean, updated,charming, comfy , chic. special touches like artwork and sightseeing books.Spacious bathroom with walk in shower and tons of counter space. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return next time I am in Chicago.
I felt like I was in a very nice room in a lovely home instead of a hotel room.The bed was super comfy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Jana M -
WOW! thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review! What you experienced is exactly what we are trying to accomplish - making this your home away from home! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Blackstone Renaissance!
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
241 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I spent this past weekend in Chicago and stayed at this hotel....It is an historic hotel that has recently been renovated.... very nice lobby, clean, and the rooms were great.... we had a large room, sitting area, and great big bathroom with a partial view of the lake.... we bid on Priceline.com for 4 star and 5 star hotels and were able to get this hotel for 125.00 a night. A great deal.

Great location on Michigan avenue...two blocks to the Art Museum.... and you can park right across the street at Grant Underground for 34.00 a day....

The staff was great... they were very friendly, went out of their way to make sure our stay was positive... the Bell Boys and Valet were great....

I would highly recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Paul30 - I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that the Blackstone Renaissance exceeded your expectations! I'm especially happy that you found the staff to be accommodating and friendly! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,857 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing