We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #144 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Cocoa Beach
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel was okay for the price (after getting a deal on Groupon). It's very old, our room was a little smelly, there's a bed sheet over the comforter so you don't see the stains. The bathroom is tiny with no counter space. The website is very deceiving as I didn't see anything that looks like the pictures on their site. Our air conditioner was a beast, and would kick on (very loudly) ever 2-3 mins to cool the room for approximately a minute and then shut off. It was very hard to sleep with. But again, we couldn't beat the price with the Groupon deal and it was downtown and close to everything. The Sky terrace is awesome and a great place to sit in the sun with a book. If you're just looking for a hotel to sleep in at night without all the bells and whistles, this is the place for you. The one unique thing about this hotel that we love was the texting service. When you check in they ask for a cell phone number and then send you a text. You can reply back to this text at any time with questions of where to eat, when is check out, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Jamie Z,
We are glad you appreciated our text messaging service during your stay. This tool has proven very successful among our guests that have questions, concerns or requests while on property. We regret if the HVAC noise caused any inconvenience during your stay, and hope that you thought about using earplugs to help drown out the sound. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    634
    503
    222
    183
See reviews for
286
559
167
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon and stayed at this hotel. First off, they didn't honour our reservation of contemporary queen even though they had rooms available. The front desk suggested TGI Fridays to eat on our first night. We had to ask for another suggestion. Not our idea of a romantic dinner. The bathroom was tiny and the floor was do dirty I wouldn't go in barefoot. We were disappointed that the terrace closed at ten pm and didn't have bar service. That is misleading on the webpage. The only plus was that the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Karla C,
We regret to learn about your disappointing honeymoon experience. Please be assured that we value every one of our guests, and do everything to make sure their stay is as enjoyable as possible. It seems we fell short in delivering this basic promise to you, and for that we sincerely apologize. Please be assured that our guest rooms are thoroughly cleaned and do not want our guests to feel uncomfortable walking around barefoot.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I paid 650 for two nights and were not pleased. Our room was old - rundown, the bathrooms were tiny, the elevators took forever and the rooftop patio was dirty and unkept. Rather have paid a little bit extra and stayed elsewhere. We picked this hotel since most hotels in Chicago were booked for an oncology conference which drove up prices and inventory. Only plus, location, location, location! Close to all hotspots and a block off the magnificent mile. Walking distance to Navy Pier, Canals and fabulous dining. Btw, The Armenian restaurant across the street is amazing!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BennettTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear BennettTravels,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in town for the annual ASCO conference. Since our hotel is a historic building in downtown Chicago, our accommodations are a bit smaller and more simplistic than other modern hotels in Chicago. We continually maintain and clean our hotel on a 24/7 basis, and would never let our hotel become rundown. Our hotel's central location outshines other nearby accommodations, and glad you were able to experience this firsthand.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My in-laws purchased this hotel for a group of us through Groupon. Like most groupon buys, it was a bad deal. We had two adjoining rooms, one of which was a suite. Both rooms were DIRTY...filthy bathroom, grimy windows, worn furniture, and the carpet was gross! The room also smelled of urine, which really made it extra special. We had our two children with us and my 10month old's feet were black from crawling on the carpet after 5 minutes. We asked for a better room and they showed us an equally dirty option. Finally, on the day we were checking out, my husband went in the bathroom, the door knob broke and trapped him in. It took maintenance 15 to let him out. If I had purchased this room myself, I would have walked out as soon as we saw the room (but I didn't want to insult my father-in-law). The worst part was that it wasn't even cheap; the rooms cost $200/night. We love the Trump hotel and the Hyatt. For a little more money, you can afford to not stay in this disgusting place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank realtorroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear realtorroz,
Thank you for taking the time to communicate the challenges concerning your recent experience at our hotel. Your review begs several additional questions as your experience is a highly irregular account of the accommodations offered at our hotel.
We appreciate your feedback, as this helps us become the very best that we can be, and look forward to speaking with you directly concerning your recent stay. Our Hotel Manager, Nick Katinos, may be contacted at 312-573-3132, or nick.katinos@innofchicago.com. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Avoid noisy rooms near the elevators and voltage distribution rooms (if I remember well, it was the room #1819), or bring with you good ear caps.
They moved us to a different room, where the heating wasn't working.
Apart from that, the rooms were clean and the staff were really friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrsp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jrsp16,
Now that we have entered into the summer season in Chicago, the heat has been turned off in the building and apologize if this caused any inconvenience. We are pleased that our team worked to relocate you to a different guest room, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Thought i was getting a great Groupon deal when I saw the "96$" a night green price tag. Selected my 3 nights mid week in June and it was actually $130+. Then called Groupon to cancel 2 weeks in advance and rebook my dates to a week earlier and was told I could only get Groupon bucks. Rebooked and POOF my rate skyrocketed to almost $800 with fees amd taxes ???? This tiny, dingy, paper stiff sheet hotel was not worth $100 a night! Only thing nice was location off Michigan Ave and the doormen. THAT'S ALL! Shady stuff going on between this hotel and Groupon..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear tara,
It appears that you initially bought the Inn of Chicago Groupon, but then cancelled your reservation shortly thereafter based upon the price jump. Please note that the Groupon offer generally excludes the taxes and service fees for the room rate, and regret if this mislead you. Although we are not certain of the details of your second reservation, it appears you chose not to use the Groupon offer and instead book the rack rate. We maintain an honest working relationship with Groupon, and never intend to make a guest feel mislead with our discounted rates.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, MT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

$250 for this. It was a high demand period for rooms in Chicago but this was the worst room I have ever stayed in. There is no excuse for peeling wall paper with mold that looks like it had been going on for months or years. Maybe we need inspectors for hotels like we do for restaurants. They would fail. The lacy at the front desk was very nice when wet checked in but when we went to check out when we found the mold, we were not offered any apology or remedy or refund.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MTConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear MTConsumer,
We are passionate about the safety and comfort of our guests and as I am sure you can imagine, our reputation and future business would be devastated if we failed to maintain a clean, safe and comfortable environment for our guests. We have also implemented a thorough training program for our housekeeping and maintenance personnel to assist in recognition of mold. Your review begs several additional questions as your experience is a highly irregular account of our guest room conditions. I am particularly concerned that we were not able to address your concerns prior to your departure. Please feel free to contact our Hotel Manager, Nick Katinos, at: 312-573-3132 or via email at: nick.katinos@innofchicago.com.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 190 in Chicago
1,642 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
4,450 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing