We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all kind of.. blah”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #150 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location- right off the Mag Mile, and the lobby and bar are very cute. However, the rest of the hotel is in desperate need of upgrades and a good deep cleaning. The wallpaper and paint are peeling in the rooms and common areas, the room smelled constantly damp and the AC never quite worked properly- it always blew warmish air no matter what temperature it was set to. Our bed was very clearly old, so much so you could see the mattress was at an angle when you first walked in the room, and there was a mystery black stain all over our mirror (in room 1203.) The rooftop deck was also a huge letdown- there's a beautiful view of the city up there; but it's marred by all the garbage, broken glass, beer bottles and cigarette butts that are left behind and never picked up. I only stayed for one night thankfully.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdkswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

kdswim - The skyline terrace is one of the hidden gem's at our hotel offering spectacular panoramic views of the city. It disappoints us to hear if there was garbage present on the terrace. This is completely unacceptable, and will address internally to ensure no other guest reports a similar situation moving forward. Please be assured of our best efforts to regain your confidence in us, and hope you will return for a much improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
There are newer reviews for Inn of Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal. The room was clean. The staff was friendly.
I was disappointed that the rate did not include any breakfast. I was there during a convention and my rate was just shy of $400/night. You would think this would include something.

I used the valet service and it was very convenient. As I was getting in my car to leave I double checked my receipt and discovered that I was charged an extra day of valet service. Double check your bill. I'm just glad I looked before i was on the road home.

Over all I was satisfied with my stay. For the money, there are better choices that would get you breakfast as well as other amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible. Lots of street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

indybrad- Thank you for acknowledging our convenient location and friendly staff. We apologize if you discovered a duplicate charge prior to your departure, and hope we were able to rectify this discrepancy in a timely manner. Since we are not a full-service hotel, we do not offer breakfast for our guests. However, there is a coffee and pastry shop adjacent to the hotel called LavAzza which is a great alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I did not actually stay at the Inn of Chicago. I booked a reservation via Amtrak hotels. I wanted a room for one night, but did not notice that the site had defaulted check in and check out dates for a week. Before I realized my error, I had booked a hotel room for 7 nights for close to $1000. I immediately tried to cancel the reservation but received the message that whether I canceled or not, I would not be refunded. The next day I called Orbitz and the policy was repeated to me. I explained the situation and was told I could try calling the hotel to see if they would not charge Orbitz. After a few phone calls back and forth, I asked to speak to the hotel manager, and though he said the nonrefundable policy was driven by the contract between the hotel and Orbitz, he said he would contact Orbitz to communicate that the hotel would not charge Orbitz for the reservation, and requested they refund my money. In spite of several conflicting emails from Orbitz and the Amtrak site over the course of several days stating that they could not refund my money, I received an email from the hotel assistant manager confirming that Orbitz would refund my money. Fortunately that occured today. I am grateful for the effort made by the hotel manager and assistant manager to make this happen.

Room Tip: not applicable
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi David- That is wonderful news! Your testament reveals just how much our team goes above and beyond for our guests. We appreciate you sharing how grateful you are for the refund, and hope you decide to stay with us sometime in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked this through Priceline. When we arrived we were given a room with ONE queen bed and told that it was a room "for people who booked using a 3rd party payer" and to "upgrade" it was a $20 charge per night. I was traveling with my 15 year old daughter and felt there wasn't much choice. The hotel was MODERATELY clean. Service was decent but by no definition was it 3 star. The location of the hotel was convenient. When I paid the additional fee per night to have 2 beds, we were then told we would have a "renovated" room. Not so. The linens were stained. The bathroom was tiny.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Kelly W- We regret to learn about your disappointing experience. Please be assured that we value every one of our guests, and do everything to make sure their stay is as enjoyable as possible. It seems we fell short in delivering this basic promise to you, and for that we sincerely apologize. We will address your comments about the linens internally, and assure you it is not our standard to provide any substandard amenities to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I also got Groupon deal. I was going to Chicago and my wife found the Groupon offer. The description Groupon gave was NOT what I found. The halls had stains on the floor. I had a reservation for a suite because I was traveling with a male friend and we both snore. I expected a queen bed in a room and fold out couch in the other area. We got to the room and found it was just one room. When we mentioned this to the desk, they said their suites have the queen bed and that none of their rooms have a separate bedroom. My friend got a separate room. The hotel is just OK, but just feels rather run down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stefanoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Stefanoh,
We regret to learn if our Groupon offer did not specify that our guest rooms do not have a separate bedrooms. Please accept our apology for the confusion, and hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in us.
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here while on vacation and have to say I was nervous before arriving because of some negative comments found here but was pleasantly surprised. All the workers at the desk were friendly, informative and professional. Was hoping to check in early due to an early flight arrival and was unable to do so but the hotel offered a bag service and stored all our luggage for us so we could enjoy to city on our first day. The location is amazing it’s within walking distance of almost everything. Has a 7 eleven, dunkin donuts, Burrito Beach and Baskin Robins across the street which were all so convenient. The hotel itself is a little older but it adds to its charm. We were on the 18th floor and had a nice view towards the Magnificent Mile and had a clean and comfortable room. The bathroom is on the smallish side but it is functional and the shower has plenty of hot water and pressure. Unfortunately the Air Conditioner kicked off more often than we would have liked but the room was still a comfortable temperature. Overall I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, friendly and budget friendly place in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulieatSibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear JulieatSibu,
Great comments! We are very happy to hear that our location and service exceeded expectations during your stay. Thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel was okay for the price (after getting a deal on Groupon). It's very old, our room was a little smelly, there's a bed sheet over the comforter so you don't see the stains. The bathroom is tiny with no counter space. The website is very deceiving as I didn't see anything that looks like the pictures on their site. Our air conditioner was a beast, and would kick on (very loudly) ever 2-3 mins to cool the room for approximately a minute and then shut off. It was very hard to sleep with. But again, we couldn't beat the price with the Groupon deal and it was downtown and close to everything. The Sky terrace is awesome and a great place to sit in the sun with a book. If you're just looking for a hotel to sleep in at night without all the bells and whistles, this is the place for you. The one unique thing about this hotel that we love was the texting service. When you check in they ask for a cell phone number and then send you a text. You can reply back to this text at any time with questions of where to eat, when is check out, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Jamie Z,
We are glad you appreciated our text messaging service during your stay. This tool has proven very successful among our guests that have questions, concerns or requests while on property. We regret if the HVAC noise caused any inconvenience during your stay, and hope that you thought about using earplugs to help drown out the sound. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
1,722 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#140 of 191 in Chicago
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £55 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing