We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby - public areas upstairs could use a lift”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff at this hotel are 99% superb- one night clerk was a bit indifferent and had to be coaxed a little to be helpful. Rooms were spotless and despite the older carpet my asthma did not bother me at all. If you ask for a quiet room it is truly quiet. When i had difficulties with my key it was dealt with immediately and they even gave me a chocolate treat for the bother. It is very well situated in Chicago and the price was reasonable compared to other close by properties.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cantravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

cantravelbug- Thank you for acknowledging our superb service at the Inn of Chicago. We do everything in our ability to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible throughout the entirety of their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

No doubt this is a really good location. However you really don't get much for the price. The room rate doesn't sound bad at first but by the time they add on taxes and fees and parking you end up paying around 200 a night. Room was small and I believe we had one of the original beds from when the hotel was built in the 20's. Just about the worst mattress I have ever seen in a hotel. Rooftop terrace is a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

T E- Glad you enjoyed our central location and rooftop terrace, however, we regret if the mattress was not to your liking and apologize if this caused any discomfort during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Attended a week-long meeting in Chicago at this hotel. For those who are value shoppers like me attending professional meetings on your own nickel or trying to save the boss money, this is a hotel which offers great value - roughly half the daily fare of the other major chain hotels in the area. The rooms are clean, the A/C was a particularly quiet unit, and the desk service is efficient and polite. The bathroom was small with a rather tiny sink but still functional. Like some of the higher-end hotels, wi-fi was only available in the lobby. Local across-the-street amenities include a Dunkin Donuts for a fast breakfast sandwich, and a Jimmy-Johns and fast Mexican for lunch. Overall, I was quite satisfied with this choice and would recommend it for those traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sinktester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

sinktester- We are one of the best values in the heart of downtown Chicago, and you definitely made a wise decision to stay with us! Thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The rooms were really small but the staff was wonderful. The hotel was clean and I would stay again at this hotel. The location was perfect. The service standards are high and I appreciate feeling valued as a customer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannibey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dannibey- We value each and every one of our customers and appreciate you acknowledging our exceptional service efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is very well located in one of the best areas of Chicago.

Regarding the hotel, the building is a classic one (I think it has 22 floors), different to the newer impersonal ones and the rooms and big enough.

However, it do not have restaurant (breakfast or dinner have to resolved outside) and the rooms and quite old and without the required space for storing all the content of a big suitcase.

The different in price with other options is too small for the limited services offered.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank tapatio1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

tapatio1995- We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location. Our hotel is a historic facility built in 1927 and is a true windy city treasure. We do not have a restaurant on-site, however, guests are encouraged to order from the in-room directory of restaurants that deliver to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ignore what people on this website are saying! I was freaking out after I booked it and was reading all the reviews! This hotel was clean and the rooms were perfect! Quick check-in and the elevators were very small, however we never waited to long for one! The patio up on the 22nd floor was beautiful and very relaxing! We sat up there during the day and also at night. This was a great location being only a block from Michigan Ave. There is a Duncan Donuts across the street for your morning coffee as well. Very enjoyable stay and would return to this property!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Sheri L- Thank you for your review! We are excited to hear how much you enjoyed our 22nd floor skyline terrace during your stay. Glad you took advantage of the Dunkin Donuts store across the street from us... they have great coffee to start your morning off right. It gives us great pleasure to see that you would return to us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Me and my buddy decided on a last minuet trip to Chicago for his birthday. Every hotel was booked on the Magnificent Mile through Orbitz, Expedia and all the other booking sites. We were about to give up when we came across a Hot Deal on Hotwire.com They guaranteed us at least a 3 star hotel on the Magnificent Mile but would not tell us the name until we booked it. We decided to roll the dice and see what we got. Very glad we did as this hotel was 5 blocks from the beach. There is a 7-11 (open 24/7 that serves booze all night) and restaurants directly across the street. Bars, night life and the subway are all within a short walk as well.
Hotel was very clean and updated. Only downside i seen was no swimming pool and they did not have room service or a restaurant. Not a big deal as the beach was so close and restaurants are every where you look

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mondains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

mondains- Glad you ended up staying with us for your friend's birthday! We hope you had a fun time celebrating. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#108 of 192 in Chicago
1,791 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,062 reviews
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#124 of 192 in Chicago
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £48 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing