We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Highly Reccomended”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #144 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Value, Highly Reccomended”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the best price for a wonderful location. You are a few blocks from public transportation, as well as great food. The hotel was fine, the room was very small though. I also asked for a room up high away from street noise and they put me on the 4th floor, facing the street. All that said, street noise wasn't bad, the bed was comfortable. You had to pay for wifi which I thought was kind of silly but my phone signal worked great from cellular service. I would definitely recommend this hotel based on the price I paid compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Josh T- We are glad that you appreciated our unbeatable value and central location. Thank you for highly recommending the Inn of Chicago, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    634
    503
    222
    183
See reviews for
286
559
167
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I must confess that I was not so sure if booking in this property would be a good idea, after reading so divergent reviews here in tripadvisor. But I've followed my guts and have taken a risk. Gladly. It was a very acceptable hotel to stay in the epicenter of Chicago, in a walking distant to many good places to visit, eat or enjoy. You can take a trolley to those hip-on/hip-off loops around the town; you can take a bite at Eataly; you can shop till die in Magnificent Miles. The only negative points, for me, was that the hotel doesn't offer wifi connection in guest rooms (let's face it: nowadays it's unacceptable) and the closest subway station is a little bit far from the hotel. At the end, I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is visiting Chicago. And definitely will be a guest again!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Drigorsidrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Drigorsidrim- Thank you for highly recommending the Inn of Chicago! We are happy that you enjoyed our close proximity to Eataly and the hop-on/hop-off trolley. Please be aware that we offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby of the hotel, however, the cost for in-room WiFi is a minimum of $5.95 for a 24-hour period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My partner booked through a deal on Expedia. We were a bit worried about the bad reviews but decided to take a chance. The location can't be beat, that's for sure! The lobby and rooftop lounge are great,there is a bar in the lobby where you can purchase drinks to take up to the rooftop, or like us, you can take up a bottle of wine or a few beers and enjoy the views both in the daytime and evening. The sign says not to take glass to the rooftop but we did and were never told to remove it. The Dunkin' doughnuts across the street was a godsend as there is no restaurant in the hotel. We arrived at at the hotel after 5pm and there was not a room ready for us, and we had to wait an hour for a room to be ready. The rooms are fine although not very pleasing to the eye. The bathroom was tiny but clean. We had no issues with the cleanliness of our room but the hallways are horrible! The carpet is coming up resulting in huge lumps in the carpet which made it hard to walk in the halls without tripping. the wallpaper and paint is peeling and the hallways just felt dingy. As others have mentioned the elevators are tiny but they were never an issue for us.If we had spent full price for our room I would not be happy at all.All in all we had a great vacation in Chicago and the Inn of Chicago, while not perfect, fit our needs as a place to relax after a long day of sightseeing (rooftop patio) and sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kacee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Kacee28- Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago! We are happy that you enjoyed our rooftop terrace and innbar. We greatly value your observations about the hallways, and will address your comments internally to ensure that other guests do not report a similar description moving forward. It is always nice to hear that our hotel was a relaxing oasis at the end of a long day of sightseeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

At first I was a bit weary of booking here based on some reviews. Needed to find a place near where my son lives. We were pleasantly surprised. The employees were very friendly. The room was very clean. Yes it is not the fanciest of places, but we were only looking for a decent place to sleep while we visited with our son. The Inn met our expectations. We had a very good experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bdjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
bgjag- Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago while visiting your son. We are very happy that our service and accommodations met your expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the smallest elevator ever! Four people and it's full. Room was tired and not very well furnished. WiFi only available in lobby. One plus is access to the coffee shop from the hotel! Roof terrace provides good views of the skyline but no facilities up there so you have to take drinks from the bar in the lobby!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickoo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Nickoo9- We may not be the most luxurious hotel in Chicago, however we offer many unique features that other hotels do not. Our location is one of the best in downtown Chicago, and the skyline views from our rooftop are breathtaking. Since we do not offer a bar on the rooftop, we encourage our guests to take their beverages from the innbar up to the rooftop terrace so they can relax and unwind after a long day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms were really nice and clean. Staff at the front desk were very helpful and answered any questions we had. This hotel was in the PERFECT location for the mile and Navy Pier, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooniegirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff at this hotel are 99% superb- one night clerk was a bit indifferent and had to be coaxed a little to be helpful. Rooms were spotless and despite the older carpet my asthma did not bother me at all. If you ask for a quiet room it is truly quiet. When i had difficulties with my key it was dealt with immediately and they even gave me a chocolate treat for the bother. It is very well situated in Chicago and the price was reasonable compared to other close by properties.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
cantravelbug- Thank you for acknowledging our superb service at the Inn of Chicago. We do everything in our ability to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible throughout the entirety of their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 190 in Chicago
1,644 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
4,454 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing