We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value ... Yay!”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #138 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value ... Yay!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

When booking one of the most affordable hotels in the premier location of any major city, you have to be ready for a less than 5 star experience. However, the pleasant and friendly staff at this place made it as good as we could reasonably expect. The rooms were small, but functional. The lobby bar was cramped and the hours were odd, but it was serviceable. I didn't make it to the fitness center, but the fact it had one was more than I expected! Plus, when I called to retrieve a pair of shoes I left behind, they mailed them to me ASAP!!! Disclaimer: the trip was a bachelor party, so we weren't too worried about outstanding accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neslryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
neslryan- The Inn of Chicago is one of the best values in downtown Chicago, right off the major Magnificent Mile and Ohio Street intersection. We appreciate you acknowledging our friendly service and affordable rates. Glad our team was able to retrieve your shoes and send them to you so quickly! We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    619
    495
    217
    173
See reviews for
279
544
160
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Incredibly surly and unhelpful night staff (evening of 7/7/14). Yes it is possible to cope with the relatively poor and non-updated facilities because one gets what one pays for, and this is cheapish and with a good location. But customer service and basic decency costs little.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rovingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
rovingdoctor- Everyone here is extremely passionate about delivering an amazing experience to each guest who walks through our doors and when we miss on one, it really hurts. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations; however, your experience is certainly not a typical one. It is never our intention to come off rude or unhelpful with our customers, and will address your concerns internally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is old, needs some spiffing up, but is located in a great spot - walk to many fabulous places. Small rooms. Terrace on the top floor was great - we had a nightcap there every night. Wifi in the lobby only - really in downtown Chicago? Expected it in my room.

Room Tip: Slow and small elevators, but it's nice to stay on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Cindy L- Thank you for your review. We understand that some of our furnishings and decor are somewhat dated, however, we prize ourselves on our unbeatable location and gorgeous skyline terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtice, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel at the very last minute through my employers 'workperk' program and got a very good rate. My husband and I travelled with our two teenaged children. The location is excellent. The rooms, a little dated and a small washroom, but it met our needs. We were on the 15th floor and I felt our room was clean. AC worked well and overall it was a quiet hotel. We had two double beds. They would not accomodate us with the cot, which wasn't the end of the world, but would have made it a little more comfortable for us. There definately was space in the room to accommodate a cot, but I understand they have fire regulations to follow. I was able to get free wi-fi as I am a CHOICE member. Actually, I didn't realize that and was advised upon check in with the code. Years ago I had signed up for their 'points' program. There is no fee for it, so if you are wanting the wi-fi for free just sign up on-line prior to check in. We did not want to drive around at all while we were there. The parking garage for this hotel was conveniently located just diagonally across the street. Self park was $48 a night. We did the double decker bus tour to get our bearings and learn about this city. We went to the US Cellular Fields to catch a Jays game. The subway is an easy walking distance and their subway lines were easy to follow. The location of this hotel was central to everything. I would definately go back to this hotel based on it's location and if I got a reasonable rate again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Powlz- Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago! We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed our central downtown location and great price proposition. Glad you were able to secure complimentary in-room WiFi with your Choice membership. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you would return to us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was, simply put, average. The lobby areas were clean and updated, but the rooms were nothing to write home about. Small and very basic. We had one small window and only lamp lighting so the rooms were dim. The bathroom is quite small and not in the greatest shape. The hallways in particular were in bad shape as well. The carpet was lumpy, dirty, and badly needed to be replaced. The wallpaper was patchy and looked dirty. Elevators were quite slow but we were on the 3rd floor so often opted for the stairs.

However, the location absolutely cannot be beat. 1 block from mag mile, blocks from transit, close to beach. Perfect location to see and do a lot in the city. Because of that, we didn't spend very much time in the room or at the hotel. It served our purposes just fine. We did not get a chance to checkout the rooftop deck as it closes at 8pm. Would have been nice to enjoy a nightcap up there with a glass of wine.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a place to rest your head while gallivanting around the city, this place would fit the bill. But if you want a little more pampering and amenities, you may have to pay a little more for a higher end hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alli_5587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
alli_5587- Our accommodations are not luxurious by any means, rather more inviting with home-like comforts, personalized service, and simple in-room amenities. Since we are a historic building in Chicago, our guest rooms are a bit more initiate in size. We pride ourselves on our prime location only half a block from the Magnificent Mile, and glad you enjoyed this aspect as well. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the best price for a wonderful location. You are a few blocks from public transportation, as well as great food. The hotel was fine, the room was very small though. I also asked for a room up high away from street noise and they put me on the 4th floor, facing the street. All that said, street noise wasn't bad, the bed was comfortable. You had to pay for wifi which I thought was kind of silly but my phone signal worked great from cellular service. I would definitely recommend this hotel based on the price I paid compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Josh T- We are glad that you appreciated our unbeatable value and central location. Thank you for highly recommending the Inn of Chicago, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I must confess that I was not so sure if booking in this property would be a good idea, after reading so divergent reviews here in tripadvisor. But I've followed my guts and have taken a risk. Gladly. It was a very acceptable hotel to stay in the epicenter of Chicago, in a walking distant to many good places to visit, eat or enjoy. You can take a trolley to those hip-on/hip-off loops around the town; you can take a bite at Eataly; you can shop till die in Magnificent Miles. The only negative points, for me, was that the hotel doesn't offer wifi connection in guest rooms (let's face it: nowadays it's unacceptable) and the closest subway station is a little bit far from the hotel. At the end, I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is visiting Chicago. And definitely will be a guest again!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Drigorsidrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Drigorsidrim- Thank you for highly recommending the Inn of Chicago! We are happy that you enjoyed our close proximity to Eataly and the hop-on/hop-off trolley. Please be aware that we offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby of the hotel, however, the cost for in-room WiFi is a minimum of $5.95 for a 24-hour period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing