We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed 5 days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #85 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We enjoyed 5 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel for 5 nights. We opted for this Hotel about 4 miles from the loop because we wanted a place with good restaurants nearby and a feel of small town. The hotel is well situated and the area that you pass through on the way to the loop is very nice.

The lobby is first class as are the desk clerks and bell hops. The maids are hard to communicate with. I understand that they are Polish and do not read or speak English for the most part. The beds are very comfortable and once my wife got the duvet covers made up correctly we had no other problems with the maids. The room is somewhat small but adequate. It had a small refrigerator and microwave. The toilet was installed on a raised 2 inch block that was a toe thumper. Every time you turned around you were hitting a toe on one side or the other.. A very negative point was a severe safety problem due to a lack of any handhold in the shower. If you loose your balance you are a goner. Another needed improvement were the towels and wash cloths which felt like scrub brushes. My wife thought that they would be improved by a fabric softener but I think it was poor quality. In spite of these two things I am glad that we stayed here. There was a nice grocery across the street and a Panera Bread a few doors away.

We parked the car for $23 a night through the hotel and used bus and train. We bought a 7 day Transit pass and used 3 bus lines at the nearest corner. One of them took us directly to the loop area and returned us (Line 22). The Chicago Transit System is very good and many drivers (with one exception) were very friendly and helpful. Due to circumstances of our doing we had to use taxis 3 times and found them expensive.

Two of the taxis were to and from the Apollo Theater that was near by and running The Million Dollar Quartet. It has been running since December 2010 and may run until December 2012. Very enjoyable and we ate great Chicago deep dish pizza at Lou Malenati’s across the street from the theater.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGator086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    1,045
    299
    70
    53
See reviews for
924
618
302
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I wasn't sure we'd like being out of the downtown area while visiting Chicago. We have found this hotel to be very convenient to transit into the city proper as well as a short walk from Lincoln Park. The neighborhood is safe and friendly; lots of small shops and restaurants. The desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room has been immaculately cleaned each day and was sparkling when we arrived. The TV is not a plasma or led, but we didn't come here to watch television. Everyone from the door man to housekeeping staff have been welcoming. If I come back to Chicago, I'll plan to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The place was clean and all the staff was very friendly and for the most part helpful (one staff member, valet, sent me in the wrong direction at one point. Breakfast was what you would expect from continental. But rooms were small and the TV (room 304) was not HD (and at times with static that in this day you don't usually see) as my friend down the hall was. They should probably update all rooms. There definitely was street noise but it is Chicago. In the future, I would stay at a multi-story hotel and stay towards the top. Overall the hotel is very basic- no pool or gym. But we didn't spend a lot of time there so I guess that was ok (although I would've had time to work out if there was a gym). I probably would not stay there again but for the price, not bad. One last thing, the mattress and pillows were hard. Between the street noise and that, didn't get restful sleep at all while there.

Room Tip: I guess maybe a room facing the alley. Not a good view but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I usually stay in one of the small boutique type hotels in Lincoln Park. Frankly, I decided to stay at this hotel because it was inexpensive and in a good location. I didn't know what to expect. I was really impressed and had a great stay! My room was immaculate and had all the features I needed. The breakfast was very nice and the dining room staff was extremely attentive. The front desk folks were warm, full of smiles and always helpful. I enjoyed my visit and will return. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCaArgentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Unlike the 1 to 2 stars all Days Inns are this is a 5 star hotel! Nice area too. Great staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stampdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have never written a review while still IN the hotel before but I feel compelled by the nature of the place and the staff, Quite clearly the negative comments of 5 years ago spurred the owners into life and they really have made a silk purse out of a sow's ear! I have never had a hotel room in a capital city at such a reasonable price for such high quality. Sure, it hasn't got a pool...big deal, Lake Michigan is a couple of blocks away if swimming is what you go to a hotel for. I go for comfort, security, friendly staff and access to the main attractions. All these are available without question. From reception greeting me on arrival (thank you, Albert), through to any question I had, be it ever so trivial, I was treated with total courtesy and respect...and the guys on the desk actually know what they're talking about. This hotel should be the flagship of Days Inn, it's nothing fancy to look at but everyone is there for your satisfaction. Rooms immaculate, comfortable beds, adequate breakfast, free wi-fi and buses into town outside your door. I agree, if I had a car, valet parking is expensive but this is a big city....the car is not welcome, there is no space! Come on, try it, for the money you won't be disappointed and if you are then they will want to know about it - they really care!

Room Tip: King size rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Busmantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a very clean, friendly, well-located hotel. Latasha was extremely patient and kind through many emails as I wanted know all I possibly could about the hotel and the area. We used the valet parking (at $22 a day with in-out privileges it's a bargain here or any other big city) and we were treated wonderfully, which made for an excellent first impression. Check-in was quick and easy and the desk and bell staff were friendly and professional. Our room was a two-queen business class, with a microwave, refrigerator, big closet. and very clean and inviting. We usually do not have housekeeping done when we stay for an extended period of time, except for fresh towels, but this Days Inn insists on cleaning the room after three days, which we thought was an indication of its dedication to cleanliness. The free continental breakfast was fine, no eggs or meat, just pastries, bagels, juice and coffee, and the breakfast area was pleasant. Most of all, we really appreciated the location and the helpfulness of the staff. We normally stay at Marriott properties and have been unimpressed with other Days Inns, but we recommend the Days Inn Chicago. It is in a lovely building in a great neighborhood with a wonderful staff. We did get what we thought was a good deal by booking in advance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#143 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#47 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chicago

Property: Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012/2009/2004 Days Inn Property of the Year (>126 rooms)! Days Inn Chicago is located in the heart of bustling Lincoln Park/Lakeview, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. Guests are within walking distance of dining, shopping and theaters as well as Wrigley Field and Lincoln Park Zoo. A short cab ride will take you to DePaul University, Michigan Avenue, McCormick Place, Millennium Park and Navy Pier. The hotel offers guests free Wi-Fi, a free access to LA Fitness next door, valet parking and upgraded bedding. Days Inn Chicago has also been called Rock and Roll Days Inn because it has been a home away from home for many known bands. You can follow us on Facebook at "Days Inn Chicago" or on Twitter as "DaysInnChicago." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing