We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Wrigley, clean, but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #95 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in June of 2014 when we took in the 100th birthday celebration of Wrigley Field. The room was very clean, but a little cramped on space. The bed pretty much took up the whole room. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The walk to Wrigley was not bad. We started out taking a cab, which took a wrong turn on a street under construction. As we sat watching the meter tick, we handed the cabbie five bucks and hiked to Wrigley Field. The day was VERY cold and on the return back to the hotel we found a wonderful fish and chips bar (Duke of Perth) featuring an all-you-can-eat fish and chips special. Many good restaurants surround the area in addition to our find. All in all, our experience was fun, and we both agreed, under similar circumstances we would stay at the Days Inn Chicago another time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Calamityjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Calamityjan,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago and for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and that you enjoyed our clean accommodations and friendly staff. We're glad that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Wrigley Field and countless restaurants. Duke of Perth is a great choice! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Chicago. We recommend trying one of our larger standard rooms (like ones with a queen or king size bed), or any of our Business Class rooms which are quite a bit larger than our standard rooms and include additional amenities like a microwave, minifridge, complimentary bottled water, and snacks. Thank you again for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the this hotel for two nights for a Cubs game the end of June 2014. It is a great location to Wrigley, only about a 1.2 mile walk down Clark St. There are also lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Although the street noise could be heard - we travel with a sound machine and they also provided ear plugs in the bathroom so it was not an issue at all for sleeping. The beds were very comfortable and it was nice having a refrigerator in the room.The staff was extremley polite, valet parking was nice (altough we did not move car) & breakfast was great for a continental (bagels, waffles, yogurt, fruits, toast, etc). We will definitely stay here again as we love Chicago & this was not a bad price compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about street noise ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adams6438020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Adams6438020,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago and for taking the time to share your positive comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our exciting location near Wrigley Field! We're also pleased to know that you found our beds to be comfortable, our complimentary breakfast to be satisfying, and our valet parking to be a nice service. We hope that we may welcome you back to our Lincoln Park/Lakeview hotel on your next visit to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a terrible experience with this hotel and would never recommend it to anyone. We were using a credit my father in law had from a previously booked room that he was not able to use. That apparently was problem number 1. The date we needed to use the credit they tell us requires an upcharge since it was July 4th weekend. Umm, ok. However, ultimately we couldn't make it on that date so my wife (and we have the phone records to prove it...which is sad that I even have to mention that) calls 2 weeks before the night we are to stay there (WELL in advance of their "24 hour cancellation policy") to cancel. First, the lady tells her they can't cancel it because it is a credit. We say, wait what? What do you mean you can't cancel it, we're not getting stuck with this upcharge because you don't know how to do your job. She then says you can cancel, but you'll lose the credit (already paid for mind you). Ok, fine. Cancel it and we lose the credit, let's be done with it but we're not getting stuck with the upcharge. But that's just the beginning.
So we call back the day of the previous should-have-been-cancelled booking because we feel uneasy given it seemed like the previous person we talked to to cancel didn't know what she was doing and sure enough, she failed to properly cancel our reservation. Now we are told "there is nothing I can do since it's inside the 24 hours and we have this policy" (nevermind we called 2 WEEKS ago and canceled, but that person messed up) and we're going to be stuck with this extra upcharge and our credit is gone. So we are told to call back after 930AM to speak to the manager that same day (July 5th). We call back and guess what, no manager is going to be in today all of the sudden. So either we were lied to or this is more incompetence. The persons we speak to are also incredibly rude, which is shocking considering they made the mistake and this is an industry that is centered on customer service/satisfaction.
At this point we're done playing nice guy and demand to speak to a supervisor. We are told there isn't one available all weekend now, call back for Scott the manager Monday. So we call corporate to file a complaint, which they file, but they say we need to talk to the local hotel manager about the potential incorrect charge since they failed to cancel our reservation. The hotel says we should expect to hear back from Scott the manager Monday. So Monday rolls around...no call back at all. None.
My wife calls and she is then called back by a Stephanie (apparently Scott the manager is too busy or too much of a coward to actual deal with a complaint) who is argumentative, accusatory, rude and completely not helpful. She accuses us of lying about cancelling (uh, we have phone records of calling there) and refuses to help us. Rather than apologize for a mistake their hotel made, she was accusing us of lying and being incredibly rude to my wife. This is the kind of service you can expect from this hotel. There are many others in Chicago and Lincoln Park where you won't have to deal with this nonsense. Avoid this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnChicago, General Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Josh G;

Thank you for choosing the Days Inn Chicago for your stay in Chicago. I’m sorry you were unable to stay.

While we have a variety of rates and typically a 24 hour cancellation policy, the specific discounted rate that was booked in this case did not allow for cancellations or changes. One has to check a box acknowledging the fact that he or she is booking a no cancel/no change reservation. When we received the call in February to cancel this reservation, we changed the arrival date from February to June so the room could be used at a later date. In fact we made a second goodwill change to the reservation – to a new July date and changed the name of the arriving guest – so the credit wouldn’t be lost. Yes, the rates in July are higher than in February so you were informed that we would charge an additional amount.

I apologize that the front desk manager was not in when you called on Saturday, which was also your arrival date. However, I received the information from corporate and I did call your wife Monday morning to discuss the matter. I was trying to get as much information as possible from her as she was unable to provide me with a cancellation number. I was told that if I don’t issue the credit she would write negative reviews on various review sites. I told her I would have to do additional research and that I would call her back.

Every keystroke related to every reservation is logged. Looking at the log for this reservation, we did not access the reservation from the hotel, but a confirmation was emailed by Days Inn central reservations two weeks prior to the July date. When one calls to cancel a reservation we do so immediately and provide the caller with a cancellation number. Cancellation emails are sent out upon request. This reservation was not cancelled. There were various notes in the reservation regarding the goodwill changes we made, but no indication that someone tried to cancel the reservation. We often issue goodwill credits and always try to work with guests, but when we are threatened with negative reviews we are much more likely to adhere to our policies – in this case not to issue a credit without a cancellation number. I left your wife a voice mail Monday afternoon that the no-show charges would stand.

We are sorry you are not satisfied with hotel policy and this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had the worth experience to stay in this hotel. I had injury in gym with stability ball to been used on highly polished wooden floor.
General manager was so rude and unprofessional manners to talk to me. She show her racist attitude to discriminate me like as a immigrant people.
I had express doctor in my room with Bill of $750 what is the hotel insurance com pant refused to cover at all.
Just absolutely WOW. Stay away from places like that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnChicago, General Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Tanya P.

Thank you for choosing the Days Inn Chicago for your stay in Chicago. Our new state of the art fitness room was built with a special commercial floor that was specifically developed to reduce the risk of injury associated with falls. With a 5mm recycled rubber backing and specially coated top layer it’s recommended for healthcare & senior living spaces, gyms, and many other facilities. Our fitness room is brand and insurance approved. Mats are available directly next to the stability balls.

We pride ourselves in great customer service. Guest well-being and satisfaction is our top priority. We follow the wishes of our guests and contact our insurance company when needed. However, the outcome of an insurance claim is out of our hands.

We are happy to say that we have a multi-ethnic staff. The diversity of our guests, staff and urban environment where we live and work is really just normal for us – and never a reason to judge. It’s part of what’s so great about being in this world class city.

Sadly a forum such as this is too easy to use to try to discredit a business and its staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very Good Hotel. Polite,friendly and helpful staff. Good valet parking. Offered an upgrade on arrival. Clean spacious room with very comfortable beds. Good coffee and breakfast. Despite being on a main road the noise was acceptable apart a Fire Engine blasting away in the middle of the night. (there had been an accident and the guys were only doing their job).Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and parks. I like Chicago. Its a friendly city. I would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwindonLester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear SwindonLester1,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our clean hotel, accommodating staff, valet parking, and expanded complimentary continental breakfast. It sounds like you enjoyed our exciting Lincoln Park location near shops and restaurants. We appreciate your willingness to recommend us, and hope to welcome you back to the Days Inn Chicago again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were given a free upgrade on arrival .The reason I have gaven it 4 and not 5 is because of the noise. There was a party of kids staying and we were woken up a few times by slamming doors. The traffic noise also. Sirens going in the early hours but maybe we were just unlucky. The beds were super comfy and I enjoyed the breakfast. Safety deposit box in the room. We used the valet parking which was very handy. Only stayed one night so cant really say much more. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank search4sun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear search4sun_10,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a noisy stay. Did you express these complaints to the front desk regarding the party that kept you up? We do have overnight security and take noise complaints seriously as it is our business to ensure that you have a restful night's sleep. Unfortunately, Chicago traffic can be bothersome which is why we provide ear plugs in all guest rooms. If you should choose to stay with us again, feel free to request an inside facing room as those facing our courtyard tend to be quieter than those rooms facing the street. We hope that we may welcome you back on your next visit to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After staying in Chicago many times over the past twenty years, we needed a hotel that was located near Lakeview/Wrigleyville for a short family stay. (May 2014) In the past we have stayed at some wonderful upscale hotels in Lincoln Park as well as on Michigan Ave. around the Magnificent Mile area, and have always shied away from other less expensive hotels. Since the Days Inn on Diversey was right in the neighborhood we were searching in for this trip and was reasonably priced, we decided to give it a try for a couple of nights. It actually was quite nice! The interior is tastefully furnished and gives the appearance of a more expensive hotel. The desk staff was helpful and courteous, as was the doorman. Parking was really reasonable by Chicago standards, $26/day for valet parking with unlimited in/out. I will say the elevator was small and slow, and the room and bath were on the small side. However, we definitely got our money's worth and would choose this hotel again if we were there for a short time and needed this particular location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear LHA2013,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive review. We're glad to hear that you were pleased with our courteous staff and economical valet parking. Should you choose to stay with us again, we recommend trying one of our Business Class rooms which are larger than our standard rooms and include a microwave and minifridge along with other expanded amenities. We hope to welcome you back to the Days Inn Chicago on your next trip to the Lakeview/Wrigleyville area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
981 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 192 in Chicago
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#148 of 192 in Chicago
233 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#72 of 192 in Chicago
841 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago

Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £59 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hotel Versey Formerly the Days Inn Chicago, Hotel Versey is a completely renovated modern lifestyle located in the safe and exciting Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. The hotel features a bold design with artwork from Chicago-based artists, as well as a variety of retail outlets and a street-front restaurant & bar opening in late 2017. Located at the iconic intersection of Diversey Parkway, Clark Street and Broadway Street, the new Hotel Versey celebrates the iconic building’s history and serves as a hub for families, the sports oriented, the business-minded, multicultural guests from around the world, and the LGBTQ community. Guest Amenities The guestrooms are designed to serve as sophisticated, fun hideaways that bring the comfort of home to a guest’s stay in Chicago. Each room is equipped with modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, 50-inch HDTVs with premium programming, and SoniCast, allowing guests to stream their favorite TV shows, movies, and music directly to their room. Nespresso coffee machines and signature luxury linens round out the standard room offerings, while executive rooms accommodate business and long-term travelers with the addition of a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the neighboring L.A. Fitness center and are conveniently located close to a plethora of local restaurants and retail shops outside the hotel’s front door. Additional partnerships include an ongoing relationship with Wyndham Hotel Group and co-branding through Days Inn, which allows guests staying at Hotel Versey the opportunity to continue earning Wyndham Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing