We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #91 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent, but noisy.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a Cubs game. Walking distance to Wrigley is 1.5 miles. The front desk clerk was a young woman with short hair that had the personality of a rock. Not rude, but not friendly either. The nicest person we encountered was the bellman. Valet parking is $25 a night. Breakfast provided, but very crowded and not enough seating. But for a free breakfast, you can deal with it. The room walls are paper thin. You can hear everything next door to you. There are fire trucks near by and traffic which kept me up. They do supply earplugs in the room, but there were only 2 pair in our room for 4 people. I'd stay here again in a pinch if I had to, simply for the location and clean rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Anne W.,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean accommodations and exciting location in Lincoln Park near Wrigley Field. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than excellent stay. We recently expanded our breakfast room to accommodate a higher volume of guests, but there are still peak times when seating can be difficult. We do apologize that this was your experience. While we do supply two pair of earplugs in each room, we keep additional earplugs at the front desk which are available upon request. Should you choose to stay with us again, we recommend requesting an inside facing room as these rooms tend to be quieter than those facing the street. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    1,106
    334
    82
    58
See reviews for
997
649
317
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding for two nights. They let us check in early, and upgraded us without our asking, which was cool and appreciated. Front desk was friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a converted apartment building, so there is that feel, but not a bad way. The room we stayed in(1 queen bed) was spacious, and the bathroom was clean and serviceable.

Also the Valet Parking for $26 a night seems high, but is a good deal and really convenient. Breakfast was basic; no hot food except for waffle press; but it's included in the room price so was fine.

Tons of stuff to do in the area; cabs are everywhere, as is public transportation. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigperm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Bigperm86,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our friendly and helpful front desk staff, clean accommodations, and convenient valet parking. While $26 may seem high for valet parking, parking in Chicago presents a difficulty so we're happy to offer this rate which is very competitive with other area garages and half the price of those downtown. We're pleased to know that you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast, and recommend trying our hot oatmeal or omelettes on your next visit. We hope to welcome you back to the Days Inn Chicago should your travels bring you back to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice over the past few weeks for a total of 4 nights while moving my daughter to Chicago. You can not beat this hotel for the price in the Lincoln Park/ Lakeview area. Diversy is a busy street, so we requested an interior room that faced a courtyard. The rooms varied in size but were very quiet, clean and comfortable. The free WiFi is nice, valet parking is cheap for Chicago ($26), the front desk and valet staff are friendly and helpful and the free breakfast was good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel when on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Beth H.,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our quiet, clean, and comfortable accommodations. We are happy to offer our guests complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and economical valet parking, and are pleased to know that you appreciated these amenities. Thank you for your willingness to recommend us! We hope to welcome you back to the Days Inn Chicago in Lincoln Park/Lakeview on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As many reviewers have stated the standard rooms are small. However, being a former Front Desk Manager for another hotel chain, I was impressed by the room. For their size the rooms are laid out well and make great use of their space and it was very well cleaned. I appreciate that the staff was friendly and helpful and the valet attendants, both the hotel staff and the contract company, were always available to help and ask how we were doing!

I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because of minor details. It would be helpful to have more outlets available in the rooms. There is limited counter space in the standard room’s bathrooms. And it would be helpful for the front desk to have wine bottle openers and bottle openers available for guest use.

Thank you for the great stay!

Room Tip: Spring for the Business class room! I will next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Spencer J.,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago and for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with your room and that you had a great stay. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff members, and are glad to hear that they were friendly and helpful. Thank you for your suggestions. We are in the process of updating lamps in several of the rooms which will include additional outlets. Our front desk typically has corkscrews and bottle openers available for guest use, but these items are often borrowed and not returned. We will be replenishing our supply to ensure that we have these items the next time they are requested. Thanks again for sharing your comments! We hope to welcome you back to the Days Inn Chicago on your next trip to the Windy City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here by myself for one night last night because my daughter had orientation at DePaul and I was looking for a place that was close. Having valet parking was very helpful. The room was pretty small, but since I was staying by myself it wasn't an issue. The bathroom was very old and due for updating, but clean. It was actually kind of charming. It reminded me of a hotel I had stayed at in Ireland at a kid and I felt very at home there. I turned the air conditioner on right away and the room cooled off nicely. It made enough noise to drown out the city street noise that everyone was talking about. However, the air conditioner could not drown out the sound of what I think was the elevator banging away all night. I'm pretty sure my room was behind it (430). It wasn't loud enough to wake me from my sleep, but had I not been exhausted from the day's activities it might have. The whole time I was awake and watching tv I heard it. If the air conditioner was not on it would have driven me crazy and I would have asked to switch rooms. Other than that, the bed was super comfy, the room was very clean, the front desk was very nice, and it served it's purpose. I had some travel points that helped pay for the room, too, so that helped. I did not have any of the breakfast because I had planned to have breakfast with my daughter at DePaul, otherwise I would have taken advantage of that since it comes with the price of the room. I would recommend this hotel if you needed somewhere to stay the night that is close to DePaul or if you were going out for a night on the town and needed someplace to crash. I would definitely stay here again if I planned a fun night in the city or possibly for family weekend or other DePaul events.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ramie724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear ramie724,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting nearby DePaul University. We are happy to know you were pleased with our comfortable beds, clean accommodations, and friendly front desk staff. We are sorry to hear that you were bothered by noise from the elevator during your stay. Should you choose to stay with us again, feel free to request a room away from the elevator and stairways. We always do our best to accommodate any guest requests. You can also request an inside facing room, as these tend to be quieter than those facing the street. Many, though not all, of our bathrooms have been recently renovated, especially those in our spacious Business Place rooms which offer larger accommodations and additional amenities including a microwave, minifridge, and complimentary daily snack pack. We appreciate your willingness to recommend us, and hope to welcome you back to the Days Inn Chicago on your next trip to visit your daughter at DePaul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Chicago a day ago. We had a wonderful stay. Our trip was a Father's Day gift to a Wrigley Field game as well as Wrigley tour. The hotel staff was awesome! Especially the desk clerk Jacqueline who was a tremendous help. There was no question asked she didn't address. We were also pleased with the cleanliness of the room and courtesy of everyone. I read the reviews before making the reservations and was not disappointed. We have stayed in many hotels during our travels this was a very pleasant stay. From the valet parking at the entrance to the room everyone was a professional. Great location with great restaurants and easy access to public transportation. When we return to Chicago this is where we will stay without a doubt.Thanks for making a great trip awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear J G,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Days Inn Chicago. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your wonderful stay! We will gladly pass on your kind words to Jacqueline. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our friendly and helpful staff, and that we did not disappoint. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our exciting Lincoln Park location near great dining and steps from public transportation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#74 of 190 in Chicago
912 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 190 in Chicago
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 190 in Chicago
514 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#54 of 190 in Chicago
781 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago

Property: Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hotel Versey Formerly the Days Inn Chicago, Hotel Versey is a completely renovated modern lifestyle located in the safe and exciting Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. The hotel features a bold design with artwork from Chicago-based artists, as well as a variety of retail outlets and a street-front restaurant & bar opening in late 2017. Located at the iconic intersection of Diversey Parkway, Clark Street and Broadway Street, the new Hotel Versey celebrates the iconic building’s history and serves as a hub for families, the sports oriented, the business-minded, multicultural guests from around the world, and the LGBTQ community. Guest Amenities The guestrooms are designed to serve as sophisticated, fun hideaways that bring the comfort of home to a guest’s stay in Chicago. Each room is equipped with modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, 50-inch HDTVs with premium programming, and SoniCast, allowing guests to stream their favorite TV shows, movies, and music directly to their room. Nespresso coffee machines and signature luxury linens round out the standard room offerings, while executive rooms accommodate business and long-term travelers with the addition of a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the neighboring L.A. Fitness center and are conveniently located close to a plethora of local restaurants and retail shops outside the hotel’s front door. Additional partnerships include an ongoing relationship with Wyndham Hotel Group and co-branding through Days Inn, which allows guests staying at Hotel Versey the opportunity to continue earning Wyndham Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing