We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonably priced, awesome views, friendly staff, small bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #127 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very reasonably priced, awesome views, friendly staff, small bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in December. It is hands down the most reasonably priced hotel on The Magnificent Mile! Parking fees are reasonable as well. I spent a very long time researching many hotels in the area so am confident in saying the fees are reasonable! After debating on whether to reserve the King Deluxe or Standard, we decided on the King Deluxe and were very happy we did. The views of the lake, Grant Park, and Museum Campus are amazing, the king size bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean!! Lucky for us, Chicago was experiencing some mild temperature winter days during our stay, so walking to Museum Campus and back to the hotel on multiple days was enjoyable, and well worth not paying a taxi or paying to park our car at one of the museums! The staff at Essex Inn are also extremely friendly and helpful!
The biggest downside was the small bathroom, but we managed just fine. The sink is literally not much bigger than your hand, and I imagine it would be difficult for a bigger person to move around comfortably in it. Some people might also consider the lack of a restaurant in the hotel to be a downside, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, so we didn't consider this a big deal at all. The water temperature of the pool was luke warm, but again not so much of a big deal to us. The only other minor negatives that I can think of would be hearing other hotel room doors slam, and a slow elevator at times.
Overall, highly recommended if your budget conscious and want to stay on The Magnificent Mile! Pay the extra money and stay in the King Deluxe, walk as much as possible to your destination to save on transportation or parking fees, and enjoy your experience in The Windy City!

Room Tip: King Deluxe Rooms are corner rooms, so they only share two walls with other rooms. They guarantee vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    810
    459
    156
    138
See reviews for
489
541
117
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent 5 nights at the Essex Inn. The hotel is in the middle of Michigan Avenue, at about 10-15 min walk from the Art Institute. It takes 30-40 min by wlk to reach the top of North Michigan Avenue and the mall. Quite a long walk to go to the Mc Cormick Convention Center, don't even try it because the bottom part of South Michigan Avenue looks a little bit unsafe. Actually the Essex is located when the Avenue starts to become enjoyable, with some restaurants around (not too many going south, but plenty when heading north). The lobby is basic (I think it is going to be redesigned soon, as far as I understood) - rooms are all right, a little bit outdated (bathroom) but very clean and tidy. On the contrary, the pool is stunning - actually on the 4th floor with a large terrace with a nice view on the lake and the business district - and the gym all right with a small sauna. There is no actual complimentary breakfast - the brasserie in the hotel is ran by another company (a french guy actually), but they can charge directly your room. During my stay the brasserie was just opening and the staff was obviously new in this business - however, everybody was helpful and keen to satisfy you. Overall, it was a nice stay with polite staff in a nicely located hotel with a great pool. I will definitively stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo_cicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in The Essex Inn on my first trip to Chicago back in 2009. It's a clean and tidy hotel which is on a quiet part of Michigan Avenue, just opposite Grant Park and Millenium Park. It's about a 5-10 minute walk up to the main part of Michigan Avenue and maybe about a 20 minute walk to Navy Pier! Not a bad location at all...I don't mind a walk :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou_Lou84Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My love and I stayed here last month on our short Chicago trip and we received a $90/night thru Priceline bidding. The hotel's location is awesome, and the front desk girl was nice enough. We didn't like the size of our room too much since it was a bit smaller than what I'm used to, especially the bathroom, but we were glad we only had to stay here for one night. the king bed was very comfortable, and the concierge staff was helpful in helping us plan sightseeing options in the city of Chicago. Good to be able to walk to Grant Park and also to Caribou Coffee shop near the hotel for breakfast. Only real downer for me aside from room size was the high $42 parking fee, even if it does includes in and out privileges. Nice place though, and I'd stay here again if i dont have to drive here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocopenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I took our three children to Chicago for Spring Break. We wanted a reasonably priced hotel with a swimming pool for the kids. This hotel definitely fit our expectations. The service was good and near to places you can walk to eat. The room and pool were very clean. This is a great place to stay for a family. The price was right. There is also one way shuttle service to the museums and aquarium. We paid to park (41.00 a day) which was expensive but overall, good place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabocouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

room temperature was either cool when weather was or warm when weather was warm !!,BUT IT WAS A MINOR IRRITATION. location is brilliant, staff helpful in anyway possible, room spotless and i now know why chicago is called the windy city!!! i hope to go back sometime and would definitely stay at essex inn

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pvp60Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Essex Inn was a GREAT place to stay. My whole family enjoyed it! The staff was very kind and always offered to show us plays to eat or tour. They were very helpful too! The housekeepers were a bit off though, missing small things like changing the empty toilet paper, and stuff like that, but over all they were nice.
The location worked VERY well, especially for sightseers like my family. It was close to the water and some rooms had beautiful views. Also it was very close to lots of the museums like the Art Institute, Field Museum, and Shedd Aquarium. Also the hotel offered a free shuttle bus at scheduled times to different locations. There were also some great restaurants and cafes nearby!!!
The rooms were very cozy too. The bathroom was on the small side, but it worked wonderfully! Also I thought the beds were very comfortable, but thats a matter of opinion I guess. Most of the rooms had great views too of the water and Grant Park.
The pool was very nice too. It was a beautiful place, and even had a life guard which is great for people with smaller children. The sauna wasn't always very hot but it was most of the time. There was also a gorgeous roof top garden!
A restaurant in the lobby opened while we were there and the food was fantastic and priced reasonably! It was great to just go down the elevator to breakfast and such!
I highly recommend this hotel to anybody. Its perfect for people with a low budget (they offer very good low priced rooms, and offer suites for higher prices) and for people with children. It also would be great for business trips and such. I will for surely be back here when my family returns to chicago. Thank you Essex!!

Room Tip: *Rooms facing the water have a better view... of course:) *Families should shoot for the cheaper pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,796 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing