We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and Excellen Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #129 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value and Excellen Location”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Essex in early August. Check in was quick and efficent and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious the only gripe was you could not control the air conditioning system.
The location was really good right next to Grant Park and easy walking distance to the Shedd Aquarium and Field Museum. It was more busy than usual as we booked when the Lollapalooza musical festival was on and the place was full of teenagers and parts of the park were closed due to the festival.
We generally walk a lot on holiday and found Navy Pier an easy walk along the lake of about 45 minutes and if you head North straight up Michigan Avenue for about 30 minutes you come straight into the Magnificent Mile. The pool area is really good and one of the highlights especially if you've got children. All in all a great value hotel from which to explore a Beautiful and friendly city. Would definatley stay here again if we came back to Chicago

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAFBS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    811
    462
    159
    139
See reviews for
491
545
117
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our first time staying in Chicago, we chose the Essex Inn specifically for proximity— across the street from beautiful Grant Park and walking distance to most of the top attractions on our list. From our room on the 11th floor, we had a wonderful view of Lake Michigan, Soldier Field, Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium, etc.

There is no real "grand entrance" when you first walk in to the Essex, you have to search to find the small check-in counter, which is tucked in a dark, cramped corner by the garage entrance. Although, the rest of the main lobby is large and nicely decorated with many comfortable chairs and couches.

The hotel staff was friendly enough, but there was some inconsistent and conflicting information from them regarding check-in/check-out times—depending on who was behind the counter at the time, we received different answers from different people... Luckily, it didn't interfere with our schedule too much. One consolation: they DID hold our bags for us pre check-in, and post check-out. And we could always rely on Braulio, our smiling concierge, to give us helpful and courteous service!

The room was decent, with neat (though somewhat outdated) furniture. The bathroom was very small, but not a problem. The beds were very comfortable, my only complaint was the pillows—way too fluffy (poorly ergonomic for neck comfort).

The pool and surrounding courtyard area is on the 4th floor and was much larger than I expected, very nice!

All in all, I found this hotel to be very nice, my complaints were minor, and I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was near the elevator, but it served as white noise at night while sleeping, not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed at the Essex Inn in March 2012 as the first night of my Route 66 trip. The hotel has an old world feel to it but don't be put off as the facilities are excellent. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the room standard was good. My only minor complaint was the swimming pool which i found to be rather chilly! However after an eight hour flight and a drive from the airport it was nice to relax in the pool. The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Chicago on foot as my colleagues and I found out the next morning when we took a stroll around Millennium Park and some of the main shopping areas.

I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Chicago and will use it again when I next visit the City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manxwriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Chicago's Essex Inn is a great place to stay. We were there for 2 nights and really took advantage of the location - right across the street from Grant and Millenium Parks. The room was clean and updated but the bathroom area was small - ok for 2 of us though. The hallway to our room was on the dark side and dreary but we were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door and saw the room.
The fitness area was huge and the pool was very nice - even had a lifeguard on duty.
The terrace overlooking Michigan Ave was fantastic - wish we would have had time to enjoy it!!
The front desk staff was VERY helpful with directions and suggestions.
We could hear the subway running all night long.....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights at the start of our route. 66 holiday. Hotel was better than we expected and the concierge in the lobby was extremely helpful (sorry, cant remember his name). Well placed for getting around and bed was a welcome sight after walking around Chicago all day!! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Love the location--south of the shopping mess, 10 minute walk to museum campus. Great restuarants within walking distances (Breakfast--eleven city diner before Yolk. Dinner-Tapas at Mercat). Hotel is very family friendly, especially if you can get a suite (rm 1202 view was amazing). only issue--queen/single room we also had, tub did not drain, and slight sewer smell, but resolved. Pool, sauna, exercise room, patio is great for the family.

Room Tip: room 1202 view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chicago Essex Inn to visit our daughter. We booked the hotel through Priceline and got a great rate. What I didn't realize was that the hotel was directly across the street from the entrance to Lollapalooza. Many of the concert goers stayed in the hotel and every guest was given a wrist band to wear for the entire stay so that the stay could tell who their guests were. I asked for a quiet room which and they put us at the end of the hall away from the park. The room and bathroom were small and the bed was only a queen size. Not the best accomodation but it was clean. Where this hotel shines is with its pool and sun deck. I spent both mornings swimming in a 50 foot pool and sitting outside on the 4th floor overlooking the park. It was a nice way to start the day. We left our car with my daughter and took the L to her place. The station was only a few blocks away and this worked out well as most of the streets around the hotel were blocked for the concert. I would say that this was not a bad choice for the price.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 4th floor. Higher rooms offer a better view of the lake and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilre12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,858 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing