We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #131 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Visited Chicago in early September during a heatwave (94 degrees at 18.40 in the afternoon) The hotel was cool and clean, a great welcome at reception, and our room was spacious, with king bed, TV, ironing board, filter coffee maker, safe etc Bathroom spotless, beds made up daily with fresh towels, shampoo, lotions etc replaced each morning. Located at the end of University District,quite easy to get to via bus or metro. Restaurants and bars within walking distance and you only have to ask at reception and they will book a taxi for you and were very helpful in recommending places to visit, eat and drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    815
    469
    165
    142
See reviews for
497
549
119
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Essex Inn hotel during the ASIS Convention in September. We walked to McCormick Place each day, walking along the lake on our way back to the hotel. Very close to many attractions, restaurants and shopping. Our room had a view of the Willis Tower and the lake, very nice setting. We also walked to the Navy Pier and the Willis Tower from the hotel. The Navy Pier might be too far to walk for some people, but it's a lot of fun if you go through the parks. Be sure to check out the river walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsingolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel has an excellent location for a great price. Soldier Field and Grant Park are within walking distance, and so is a red line stop that will take you straight to Wrigley Field. A one-way only shuttle is available to Navy Pier, which was another added bonus. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was more attentive than I have ever seen at a Chicago hotel. The room was updated with modern amenities and the view of Lake Michigan was spectacular. We did not use the rooftop pool, but it appeared to be very nice and upkept.

The room was very small for 4 people, but that is to be expected in older downtown hotels. The price was unbeatable for what you got. We had no problems with noise or smells that are sometimes associated with older hotels. It appears management has done a great job with the updates. The price could not be beat for the location and room!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBJBIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at the Chicago's Essex Inn hotel during the Chicago Marathon on October 11-14.
If you are looking for a good hotel for the 2014 Marathon, BOOK THIS hotel today as the location is unbeatable. You will need to walk a block to the race start point and after you run the full marathon you will just have to walk a block and a half back to your comfortable room.

The hotel is located in front of Grant and Milenium Park and steps away from restaurants, shopping, etc.

The rooms are very comfortable, with spectacular views on the Park, clean, with spacious and functional bathrooms.

The beds are very comfortable and even the pull-out sofa bed was much better than some other hotel's regular beds.

The hotel restaurant is PERFECT. For breakfast, lunch or dinner you can find great options with very good rates. I strongly recommend the Croque Madame for breakfast, really spectacular. The potatoes that come with other dishes are home made and the best I've tried in a long time.

The internet works perfectly well with the free option, I didn't had to upgrade the package for speed or coverage.

The swimming pool is the largest I've seen in a City hotel. It is heated and covered, therefore, you can use it all year-long.

This is a perfect option for business or leisure travel. If you are attending an expo at the McCormick center, this location is fabulous as you will be very close from the show but at the same time very close to restaurants and major attractions.

I strongly recommend this great hotel for an unforgettable experience in Chicago.

Room Tip: If you choose a room facing the Park you will be amazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbaurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Older, well kept hotel with great character. Very comfortable and great customer service. Close to many attractions. Only negative was the shuttle service wasn't all it should be. Tight schedule and only certain drop off points at certain times. No return pick up service.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The Essex Inn is sited on Michigan Avenue about a mile from the central shopping area and most restaurants. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and good showers. Opposite are the attractive gardens of Grant and then Millenium Parks. The restaurant is excellent for breakfast, drinks and others had dinner. I stayed as a convenient spot to run the Marathon and was not disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights last week. It was perfect for getting to the Chicago Marathon, the City Pass attractions, Grant Park, etc. The hotel has a gym, pool, and room service. Super comfortable bed and room. Staff is VERY helpful. They offer discounts but we bought the city pass while staying at a hostel during the first half of our trip (wish we could afford to stay at this place the whole time). The only real complaint is the other guests. We were next to a room that had a child who was playing on the door. I feel that if the hotel would place a sign on the inside of the doors saying "Guests please do not slam doors and be courteous of other travelers" or something to that effect. It is pretty expensive (though not so much for Chicago) to be paying in order to wake up a lot due to slamming doors. Again I would recommend this place based off of the room, location, cleanliness, etc. Just wish we were not next to door slammers....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 369Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,955 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing