We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #144 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed at the Essex Inn on 20th July for two nights having just arrived from the UK. The hotel is on Michigan Avenue on the opposite corner to the Hilton. Hotel pool was nice but extremely cold. We didn't eat in the hotel but had breakfast at Yolk ... a great place for breakfast and highly recommend it. Hackney's is a restaurant a couple of blocks away and was excellent american/mexican food...family friendly.

The hotel has a courtesy bus which will run you down town to the shopping district. You wait for it in the lobby. We were first there waiting with some friends and gradually the lobby filled up. Some people, unbeknown to us, had gone outside the hotel so when the bus arrived... they all filled it up with no space left for others who had waited for about 45 mins! Hotel should be clearer about where the bus picks up from and what the queuing set up is or first come first served basis.

We had prepaid for this hotel through Trailfinders in the UK but they still put a $75 7-day hold on our credit card which is now on it's 8th day and it is still on there. Had to email them to remove it.

Be sure when you check out of American hotels that you get a hard copy of your bill. Three times now on this trip across America, hotels have overcharged our card and I have had to chase them to re-credit our card. One of the hotels was the Hilton!

We walked from the Essex to downtown Chicago having missed the bus and actually it was a delight with beautiful architecture, parks... etc., Millenium Park is great and has a water fountain where the kids can put on their swimming gear and run about in the water jets which come out of animated towers. American Girl Store is a must for any young girl and Hersheys Chocolate was good too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2008

got a broadway package deal with hotel and tickets for wicked. beautiful location on michigan ave opposite Grant Park, right on the lake. the room was nice and the pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fmg120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

First things first....Say hi to Ilene at the bar in the lobby! She will remember your name for years to come. I swear, this is the friendliest place I've ever been to. Lots of repeat guests. That's a good sign, right?

My husband and I stayed there in March over St. Patrick's Day. I was there for bussiness and my hubby tagged along. The hotel was decent. We stayed in one of the older rooms but they were in the middle of remodeling and were told that the newer rooms were fantastic. Regardless, the rooms were clean and the beds comfy. The location of the hotel wasn't bad either. We walked everywhere, but we're pretty active and like the walk. When the weather got bad (snow!!!), we took a cab.

Make sure to take one night to eat at Geja's, a fondue restaurant. It was a great experience! Later on head over to Kingston Mines. Best blues bar ever! The performers were top notch.

We truly had a great first visit to Chicago. Hopefully the first of many.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chirocristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Stayed here on recommendation of Trailfinders. They were right - good value, staff helpful and free shuttles downtown and to museums. Very convenient for Grant Park. Easy to get shuttles to/from airport.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mulhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We were here for 4 nights (8th - 12th) and the hotel is in a great location for exploring Chicago. We walked to the museums and Navy Pier. Grant Park was wonderful. The hotel staff were really friendly from the housekeeping staff, the front desk staff and the bellhops - particularly helpful. The view from the pool area across Grant Park to Lake Michigan were fabulous. The rooms were clean, comfortable and serviced every day. The Savoy Grill attached to the hotel was good for breakfast and the bar staff really friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

having just stayed here it is an excellent hotel for chicago offers shuttle bus to all places on the navy pier and michigan avenue only thing bus starts at 10 am and finishes at 6 pm also you can get the free schuttle from may to sep just near hotel hotel itself very clean with rooms completed each day room size good hotel staff very helpfull

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shamtipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

The Essex is a great hotel. My husband, me , and two of our friends decided to go to Chicago and used Priceline to do so. We booked a hotel called Econo Lodge. From the description on the internet it seemed fine,but when we got there it was under construction and was nasty. We called around for hours looking for another hotel when the hotel was not willing to work with us and refund our money. Thats when we finally found the Essex Inn. They were more than willing to help us and put us up for the remainder of our stay. We loved it there. The rooms were perfect.If we ever go back to Chicagowe will for sure stay at the Essex Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lindsaymae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#96 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,342 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 192 in Chicago
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £55 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing