We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #140 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I received the Groupon special of $69/night which is a great deal for Chicago. The employees working here are absolutely awesome. Every time we walked in the building they greeted us with a "welcome back" and an elevator in the lobby was always waiting to take us upstairs. There are some structural issues based on it being an older building. The climate control in the room has two settings - heat or air. You cannot actually set the temperature you want - you either get piping hot or freezing cold and if you want cooler in the winter you can only get heat. It's set seasonally. Also the shower does not get really hot water, it's lukewarm at best. The beds are little creaky, the pillows aren't the softest. A light bulb was out in our bathroom, and the sinks didn't drain very well. But it's true that you get what you pay for. Overall, I had a good experience with friendly employees and I slept in the bed just fine even though it wasn't the most comfortable in the world.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EmilyMBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
There are newer reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. It was a very nice place to stay. The rooms are not new but they are well maintained and had a certain character that worked for me. I was there when it was cold and the temperature was good but i could see there could be a problem when the temperature fluctuates as they either have the cooling system on or the heating. I found the staff accommodating and the restaurant had good food. The restaurant was closed at 10pm so we ended up going to the Hilton next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is just average, older property but good location IF shuttle service made sense ... Don't drop me off and not offer pick up service ... Makes no sense especially when it's below zero. And the last day NO service at all. Sauna and gym were nice plus but we came for shopping and sights and the hotel fooled us with a Water Tower shopping package but NO shuttle service or just drop off but no pick up .... Really? Also, no pick up or drop off at the Metra station when it's below zero ... Why does it say you offer it? No back up for van with mechanical issues and even before those issues only service in the AM ... Seriously, management needs to revamp shuttle or not advertise what they are not delivering. Frozen trying to get a holiday shopping trip ...Bah Humbug .... Essex Inn! Plus, shower drains so slowly it turned into a bath ... Disappointed and didn't have great expectations just a shuttle for shopping ... Apparently, more than Essex offered though they advertised it ... Feel a bit of bait and switch! Hope to hear from management for a return when weather makes he area walkable or when they realize a shuttle should be used as an asset! Thanks

Room Tip: View of Michigan Ave would be nice
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for our anniversary and loved the location. It was easy to find and parking was on site but cost $50. When checking in they asked for a card in case any damage was done otherwise known as incidentals. Now normally they only charge a dollar on your card to make sure its active at least thats what they have done everywhere else I have stayed even New York, but no not this place they charged the whole amount of $75. This should have been taken as my first warning of things to come.This was not a big deal but still rather inconvenient and they were quite rude when I asked why they were charging my card and when it would go back on. They told me it could take up to 2 weeks to get that $75 charge back which again was VERY annoying to me. We were then given a terrible view and a room which desperatly needed recleaned. The shower had hair in it lets just say not from the human head hair and the floor in the bathroom floor looked, well lets just say the sidewalk outside was cleaner. On the brightside the area was quite and safe and the restaurant staff seemed very nice and polite more so then the shrew of a women working the front desk. All in all not a slum but not worth the price or time. Need to inprove on customer service and cleaning skills.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherOther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear heather,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that we fell very short of your expectations. We do strive to provide nothing but the best in guest service and our facility and I am sorry we fell short of our goal in this instance. If you have time I would like to speak with you further regarding your stay. Please contact me at jscott@essexinn.com and I will reach out to you when you have a moment.

Regards,

Jael Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have just returned from a week long business trip, where i stayed at the essex inn for five nights. This hotel has excellent amenities (roof top pool), excellent location (very close to the museum campus and downtown shopping and business). The rooms are small, but functional. Overall, the location, and amenities are great. So this hotel has great potential to provide a wonderful experience.
The unfortunate aspect happens when you need customer service. It doesn't matter what your need might be, whether it is regarding a light in your room that does not work, or even if you want to join their customer club (the key club). Customer service is none-existant. None of my issues or questions were answered, in spite of communicating with the customer service Representative at least three or four times per issue!
So much potential, wasted due to human factors.

Room Tip: Do not park at the hotel for $50 per night, save your money and park at a surface lot on the same lo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_and_B_michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed here twice. We love the location and the complimentary shuttle is a great service. The onsite restaurant is nice and resonably price. We walked to Shedd's aquarium from the hotel and took the shiuttle to the water tower. Cab rides are fairly cheap 8.00 ride from Water Tower to Navy Pier but the bus system is cheaper and very easy to use. Made the mistake of staying in a room by the elevator. This elevator was noisier than most. It did disrupt my sleep.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamiTedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Came for an overnight this weekend based on a Groupon. Staff were friendly and helpful. They arranged cabs and we were glad there was a luggage storage option. Hotel is within a reasonable walking distance to the Shedd/Field Museum; it is quite a bit further to the Mag. Mile area. Essex does have a destination shuttle to popular areas-you will need to walk or cab back. We did not find that to be a big deal-took shuttle to Water Tower area and took an $8 cab ride back. Ray was the shuttle driver and he was awesome-verypleasant and full of info on things to do.

We stayed on 10th floor in a corner room. Room was a little small but not unexpected from an inn in a major city. Layout was a little weird-a closet size hall off the main hall to our room and our neighbors' next door. We had a great view of Navy Pier and Lake Michigan in the distance. Normal city traffic could be heard; nothing crazy. Heard almost nothing from the rooms of other guests.

Room was clean. It was a little odd we had little control over the heat, but we could open the window a few inches when we got a little warm. Best we could tell, bed bug free. Shower water pressure was not so great. Pool was fun for a winter dip with a preschooler; typical hotel pool. Fitness are looked above average with lots of machines; did not use so cannot give a better opinion. Did not eat at restaurant but prices on menus were very good for Chicago area.

All and all our overnight experience as Essex went well and no complaints. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gchick1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
5,173 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 191 in Chicago
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing